We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great week end” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
County Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Wigtownshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great week end”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

was at this hotel for three days on a dodds of troon coach trip staff and manager were helpful friendly and efficent the breakfasts and dinners were excellant the room and and bathroom was spotless though bed a little lumpy entertainer on sat night was very good would definetly stay again

Room Tip: rooms at back of hotel are quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesfromGalloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Hotel Group Opertions Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Thank you for your recent review

I will pass this on to management and his team who will be very please to read your comments.

Once again, many thanks.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    86
    71
    33
    35
See reviews for
28
89
41
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel with Grand UK Holidays. I found the staff and manager Kevin extremely friendly and helpful. The food was excellant. Admittedly the hotel could do with a bit of a facelift, but my bed and shower facilities were spotless. I would definitely stay again, just for the friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Many thanks for your rcent comments.

I will pas this on to my manager and his team for their perusal.

Once again, many thanks

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed at the County Hotel for two nights. The staff were pleasant, helpful and friendly. Kevin was a friendly and personable man and also the lovely jolly young lady who seemed to take on so many roles - she was on reception, the bar, serving breakfast and always willing to please with a smile on her face.
The breakfast was hot, tasty and well cooked and there was a sufficient choice of cereals and toast. We slept well at the hotel but found that the breakfast times were too short and too early (9.15 finish on a Sunday)!

The hotel was very well situated for walking into the lovely town of Kendal with it's plenty of bars, restaurants and shops. The hotel was quite tired and dated and our room was in need of some serious tlc. The paper was peeling off the wall and the light fitting over the bed was loose and far too low that I was unable to sit up in bed otherwise the bulb would have burnt my head. We couldn't get our tv to work but were not particularly concerned with this as we went out in the evenings. However, the room was as clean as it could have been given the old fitments.

We enjoyed great evening entertainment by a very talented man on the electic guitar - he was truly amazing. We had intended to have a quick drink in the bar and then pop out elsewhere but ended up staying all night and buying lots of drinks at the bar!!

Room Tip: A room at the end of the corridor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ange196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments, it was pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kendal hotels

Carmel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

This was a very enjoyable stay at this hotel stays of 2 nights ,staff were very pleasant cheery and helpful, rooms were clean, kettle in room and happy to see there was plenty if milk which you don't usually see in many hotels,lovely breakfast filled me up for the day. Wasn't defected by any house, will definitely stay here again .

Kath rodgers.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Many thanks for your comments of which I will pass on to my manager and team.

We do strive to get things right and hopefully your comments will help.

Once again many thanks.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

The room was in need of a good overhaul, the shower was full of mould.
The hotel generally looked as if it could do with a good clean. There was a coach party staying the same time as my wife and I which meant the staff were rushed off their feet. Our sleep was constantly interupted throughout the night when late night reellers were coming in, also eerytime anyone visited the toilet the noise. However we did enjoy an excellent evening meal but that was at the hotel up the road.

Room Tip: The Rierside Hotel up the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you for putting your thoughts and comments on paper.

I am surprised to read that your room was not clean and that you think the otel is shabby. We do strive to make things as clean as possible and have had great success the last year under the new Manager Kevin.

We do take coach holiday guests but tis should not affect the service you are given. Thank you for your good commets on the food, Kieth our new head chef is a true professional and a pleasure to work with.

Once again many thanks for your comments of whic I will pass on the my manager.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

i was part of a tour party, our bags were quickly taken up to the rooms without fuss, my room had two single beds a soft easy chair and big kettle it was domestic sized better than the wee things you usually get and the usual tea /coffee,a wee biscuit would have been nice
the bathroom was big clean and the towels adequate with a huge walk in shower it was SPOTLESS take your own shower gel and shampoo they only supply soap
dinner was good 4 courses and plenty of choice the staff were brisk and friendly, unlimited tea and coffee were placed on the corridor and was taken in the lounge/bar a light bright room with especially comfy seats and great entertainment
this was my first visit and was only for one night but if i was coming down to the area again i would be happy to stay there again

Room Tip: i was on the 2nd floor at the street side but noise was not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ingysingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for your nice comments. It is nice to read that people take time to write comments when they have enjoyed themselves as when they are disapointed.

I will pass your comments onto the management and staff.

Once again many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Our bedroom was a disgrace, paper peeling off the wall, wardrobe door replaced by a piece of plywood, badly stained! bathroom needed a lot of tlc, grouting black round the tiles, waste bin broken, in 8 days was never cleaned properly, the floor was so bad , after a shower we walked on towels!
Food: 3 good eveing meals out of 7, not a good average. Breakfast; a plate of cold thin toast was placed on the table, which we joked they were carpet tiles (dreadful) pot of tea also waiting, both cold, not a good start to the day!
The photo displayed in the brochure does not convey the true picture, the front its now a 3 way junction, with a very heavy traffic flow making a good nights sleep difficult !
I would never recommend staying here, its owned by Grand UK holidays, i have sent a letter of complaint, but the reply wasnt helpful, I have photos of said compliants, but I dont expect they want to know! Kevin the manager was a very likeable fellow, & staff very friendly, cannot understand why the hotel wasnt in better condition?
Not the holiday we anticipated.

Room Tip: no comment, see my review
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brekenDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you for your constuctive comments. I have just spoken to my Manager Kevin Buck and told him to take this room off sale until I have a chance to look at the problems which will be in two weeks time, we should not be letting rooms if they are in this condition.

Unfortunately we have no control over the flow of traffic and what the County Council do with the highways and I have slept in several of the rooms over looking the roundabout without disterbance during the night.

The food should be consistant at all times, this is the first real complaint I have had since the new head chef started some months ago. I will look into this again on my next visit.

Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations on this occasion.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#5 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
5.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Property: County Hotel
Address: Station Road, Kendal LA9 6BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — County Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing