We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chalk and cheese” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wakefield Arms

Wakefield Arms
Ranked #74 of 146 Restaurants in Kendal
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chalk and cheese”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Use this restaurant for both evening meals and breakfast during a two night stay at the premier inn. First evening meal and breakfast were fine but then the fun started second evening meal we were kind of shown to our table by some ignorant bloke who pointed it out with a dismissive wave of the hand as he passed a table. Not been sure if it was our table or not we all just stood there. A waitress then said we should sit while she checked. When we came to order she said there was a 40 min wait for main courses but if we ordered starters they would be quicker we all (7 people) opted for main meals only but these arrived within 10 mins. Think this was a ploy to push starters. Later we were asked to move tables so they could prepare for breakfast's. don't know why they bothered! When we went for breakfast there were no tables ready. We were asked to wait in the bar while they prepared one. We asked if we could get a coffee while we waited. But there were no cups. Some cups were placed out (3) I guess we could of got some straws to share! When we went for the cooked breakfast there were no plates. this place is a joke.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank markjacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    76
    60
    33
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for big venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We booked a table for 12 for leaving due party which was ready even when we arrived to early. Food and prices - average. We preorder ours well it arrived quickly. Staff very helpful when it came to leave big cake with them as surprise for main guest, then delivered with spare plates. Will definitely use it again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Agnieszka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armitage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Functional at Best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have already written a review under "Table Table" but it appears this place is on Trip Advisor under this name too... We came here on Easter Sunday - we expected it to be busy but it was pretty empty. Service was ok although tailed off after we received our mains - we weren't offered any puddings, had to ask for the bill and were told to then go and queue to pay rather that them taking payment at the table. Food was similar to Wetherspoons (possibly not as good actually) the burgers were ok - meat was very dense. Scampi so so but the lasagne had been overdone and was very very dry. The chips that come with the burgers were very nice but the chips with the scampi and lasagne weren't too good so most of them were left. The burgers were big but the lasagne and scampi were very small portions. I don't think we'd go back considering the standard of food when they were quiet - would probably try somewhere else. The place has no atmosphere whatsoever.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Average food, good for drinks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I have been to Wakefield arms a few times and it is a very clean place with friendly staff. The food however, is average. I had a chicken burger and i found it very chewy and not overly great. The chips and salad with the dip however, gave a nice touch. My boyfriend ordered desert and it was one of the ice-cream sundaes, it advertised on the menu it having popping candy however there wasn't any?
The atmosphere is very nice however and is a nice place for socializing and relaxing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Get a grip.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Have popped in here twice in the last few days and on each occasion both of the guest ales have not been available which as a large pub/restaurant/hotel is ridiculous. Last night there was no tonic water and only huge bottles of sparkling mineral water if you wanted mineral water.Manager/staff need to get a grip with stock levels.These are simple things which should be perfect.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikdodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wakefield Arms also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Wakefield Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing