We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Thai food in Kendal”

Thai Kitchen In Lakeland
Ranked #2 of 167 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £5 - £20
Description: Welcome to Kendal's only 'drive-thru' Thai takeaway. Experience a new takeaway experience in Kendal. Telephone your order - receive a collection time - drive up - collect - take home and enjoy authentic Thai cuisine in your own home. From wok to table in minutes. All meals are cooked to order. We serve freshly-cooked authentic Thai meals, none of our meals are pre-cooked. Our takeaway is at Unit 6, Dockray Hall Mill (LA9 4RU). Open from 5pm-9pm Tuesday to Saturday, except on Wednesdays when we open at 6pm.
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to Kendal's only 'drive-thru' Thai takeaway. Experience a new takeaway experience in Kendal. Telephone your order - receive a collection time - drive up - collect - take home and enjoy authentic Thai cuisine in your own home. From wok to table in minutes. All meals are cooked to order. We serve freshly-cooked authentic Thai meals, none of our meals are pre-cooked. Our takeaway is at Unit 6, Dockray Hall Mill (LA9 4RU). Open from 5pm-9pm Tuesday to Saturday, except on Wednesdays when we open at 6pm.
Reviewed 18 April 2024 via mobile

This was up there with the best Thai food I’ve had. The soup certainly was. The 2 lovely gents that were working squeezed my order into their very busy schedule. I’m not surprised that they’re very busy on a Thursday night due to the excellent food that they’re serving. I’ll be back next time I visit Kendal.

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank samfan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eric Whitehead, Owner at Thai Kitchen In Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2024

Thank you Sam, look forards to cooking for you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2024

Living in the middle of nowhere and only having the bog standard Chinese takeaways and Fish n Chip shops in the surrounding villages, we rarely have take aways as you just can't beat a good Thai or Indian.

So when we found Thai Kitchen on google, only 20 mins from our office, we read the reviews and had to get a take away in on Friday night.

We are vegan and vegetarian and found plenty of choice on the menu. We ordered the Vegetable Spring Rolls and Tung Tong for starters, followed by a Pad Thai, Pad Lee Mao and Jungle Curry (all vegetarian / tofu option of course).

Every dish was flavoursome, fresh and colourful. Nothing was over cooked and considering we had a 45 minute drive home after collection, left the dishes in the oven to keep warm for a further 20 minutes, the food was not soggy or had lost any colour (nor was there any oil sitting on top of the dishes, which you sometimes find on some dishes).

Absolutely delicious and worth every penny.

I did read a review that a couple had paid over £70 for their food, and although they ordered a vast number of dishes, they believed it was not value for money (or were the servings large enough).

I completely disagree, we are in Britain, eating authentic Thai food, cooked fresh, in the year 2023, the cost of living is through the roof; food, fuel and energy prices are astronomical, so for the £51 which we spend on our dishes (plus there was a rice which came with the Jungle Curry), in this day and age, I do not think it is over priced at all, the price matches the quantity & quality.

We had a lovely dinner and there was enough for lunch for one person the next day.

We will most certainly be ordering again.

Thank you Thai Kitchen for one of the best take aways we have had in a number of years.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roberta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eric Whitehead, Owner at Thai Kitchen In Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2024

Thank you Roberta for your lovely comments. Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2024

Firstly this was the most expensive take away I ever got for 2 people (£71) yes there was a lot of food, but I found the quality to be sub-average and wasn’t what I expect from a reputable Thai Restaurant/take away. I will detail my order below with comments-
•Prawn Tom yum soup- nicely flavoured but only 3 small prawns
•Ped Makham - nice sauce but duck was more fat than meet, very chewy
•Pla Sarm- good quality fish (although very small) but tastes like it had just been cooked in a whole bottle of sweet n sour sauce
•Thai Chicken wings- (avoid) these looked and tasted like they had just been thrown in a deep fat fryer from frozen, was not fresh, the meat was grey and they were massively under flavoured
•Duck spring rolls - nice
•Thai style ribs- I didn’t know that Thai style rips are identical to American BBQ rips, they were just cooked in a Smokey BBQ flavoured sauce (not Asian style at all)
• pork and sesame toast - average tasting
• jasmine rice - not enough, needs to be more to accompany the main dish
Overall flavours were varied, quality was average for me the soup tasted the best and seemed the most authentic.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GoPlaces65957791472
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eric Whitehead, Owner at Thai Kitchen In Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Wow! I'm not going to comment on this, except to mention that we are a takeaway and not a restaurant. It's obvious our food was not to your taste. I'll go with the 253 5star reviews we already have and the fact that I know our food is high quality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2024

You can’t get better Thai in the lakes than here. It’s authentic Thai, it’s the best. We go here weekly, owners are very friendly.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kayava
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eric Whitehead, Owner at Thai Kitchen In Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2024

Thank you for your lovely comments, hope to cook for you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2024

Green Thai curry and the sweet and sour curry were delicious! Really clean, fresh taste.
Can’t wait for the next visit 😋

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eric Whitehead, Owner at Thai Kitchen In Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2024

Thank you, hope you're back soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Kitchen In Lakeland also viewed

 
Crook, Kendal
 

Been to Thai Kitchen In Lakeland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.