We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Mytchett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely views”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Fantastic location - male reception staff very offhand. Rooms very hot and shabby and disappointing! Breakfast wasn't great either!

I wouldn't recommend eating in Alexander's - it's expensive frozen food!!

Room Tip: Get the cheapest deal possible or spend a bit more and stay by the lake!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
I would like to apologise for your disappointment regarding your recent stay with us. It is highly unusual to receive comments of this nature and as such I have discussed these with the relevant managers as a priority. We do have a rolling programme of refurbishment at the hotel and are very fortunate to have owners who continue to invest heavily in the product we offer. Being such a large hotel, the challenge we face is prioritising which areas require attention. In terms of your comments regarding the F&B offering in Alexander and at breakfast I would like to clarify that we do not serve frozen food and that everything is prepared freshly here at the hotel. This was supported by us retaining 2 Rosettes from the AA for the quality of our food at our recent inspection.

I was however pleased to note that you rated our views and location as excellent and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your feedback in more detail should you wish.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    491
    137
    44
    15
See reviews for
289
930
36
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My wife and I are currently enjoying another stay at Castle Green. We really do love this hotel for its value for money and the friendliness and efficiency of all its staff. It is refreshing to find a place that has so many long serving staff so that you meet the same familiar faces at each visit. This must been down to the management of this well run hotel. We received a free upgrade this time to room 139 which is the nicer of the two suites we have stayed in (the other one was really lovely too, but the views from this room are fantastic!) Last night, after a gorgeous three course dinner (with coffee included in the price) all for just £28 per head, we enjoyed a set by a jazz ensemble in the Kendal Suite. Completely free! Apparently these jazz evenings are a regular monthly occupancy at Alexander's (the pub in the grounds of Castle Green) and they had transferred to a room in the hotel because everywhere was so busy with the Bank Holiday weekend. If you are heading to the Lakes, with or without children, seriously consider this hotel. You won't have to pay Lake District prices but you will enjoy genuine 4star facilities.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms have the views of immaculately kept grounds (some only have a shower, so ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
What a fantastic review!

We have our own online booking facility which can be accessed from the hotel website. You can check real time availability and be sure of getting the best deals by booking directly.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We were looking for an overnight stop in the Lake District and our faith in Best Western led us to book Castle Green on the outskirts of Kendal. Its hillside location is impressive and it was happily one of these stops where everything from reception to departure clicked into place with perfection. Reception staff could not have been more friendly and efficient and our room was spacious and clean with a magnificent view across the Fells. Having our evening meal served in the splendid Dining Room but from the pub menu neatly illustrates the flexibility on offer throughout our visit. Without exception the management and staff were keen to be friendly, helpful and efficient - being unusually well informed and also very well trained/encouraged to communicate with guests. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor looking west over the Fells!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn Lancs
Level Contributor
155 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We have just returned from a short break (our 4th at this hotel) and as usual the hotel excels itself. From the moment you check in the staff are just wonderful, everyone has a smile and time to talk. The facilities are excellent and the food in restaurant is second to none. On our second evening the "young people" seemed to be in charge. They were just brilliant, Jonathan, Becci and Shane nothing too much trouble and excellent in their duties - a credit to the hotel and the training they receive. The breakfast lady is always the same, smiley, happy, chatty and nothing too much trouble. We will be back!

Room Tip: We love the executive rooms a little bit more expensive but worth it for a special treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanieBlackburnLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Many thanks for your very kind words.

It is a delight to receive our 300th ‘Excellent’ TripAdvisor review which is a real testament to the hard work and commitment shown by our loyal local team. We look forward to seeing you for your 5th stay!!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I stayed here as part of a business meeting. The location is ideal as a base for exploring the Lake District and is only in walking distance of the centre of Kendal. The view from the hotel across the fells is beautiful. The rooms were not particularly attractive or distinctive but are clean well maintained and of a reasonable size. I did not eat at the restaurant but the menu looks good and the set menu that we had as part of the meeting package was of good quality. The staff were helpful at all times.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Though this hotel is a fifteen minute walk into town it is well worth it. The grounds are stunning and the hotel itself has all of the facilities you would ask for. The staff were very efficient yet friendly. Cant wait to return there

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billgerrycampello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed one night for business. Quiet and convenient location for visiting Kendal. Polite staff and good value, only a few £'s more than the Premier Inn. Highly recommend the Greenhouse restaurant, excellent food and value for the taster menu. Will use this hotel again for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarterD6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
1,003 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 14 in Kendal
486 reviews
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
24.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Property: Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing