We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel , excellent service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good hotel , excellent service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Spent one night here , whilst supporting a charity cycle ride - very nice room on ground floor, excellent helpful staff. We ate in the on site pub and the food was tasty. Hotel in a lovely position with great views.
Bit of a jaunt up from car park to hotel, but you can pull up to Reception to off load luggage.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moxxy-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,048
    475
    131
    43
    15
See reviews for
286
908
35
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have been before so knew what to expect and the dinner bed and breakfast rate is good value if you get a deal. Rooms are basic, no better than a budget hotel.Food is good, however my husband asked for his steak welldone, he really stressed this to the waiter, but it came bloody- he had stressed no blood at all!
Other minor issue no paper arrived even though we ordered one.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Many thanks for your review

I would like to apologise regarding the error with your husband’s steak and the lack of newspaper. We do treat all feedback very seriously and I have therefore passed this feedback to the departments in question. We have an ongoing programme of improvements around the hotel which has seem all 99 bathrooms completely refurbished in the last two years. Our focus during the last six months has been to improve the public areas of the hotel such as the entrance lobby, reception, public toilets, Oak Room and all corridors have all been revamped to a four star standard. During the next twelve months we are moving onto enhancing the decoration and standards within the bedrooms. We are very much committed to offering a quality experience and guest satisfaction is key in everything that we do.

Best Regards

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

You will not be disappointed - we find this hotel has an attention to detail and delivers on all the important points. We do like to spend weekends away and this is the only hotel that we have revisited - twice - we have not revisited any other hotel - always looking for something different. The rooms are excellent - this time we stayed in 219 - front facing - I think that's important - and the sun was shining ! - what a pleasure.
Previously we stayed in a club room which was very spacious, 219 was not as spacious but very well sized for the standard room.
We had supper at Alexander's Pub - its good, very good - walk back to the comfortable bed and a lovely nights sleep.
Breakfast - all you could want - they were very busy with a wedding party etc - but all the staff worked together making it look easy - you can always tell when there is a strong management team, staff enjoy their work and things run smoothly.
It was our 3rd visit and hopefully not our last - we will always look forward to spending time at Castle Green !

Room Tip: Front Facing - view over the gardens and gets the sun ( when its available :) )
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiarainn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your most recent review.

You are not alone! We have many loyal guests who return again and again. The challenge we face is making sure we continue to deliver the level of service which you have come to expect from previous stays!

We look forward to seeing you again

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mytchett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Fantastic location - male reception staff very offhand. Rooms very hot and shabby and disappointing! Breakfast wasn't great either!

I wouldn't recommend eating in Alexander's - it's expensive frozen food!!

Room Tip: Get the cheapest deal possible or spend a bit more and stay by the lake!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
I would like to apologise for your disappointment regarding your recent stay with us. It is highly unusual to receive comments of this nature and as such I have discussed these with the relevant managers as a priority. We do have a rolling programme of refurbishment at the hotel and are very fortunate to have owners who continue to invest heavily in the product we offer. Being such a large hotel, the challenge we face is prioritising which areas require attention. In terms of your comments regarding the F&B offering in Alexander and at breakfast I would like to clarify that we do not serve frozen food and that everything is prepared freshly here at the hotel. This was supported by us retaining 2 Rosettes from the AA for the quality of our food at our recent inspection.

I was however pleased to note that you rated our views and location as excellent and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your feedback in more detail should you wish.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

My wife and I are currently enjoying another stay at Castle Green. We really do love this hotel for its value for money and the friendliness and efficiency of all its staff. It is refreshing to find a place that has so many long serving staff so that you meet the same familiar faces at each visit. This must been down to the management of this well run hotel. We received a free upgrade this time to room 139 which is the nicer of the two suites we have stayed in (the other one was really lovely too, but the views from this room are fantastic!) Last night, after a gorgeous three course dinner (with coffee included in the price) all for just £28 per head, we enjoyed a set by a jazz ensemble in the Kendal Suite. Completely free! Apparently these jazz evenings are a regular monthly occupancy at Alexander's (the pub in the grounds of Castle Green) and they had transferred to a room in the hotel because everywhere was so busy with the Bank Holiday weekend. If you are heading to the Lakes, with or without children, seriously consider this hotel. You won't have to pay Lake District prices but you will enjoy genuine 4star facilities.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms have the views of immaculately kept grounds (some only have a shower, so ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
What a fantastic review!

We have our own online booking facility which can be accessed from the hotel website. You can check real time availability and be sure of getting the best deals by booking directly.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We were looking for an overnight stop in the Lake District and our faith in Best Western led us to book Castle Green on the outskirts of Kendal. Its hillside location is impressive and it was happily one of these stops where everything from reception to departure clicked into place with perfection. Reception staff could not have been more friendly and efficient and our room was spacious and clean with a magnificent view across the Fells. Having our evening meal served in the splendid Dining Room but from the pub menu neatly illustrates the flexibility on offer throughout our visit. Without exception the management and staff were keen to be friendly, helpful and efficient - being unusually well informed and also very well trained/encouraged to communicate with guests. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor looking west over the Fells!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn Lancs
Level Contributor
151 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

We have just returned from a short break (our 4th at this hotel) and as usual the hotel excels itself. From the moment you check in the staff are just wonderful, everyone has a smile and time to talk. The facilities are excellent and the food in restaurant is second to none. On our second evening the "young people" seemed to be in charge. They were just brilliant, Jonathan, Becci and Shane nothing too much trouble and excellent in their duties - a credit to the hotel and the training they receive. The breakfast lady is always the same, smiley, happy, chatty and nothing too much trouble. We will be back!

Room Tip: We love the executive rooms a little bit more expensive but worth it for a special treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanieBlackburnLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Many thanks for your very kind words.

It is a delight to receive our 300th ‘Excellent’ TripAdvisor review which is a real testament to the hard work and commitment shown by our loyal local team. We look forward to seeing you for your 5th stay!!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
5.5 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Property: Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing