We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“National Holidays - County Hotel”
Review of County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
County Hotel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
humberside
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“National Holidays - County Hotel”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Stayed at this hotel when me and my partner went for a national holiday break this summer. Staff were very friendly. However, the food seemed to be poor quality and minimal quantity. Ran out of food some nights for other guests. Room was untidy, dirty, outdated, stains on the walls, dust everywhere, hairs in the shower and the toilet seat kept falling off. Reported to the manager but nothing was ever done. Would not go back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    87
    73
    34
    37
See reviews for
29
93
43
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

This hotel is in a poor state. Soups apart, the evening meals were inedible.Very friendly & helpful staff, but nowhere near enough of them, which is probably the cause of the problems...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UncleOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kendal hotels

British Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed in a single room for one night. The hotel is right across the road from the Kendal train station, perfect for a quick stopover. This was my reasoning for staying here. The room was small, but cozy and relatively clean.

The service was good. I had been awake for 36 hours travelling from Canada and went to bed at 9pm. Shortly after turning out the lights in my room, the music in the bar started up (a tacky musician singing along to a drum machine catering to coach tour crowd). Seeing how it was only 9pm, it would have been out of line to complain, so I politely asked to switch rooms and the nice man at the front desk did everything he could to move me up a floor and to make sure I had a quiet room.

But all this aside, the negatives outweigh the positives and conveniences. The hotel is incredibly outdated and musty, and not a vibrant place, mainly catering to the middle-aged coach tour crowd. My shower drain was plugged, and seemed only to drain a bit every few minutes as if something else in the plumbing system was triggering it sporadically. Standing in ankle deep water minutes at a time to avoid overflowing the stall is not fun. And I felt the hotel is overpriced for what it offers. I paid £42.50 for a single; at this rate the hotel should make more than enough to upgrade and update.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ash272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

My partner and I stayed here on 4th June. It was a bit of a last minute booking we searched around the internet for hotels a couple of days before we went and found this was the only hotel in Kendal which wasn't fully booked - and for good reason!!
We arrived at 8:30pm and were given our key to room 207, for all the weather was sunny outside the room was dark and freezing cold.
The decor in the room was very dated with stains on the wallpaper, the tv was tiny and diffcult to work with the two remotes required (neither of which had battery covers so they kept falling out) however there was a note beside it explaining what you needed to do if you had a problem (basically turn it off at the wall until it decided that IT wanted to work - I did this about four times).
The toilet would only flush once every 25 minutes, when we mentioned this to the manager we were told that it was one of about seven rooms which had a 'slow flush'.
I could have coped with all of the above as thankfully it was only a one night stay but the bed in the room was an absolute disgrace, everytime one of us moved the spring noise was horrendeous. Neither of us got any sleep.
There were a couple of steps in the corridor directly outside of the room which also made a loud noise when walked on, this started from 5:30am when the other residents started to get up, at one point I honestly thought that there was someone in our room it was that loud.
Breakfast wasn't too clever, I ate mine in bed as I was too cold to get up.
When my partner complained to the manager we were offered £20 off our bill of £120, the manager said that he rarely got any complaints but he believed that this was because the hotel mainly catered for coach trips and the elderly not younger people. I agree the average age of customer would have been around 70 (we are both 29) but it shouldn't matter what age you are, no-one should have experience such poor quality.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Leanne072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2011

I can definitely recommend this Hotel, We stayed with a Weekending Coach Party and every single member of the party was made to feel really welcome by Simon and his team.
Okay, it is an old hotel but it is beautifully clean and far better than the plasticky modern hotels which are so impersonal. Our room was overlooking the busy junction by the station and was quite noisy but double glazing helped with that. The food was plentiful and well cooked and the staff were helpful and very friendly.
Even if we were not with a Coach Trip I would consider staying at this Hotel. Wonderful value!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drg318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

I just needed a bed for the night and the hotel sufficed.
TV didn't work - or perhaps I could not make it work because of the weird and complicated instructions, I just gave up.
No internet connection. Handy for the centre of town - try the Italian Restaurant "Paulo Gianni's.
Manager and breakfast staff friendly. The hotel is on the Coach Tour Circuit and was almost full. For £30 B& B I consider it a good stop off hotel for one night and preferable to the Travel Lodges/Premier Inns etc, but perhaps not for a longer visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob4Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

it's noisy, dated, the manager and some staff treat customers as though they are the nuisance if they report anything wrong with what is provided...eg the TV's do'nt work, the heating cannot be regulated, windows are jammed open,.the noisefrom other rooms and the bar is horrendous , . you will be given your orders by the manager as soon as you arrive! Meals are chaotic and lacking in any nourishment. items oin the menu will be cancelled .....the staff seem stressed and inexperienced except two exceptional professional staff. all the cheeryness in the world is not deflected by calling everybody especially older women darling/my love etc
leisuretime travel co. uses this hotel so beware, their coach was something out of the ark, it was damp when setting off ,they had ovberbooked so that people were jammed into a substitute coach,seats with no leg room, could not recline the seats, could not turn air conditioning on, no seat belt on bACK SEAT,the driver gave hardly any information about stops etc, fiddled with his cd player a\nd drank from a water bottle while he was driving in a dangerous manner..........all in all an experience alright!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kendallO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Property: County Hotel
Address: Station Road, Kendal LA9 6BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — County Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing