We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional at Best”
Review of Wakefield Arms

Wakefield Arms
Ranked #64 of 153 Restaurants in Kendal
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Armitage, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Functional at Best”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have already written a review under "Table Table" but it appears this place is on Trip Advisor under this name too... We came here on Easter Sunday - we expected it to be busy but it was pretty empty. Service was ok although tailed off after we received our mains - we weren't offered any puddings, had to ask for the bill and were told to then go and queue to pay rather that them taking payment at the table. Food was similar to Wetherspoons (possibly not as good actually) the burgers were ok - meat was very dense. Scampi so so but the lasagne had been overdone and was very very dry. The chips that come with the burgers were very nice but the chips with the scampi and lasagne weren't too good so most of them were left. The burgers were big but the lasagne and scampi were very small portions. I don't think we'd go back considering the standard of food when they were quiet - would probably try somewhere else. The place has no atmosphere whatsoever.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    82
    62
    34
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Average food, good for drinks”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I have been to Wakefield arms a few times and it is a very clean place with friendly staff. The food however, is average. I had a chicken burger and i found it very chewy and not overly great. The chips and salad with the dip however, gave a nice touch. My boyfriend ordered desert and it was one of the ice-cream sundaes, it advertised on the menu it having popping candy however there wasn't any?
The atmosphere is very nice however and is a nice place for socializing and relaxing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Get a grip.”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Have popped in here twice in the last few days and on each occasion both of the guest ales have not been available which as a large pub/restaurant/hotel is ridiculous. Last night there was no tonic water and only huge bottles of sparkling mineral water if you wanted mineral water.Manager/staff need to get a grip with stock levels.These are simple things which should be perfect.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikdodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wish we hadn't bothered.”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I last reviewed this place over two years ago, though had visited at least once a year since then without being motivated enough for a review, where the food and prices were average to poor. The veggie options are still pretty useless (there's still no option for a vegetarian salad, though you could opt to "have a meat salad without the meat"). The moment a veggie sees "Qourn burder" on the menu, it instantly makes one realise that you're are about to pay £8 for a burger and chips that a chef has just popped out of the cardboard "qourn" branded box and pushed under the gill (you could do the same at home for £2 with 4 of the identical burgers....)
This time, like the other times, the food took an age to get to the table. The drinks order didn't even arrive. When the food eventually arrived it was missing a starter and an entirely different main meal was brought to us then returned to the kitchen, sauces requested at time of ordering also failed to materialise so were re-requested along with the drinks order after the missing side arrived.

Food was bland, cheap knock-off mayonaise, coleslaw that had gone off on one of the meals, what tasted like frozen "roast" potatoes on another meal, small slither of vegetarian "pie" which was doubtful worth the £8/9 price, but tasted quite nice..at least while it lasted.

The service, despite the wait on food, was very friendly and welcoming (perhaps the problems in the kitchen?!) and the only part about eating there that was pleasant.

The place was empty. so hard to see why the wait - there were quite a few staff on ourside too, so I think that may be why the drinks order and other things went a little asqew - no less than 3 staff attended our table at varying times, so clearly some confusion was going on as to who was doing what.

They took a lot of money off our bill, which was very kind, and understanding of them; but honestly we would have just preferred better food and food options and less of a wait time

That truly is the last visit (words which I've said to my family before) unless sometime in the future we have no other choice (commitments/friends staying at the hotel).
After three years of the same bland food in a (to coin labours overused hotword) "omnishambles" of a restaurant...I wouldn't be surprised if find ourselves there in a years time to the tune of the same mess.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VeggieInTheLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Late lunch”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We ate here on April 5th early afternoon as we'd had things to do in the area. It wasn't very busy because the main lunchtime period had passed but the food was lovely. I had lasagne & chips & my husband had a burger both were hot & fresh & we didn't have to wait long for them. The waitress Laura was very helpful & friendly. I have eaten here a few times & would say this was the best visit i've had

Helpful?
Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wakefield Arms also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Wakefield Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing