We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The staff are well trained and very welcoming and friendly, Robert, Leonna and the receptionists are an asset. The room was warm, clean comfortable and nicely decorated. Good comfortable bed and the breakfast was just fab. Ate in the restaurant in the evening, excellent service and good food. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tilley057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,391 - 1,397 of 1,911 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2013

I stayed only one night for a conference, but was extremely impressed with every aspect of my stay. The staff were exceptional, and it seems like a genuine family atmosphere is fostered which doesn't feel at all artificial. I arrived early - way too early for check in, but my bags were taken, and as I sat down for a coffee, the reception staff came to tell me that my room was ready, with my bags in situ. The room was spotless and comfortable, and our evening meal was lovely. The conference facility was pleasant, and it was so nice to be able to see the well kept grounds and countryside beyond. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Castle Green Hotel offers a friendly professional service. The rooms are excellent, clean and well maintained and there are several suites with great views over the gardens and the castle ruins. The grounds are beautiful with a woodland walk and excellent bird and wildlife. The food in the restaurant is very good but if you want a more informal dining experience there is a pub in the hotel grounds too. The hotel is extremely popular for weddings having two very large function rooms both with garden views.On top of all this there is also a fitness suite , pool, steam room and beauty treatments available.
Conference facilities are also available.
What more could you want....... nothing

Room Tip: All rooms are good but for a beatiful view ask for a front facing one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

I took my partner away for a romantic weekend and chose this hotel partly due to the positive reviews.
We were not disappointed. Friendly welcome at reception.
Room was not the biggest I've stayed in, but clearly recently refurbished, nicely decorated and absolutely spotless.
We were on the side of the hotel with a garden view and on the 2nd floor. Rm 263.
We got a great nights sleep both nights we stayed and were never disturbed. It was a bit of a walk from reception and up two flights of stairs, so maybe not best for the less nimble of visitors. We loved it and I guess, the trade off is a lovely sense of seclusion.
We used the pool in the evenings and were surprised to find it was deserted, so got a good swim in in our own private pool.

We ate both in Alexander's which is standard pub food as well as the hotel restaurant which was very nice. Prices aren't the cheapest, but pretty average for the area.

I would certainly stay again as we had a really restful stay and despite hotel being busy didn't feel crowded or impersonal.


  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selondonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

One of the best breakfast I have had for a long time.. Rooms very clean and tidy. Only down side is the timing for using pool. Children have a set time to use it which meant we couldnt use it unless you dont go out for the day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harrycrumbthethird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. Lovely hotel in a nice location. Easy to walk into Kendal in about 10 or 15 minutes. Room was overlooking the gardens and was spotless!
We did not dine in the hotel but visited Alexanders The Pub in the grounds for a drink and the food looked lovely. Breakfast was very nice and staff very attentive.
We would stay here again lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden on the second flood. Quiet with nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maggie78-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I stayed here whilst visiting Kendal in April 2013. Checking in was a breeze and was met by very friendly and helpful staff. It's these first impressions which make the stay all the more enjoyable. I found my room and I was extremely pleased with the cleanliness off the room and especially the sparkling bathroom. The sheets were lovely and fresh (as expected!) and the bathroom looked as though it had just had a re-furb. Fab. The shower was lovely and warm and nice and powerful. My father-in-law was staying in another room and his was just as spotlessly clean.

We had dinner on both nights in the Alexanders Pub which is attached to the hotel. Again the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had burgers one evening and I had a vegetarian lasagne the following evening. The food was good for grabbing a bite but not if you want something special. I have to say my only complaint which is fairly minor was that the Brie and cranberry starter and the vegetable/spinach lasagne I had was not really hot enough and only warm.

In the main hotel you have a bar which serves snacks which I didn't try but everywhere again looked inviting and tidy. There was also a restaurant in the hotel but we didn't use this either (well we did for breakfast).

Breakfast! Breakfast was very pleasant. After being shown to your table you are offered Tea or Coffee and toast then you can go up to the buffet and help your self to a cooked breakfast or go healthy and have granola or cereal etc...or both! There are a selection of juices and more than enough food to satisfy your hunger in the morning :-)

The rooms seemed quiet and the only noise I heard were a few people walking up and down the corridors. There had been two weddings on whilst I stayed there and I did not hear any noise from them. There are some rooms along the first corridor next to reception which may be ideal for older guests or with people with mobility issues but I would not have wanted to stay in one of these rooms as it would have been too close to reception and the restaurant/bar.

Overall I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

Very friendly and helpful staff and very clean.

Room Tip: I would imagine that the rooms right next to the bar/restaurant and reception would be noisy. I cann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spooky-boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,138 reviews
8.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
565 reviews
8.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: £88 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing