We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay was very good”
Review of County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
County Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The County Hotel has ruined my life......my husband stayed Friday night last weekend. He got up early for a long mornings cycle to Penrith, went down to breakfast and this is where it all goes wrong for me! He said he sat down, was immediately approached for his order (tea, toast and full English!) and less than a minute later was served with the entire thing - piping hot breakfast and gallons of lovely tea. Now when I present a meal in front of him he says "That was quick.....but not as quick as The County"!! How can I compete with such wonderful service, I am a defeated wife :(
All other aspects of his stay were nice too but that breakfast.......

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Jdmhpogo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed 22nd feb for 1 night as our grandson was going to the judo cometition the next day. Our check in was very quick and the girl on reception was lovely and helpful. The family room was clean,basic and funtional with all you need for a nights sleep, and the double bed was really comfy. Early breakfast was ordered for 7am, and plenty of choice available.

Would stay again if we came back to Kendal.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janicej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for your review of our Hotel.

I am pleased to learn you enjoyed the hospitality shown at The County.

I trust your Grandsons’ Judo competition went well and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel the next time you are visiting Kendal.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This review is more about the County Hotel's restaurant experience than the stopping over experience, but if its on Par with the food, then I'm sure that too will be equally as good! Me and my wife live locally and heard that the hotel was wanting to push the fact it was wanting to get non-residents/general public in the restaurant as well as guests; so after my wife suggested it we went there for out tea (dinner if your southern!) We came around 6:30pm and we were quickly shown into the lovely restaurant dining room with nicely set out tables with proper place settings, after being asked if we'd like a drink/s from the bar. We were offered the daily specials menu freshly prepared by the chef and also the comprehensive 'every day' menu. From starters there were 4 or 5 choices from soup through to pate then the mains - proper British wholesome food! Local sausage, mash; Gammon egg and chips with ALL the trimmings, Lasagne, home made beef burger bun.....I went for Steak n ale pie, chips and fresh veg and my wife had Butterflied chicken fillet with a sauce. Service was prompt, efficient and the food quality was top notch. So were the hearty portions! Hot and tasty like it should be. we were made to feel most welcome by Kevin and Emma the managers and the girls waiting on.
It was perhaps a little quiet, but it is only February and they tell me they are only just starting the new restaurant service to the public. We shall certainly be spreading the word! (2 main meals came to £15.60 excl. drinks) Oh and the sign in reception from the local council food hygene standards award of 5 STARS was very comforting. Thank you to all at the County and good luck!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beefycheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your dining experience at our Hotel.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your meal and that you were well looked after by our team.

Our menu has all your favourite dishes, something for everyone and great value for money.

Kevin and his team are dedicated to providing great hospitality along with good food and I am delighted that you found this to be the case.

We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back to The County very soon.

Many thanks & kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Best customer service ever experienced from Kevin nothin to much trouble
we r well travelled and stayed in 5* an Neva got this treatment breakfast was hot an fresh made welcome and not fotgetin taxi drive hospitality off cumbrians was 1st class x

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicola m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for your very kind review of your stay with us recently.

I was extremely pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Kevin and his team who I know will appreciate the feedback. Your comments certainly reflect what we strive to achieve so thank you again.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Just came back from a night in the country hotel. From the moment we walked in the manager made us feel welcome and the waiting staff at breakfast were lovely. Lovely warm place. Lovely room and very clean bedding n comfy bed. Thank you kevin for making our stay enjoyable and look forward to another stay in the near future

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clairewalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Kevin and his team as I know how much these are appreciated.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Just back from our stay at the County hotel.We stayed for christmas and new year.Wereceived a warm welcome from kevin.Our room was clean and warm,the bedwas very comfortable and we slept well .the food was 5star quality served by cheerful and attentive staff.
coffee and tea always available (even after 8 mints! ) the entertainment was very good with something to suit most ages and tastes. Kevin (the manager was hilarious doing a tribute to Tina Turner !!! Father christmas arrived christmas morning giving all the guests a present>
new years eve was great fun with horse racing in the afternoon aswell as afternoon teas and cakes > nothing was too much trouble and kevin and his team should be congratulated for a job well done we will definately be back and highly recomend this hotel tony and trina

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for your very kind review of your stay with us recently.

I was extremely pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Kevin and his team who I know will appreciate the feedback. Your comments certainly reflect what we strive to achieve so thank you again.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just back from a fantastic Christmas break at County Hotel,Kendal as it was our first Christmas away from home and family we were a little bit worried what it would be like.But it was great Kevin and his team were the best !Yes it is a 2 star hotel but the warmth and friendliness we received from them could not have been better from a 5star hotel not to mention all the extras like a box full of fruit,sweets,biscuits cracker and other things which greeted us in our room on arrival.Food was excellent and lots of it ,entertainment was good .Kevin's friendly banter kept us all in fits of laughter I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return in the near future

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for your very kind review of your stay with us recently.

I was extremely pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Kevin and his team who I know will appreciate the feedback. Your comments certainly reflect what we strive to achieve so thank you again.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
435 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
692 reviews
5.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Address: Station Road, Kendal LA9 6BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range: £57 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — County Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing