We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If only I could have stayed longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Glen Guest House
Ranked #5 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“If only I could have stayed longer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed at the Glen on a work related visit to Cautley. This was an excellent place to relax the night before. The room had everything you could ever need and more. The location is gorgeous with a decent walk available just a few metres away, The Helm, with beautiful views and of course the trig point (yes I did know what one of those is, to Alan's surprise). Excellent breakfast with freshly baked bread, yummy! The sun was shining and it was just bliss!

Room Tip: If you need lots of cupboard space ask for the room with the key called 'private'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
79
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

I stayed at The Glen Guest House on my way down to Surrey from Fort William, and did the same on my return 2 days later, I was on my motorbike and very wet and Alan had the garage door open for me to put my bike in when I arrived. The room was comfortable and warm just what I needed to relax after 250 miles in the rain. Breakfast was lovely and there was plenty of choice.
Would definitely recommend this lovely Guest House. Thanks Alan and Chris

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueade11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

Day 2 of w2w Barny castle to Kendal 68 mile then this place wow, on route pub opposite thick pillows n quilts bathrooms n shower absolutely top notch, then it got better a take away and use of a hot tub, beer wine great. Breakfast amazing massive choice full bike storage and again the washed our stinky clothes deffo advise this for any family or group

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dollyeight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacksteads
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Alan was gutted when we didnt turn up on the bike, but we promise to bring more of us when we go back, what a fantastic place to stay loved every minute of our it, room was perfect, as was the breakfast, and the hot tub (wow), attentive without being intrusive, Alan and Chris hope you ready for more of us this summer, we will be back. Thats not a threat thats a promise, ty so much again.

Ant n Shaz

Lancashire Road Riders

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Alan and Chris Green have been in the Bed and Breakfast business for several years, and their expertise definitely shows. The breakfast is tailored to your exact request; the dining room is spacious but not cavernous.

For those who much enjoy walking, The Helm is right there to be experienced! As breakfast is offered from 8:30am to 9am, those seeking a day walk can begin after they enjoy Chris's homemade bread, Cumberland sausage and free-range eggs as you order them or scrambled eggs and salmon, as well as other choices on the menu.

As check-out time is 10:30am, I suggest a two-day stay, though I was able to book us for just one night with no trouble. The Glen is quite near to the Oxenholme rail station, which helped us as we did not drive to this B & B. These proprietors will assist you with a lift to The Glen if possible, or with a cab to meet you at the station (the B & B is only 300 yards or so, but uphill).

Each room has a TV with DVD capability--as non-UK people, we did resort to reading the TV model booklet to find out how to eject the DVD! Alan and Chris have built up a nice DVD library and we enjoyed viewing several movies. Our particular room had a Jacuzzi tub, and there is a hot tub outside on the premises, though we did not use it on this, our first visit. I certainly hope we return if not later this year, then in '14!

Kateri M. Harnetiaux

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greeny62, Owner at The Glen Guest House, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Kateri,
Thank you so much for your comments, it was a lovely to meet you both, hope you enjoyed your onward trip, you must return and stop longer next time.

Alan & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

My husband and myself had a great two night stay with our dog. Alan & Chris were very helpful and non-intrusive. The weather was lovely and the Glen's location perfect for visiting The Lakes, walking our dog at The Helm and of course visiting The Station Inn just two minutes along the road!!

I'd highly recommend The Glen.

Room Tip: If travelling with your dog I'd recommend booking room number 6 as it is right next to the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindyloo72Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

We had a lovely stay last weekend. Such a lovely view from complimentary upgraded family suite as a Birthday treat. We felt looked after during entire stay and full English breakfast next morning was fabulous.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IevaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
2.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
1.9 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
3.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glen Guest House

Property: The Glen Guest House
Address: Oxenholme, Kendal LA9 7RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glen Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glen is a family concern with an excellent reputation for friendly service and large freshly cooked breakfasts using local produce. It is situated on the outskirts of Kendal, in a quiet location in its own grounds under "The Helm" (local walk and view point of Kendal, the Lake District Mountains and Morecambe Bay), but within a 200 metres of country Inn and restaurant. All rooms are en suite, with most having bath and shower. For that special occasion we have, our Luxury suite with en suite Bathroom with shower and a double room with large en suite bathroom with Double Bath and separate walk-in shower. We have a large family/twin room with view of 'The Helm' plus a large ground floor suite with king size bed. All rooms have freeview TV with DVD. Outside, relax on our patio before taking an evening walk on 'The Helm' to watch the sunset over the Lakeland Mountains, then a drink or meal in our local Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Glen Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glen Guest House Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing