We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Union Jack

The Union Jack
Ranked #34 of 146 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Breakfast Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

EVery time we are in Kendal breakfast here is a must. Always to a very high standard, the wife particularly enjoys the kippers with two poached eggs, whilst my preference is a traditional full English.
A wonderful no frills proper cafe.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    22
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, location and cost.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

The breakfast here was very good and at a low price, although for a large breakfast I expected more than one slice of bacon. It still tasted good though.
Overall I enjoyed the experience here and understand why it is so popular with the people of kendal. It is a very typical cafe serving hearty food at a good price in a nice very british atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oldladiesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

Its great lunch time for me.Specially,the price for lunch is cheap.I ordered roast chicken breast wich is tender and smooth,only costing 4.95 pounds.Thats nice indeed.I got a dessert as well ,which is called sticky toffee pudding that I love si much.Thank chef for the luch meal.Amazing experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“breakfast recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

Locals eat here regularly, which is always a good sign.
I often come for brunch, usually on a Saturday morning - lunchtime.
The staff are polite and friendly, the restraunt is clean and has a cosy atmosphere.

It is just out of town, an easy 5-10 min walk from the centre and away from the bustle of busy shoppers. A pleasant detour through the Abbot Hall Park and along the riverside path brings you back to town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CM_browser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

We went for lunch today and were very pleasantly suprised, very friendly staff and nice clean place. Very reasonable prices and the food was lovely! Quick and friendly service, all at a reasonable price, we will definatly go back and try one of the specials.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank richlee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Union Jack also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to The Union Jack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing