We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pit stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Pit stop”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a good budget option when you're powering up the M6. The motel is clean, quiet and comfy. The view is gorgeous with the lake and the bunnies everywhere. BUT only eating options are McDonalds and Costas in the service station, and Costas shuts early, so...

Might be better stopping to eat at Westmoreland?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hells1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KendalDIManager, General Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The lake and the rabbits do make our hotel a lovely setting - even if just for a quick overnight stop!

I'm sorry you were disappointed with our catering options. McDonald's is open 24 hours, and Costa Coffee is open until 9pm at the moment. You can also buy a discounted voucher to use in Costa which offers £10 of food and drink for £7.50.

I do hope to welcome you back to Days Inn Kendal (Killington Lake) soon and thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    180
    129
    52
    30
See reviews for
112
248
38
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The location was beautiful with the lake , birds and wind turbines . You would not think you were near a motorway . The receptionist was friendly and helpful . The only thing was the meals on offer at the services , especially Costas breakfast ! But the motel was very nice with comfi beds . Probably best to describe as just below Premier and above Travelodge !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KendalDIManager, General Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. I'm so pleased you had one of our beautiful lake view rooms. The view over the reservoir is spectacular - especially in the sunny weather we have been having recently.

I'm sorry you were disappointed with our restaurant offerings. Both Costa Coffee and McDonald's do have a wide range of breakfast options, but I do appreciate that this is not suitable for everyone. I do hope it would not deter you from staying with us in the future.

Thank you again for your review, and I hope to see you again at Days Inn Kendal (Killington Lake) soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dufftown
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I regularly break my journey from Scotland to London by staying overnight at the Days Inn, Kendal. The rooms are clean and tidy and the receptionist is always welcoming. The beds are clean and comfortable ensuring a good nights sleep before resuming my journey.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KendalDIManager, General Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It's always nice to hear from a regular guest! I'm so pleased we continue to offer comfortable good value rooms. I do hope you're a Wyndham Rewards member and are taking advantage of the benefits that brings - if not, do sign up when you stay next time.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

For the price we expected a basic convenient stop on M6 but were pleasantly surprised. Excellent room, clean, pleasant as were very helpful staff.

Although room was basic, very comfortable and would definitely choose above the previous nights accommodation which was three times price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KendalDIManager, General Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay - and that you would choose to stay with us again! We do try to provide everything our guests' need for an enjoyable stay and I will certainly pass your comments regarding the team on to them.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Days Inn Kendal (Killington Lake) soon - please do keep an eye on our website for upcoming offers.

Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Although a motorway stopover the accomodation is away from hustle and bustle of service area with beautiful lake views. Pity the restaurant has closed and is now part Macdonalds part Costa but both have fantastic views over the distant mountains and lake.

Room Tip: ask for lake view. rooms are typical travelodge layout but larger and better equipped.plenty of tea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happygranny272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KendalDIManager, General Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our location is beautiful - especially in the sunshine we have at the moment, and the hill that hides us from the motorway does ensure most of the traffic noise is silenced.

Our restaurant closed in February, and our McDonald's store opened in April. Although the restaurant has gone, both Costa Coffee and McDonald's do offer a wide range of food items throughout the day. We have also started offering a discount voucher for guests' to use to buy breakfast in Costa Coffee - I do hope you were able to take advantage of this and enjoy breakfast on the patio area in the sun.

I do hope to welcome you back to Days Inn Kendal (Killington Lake) soon. Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was a 1 night stopover at the end of a holiday in the Lake District. I wasn't expecting much, but was very pleasantly surprised. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the room was very clean and comfortable. We had a room overlooking a grassy bank, with lots of wild rabbits playing. The other side of the hotel overlooks Killington Lake, and the views from those rooms must have been stunning.
If I was in the area again, I'd definitely stay here again. Very good value - and free wifi. Recommended

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank warwickshirelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KendalDIManager, General Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. One of the advantages of staying at this time of year is the opportunity to enjoy watching both the rabbits and the birds who inhabit our grounds. Our lake view rooms do have a beautiful view over Killington Lake - please do contact the hotel directly to ensure we can allocate you one of these rooms. We do our best to accommodate all of our guests' requests.

I'm delighted you were so happy with the service from the team. I will certainly pass your comments on to them. They work very hard to ensure all our guests' have an enjoyable stay and positive feedback such as yours means a great deal to them.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Days Inn Kendal (Killington Lake) the next time you are in the area - please do keep an eye on our website for special offers!

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have stayed here many times and never been disappointed! The view from the bedroom is spectacular and that is enough to bring you back time n again. The staff are so helpful. The room is very good. The food can be obtained from the adjacent outlet and quite adequate. Thoroughly reccomend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Carolwatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KendalDIManager, General Manager at Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm so pleased that you had another enjoyable stay. We are very lucky to have such a beautiful view. I'm sure you know to contact the hotel directly to ensure we allocate you one of our lake view rooms!

I will pass on your lovely comments to the team. They are always delighted to receive positive feedback such as yours.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review. I do look forward to welcoming you back to Days Inn Kendal (Killington Lake) soon - keep an eye on our website for special offers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
6.4 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#5 of 14 in Kendal
407 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
4.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
1,003 reviews
5.7 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 14 in Kendal
486 reviews
10.0 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake

Property: Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake
Address: M6 | Roadchef Motorway Scv Area, Kendal LA8 0NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake Hotel Kendal
Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing