We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Find"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Glen Guest House
Ranked #4 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A "Find"”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed for one night, Alan apologised that our room was fairly small, we didn't think it bad although perhaps an issue for a longer stay.

We were made most welcome. The toiletries etc. in the room were more than expected. Beds comfortable, shower room more than adequate.

DVD's available to guests - all rooms have TV/DVD players. Wifi password on room info sheet.

Good pub about 100 yards away which served a very varied menu. Not fast food, cooked to order.

Breakfast was delicious. We ordered the night before advising what time we'd like breakfast - works perfectly.

Highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taexali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
90
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this lovely guest house. Alan and Chris went way and beyond what was expected to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable. We appreciated their cheerfulness and friendliness. We would have no hesitation in recommending this guesthouse to our fellow Australian travellers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We chose this guest house to be near friends in Kendal, and be independent. After phoning and speaking to Alan I was instantly reassured that this would be a very friendly, helpful place. We were not disappointed. There was nothing we could fault. The room was excellent. The food was great. Anyone with special dietary needs would be 100% confident here. We loved the location. It was so close to 'The Helm' and a lovely walk, and very close to pubs for meals and the village itself. Also well serviced by the train. We met several people who were return guests, so that really is the best recommendation of all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We decided to book The Glen as it was advertised as \'dog friendly\' and was situated close to Kendal in the South Lake District.
We were made most welcome (including our Westie \'Dylan\'), the venue was very clean and tidy and the breakfasts excellent.
I have stayed in \'pet friendly\' accomodation before and have been dissapointed in the room allocated - Not in this case! The room was very modern and thoroughly cleaned daily. Alan and Chris did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable and for that, we thank them both.
I wholeheartedly recomend The Glen as the place to stay near Kendal and hope to go again some day.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pythonatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We spent two nights at the Glen when traveling north to Carlisle by train. It was a very convenient location as it enabled us to get into both Kendal and then Windermere very easily.
Chris and Alan were very good hosts. Breakfasts were great and our room was large and airy, with a view up to "The Helm", the hill above the guest house.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I don't normally like going away from home but staying at the Glen has changed my mind. A lovely peaceful guest house in a great place to use as a base to tour the lake district. Excellent easy parking. Alan has prepared some great leaflet plans for days out. We had a warm welcome and Alan really does give service with a smile when it comes to the excellent cooked breakfast, Choice of home made bread and preserves available every morning and lovely breakfast menu. The rooms are spotless and cleaned daily. Lovely towels and many extras are provided in the rooms. They seem to have thought of everything. Nothing seems too much trouble and I would just like to further thanks Chris and Alan for a great four night stay. Lynn and Paul.

Room Tip: we had a room at the back of the house. No view but so lovely and quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed here as a group with five University friends. The place was convenient for the train station from London and had good parking. Rooms were very clean and comfortable and the twin suite was really handy for us a a group. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast too. I would thoroughly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
2.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,032 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#11 of 13 in Kendal
296 reviews
2.5 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Station Inn Oxenholme
Station Inn Oxenholme
#13 of 42 in Kendal
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glen Guest House

Property: The Glen Guest House
Address: Oxenholme, Kendal LA9 7RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glen Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glen is a family concern with an excellent reputation for friendly service and large freshly cooked breakfasts using local produce. It is situated on the outskirts of Kendal, in a quiet location in its own grounds under "The Helm" (local walk and view point of Kendal, the Lake District Mountains and Morecambe Bay), but within a 200 metres of country Inn and restaurant. All rooms are en suite, with most having bath and shower. For that special occasion we have, our Luxury suite with en suite Bathroom with shower and a double room with large en suite bathroom with Double Bath and separate walk-in shower. We have a large family/twin room with view of 'The Helm' plus a large ground floor suite with king size bed. All rooms have freeview TV with DVD. Outside, relax on our patio before taking an evening walk on 'The Helm' to watch the sunset over the Lakeland Mountains, then a drink or meal in our local Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Glen Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glen Guest House Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing