We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times in the past and stayed there with several friends on the 30/06/2013 having highly recommending it.
Reception staff were very welcoming and helpful as usual nothing is ever to much trouble.
Room service was prompt and served with a smile.
We had afternoon tea which was lovely served by attentive staff and our tea/coffee was hot and plentiful.
After a swim and sauna we went down for dinner and met disarray in the dining room, the manager appeared to be at odds with every member of staff who as far as we could see were their usual attentive selves (one of the things I love about Castle Green) we waited 1.5 hours for our starters and had to ask several times for drinks and bread (no tapanade:(() the manager was quite patronizing when we requested house wine informing us that "we do not serve house wine if you would like to look at the wine menu".
We could also hear the manager reprimanding staff which is not nice to hear especially as they were all working so hard, this I might add did not effect the friendliness of the staff although it can not be a nice atmosphere to work under.
As it was we were not the only table to complain I believe there were several others after discussions with other guests.
On a positive note the food was wonderful and as usual the breakfast buffet had as usual everything you could wish for with no wait for poached eggs of the menu the service was top notch.
I was contacted by the hotel manager the very next day with apologies and an offer of compensation.
All in all this experience will not stop me from booking again I think the Castle Green is excellent value for money and the staff are what makes the stay even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs on the front have great views and if you can upgrade do so the room are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PartonLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience.

I was delighted to be able to discuss your most recent stay with you over the telephone. We are by no means perfect and unfortunately mistakes do happen from time to time. When they do we pride ourselves on getting to the bottom of the cause so that we do not allow the same thing to happen again. Please rest assured that this particular situation is no different.

It is very rare that we received feedback of this nature with 88% of Trip Advisor reviewers rating us as ‘Very Good’ or ‘Excellent’

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,083
    497
    140
    46
    16
See reviews for
293
947
36
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

IF yourthinking of coming here dont trust me its a three star ,there just isnt any staff onand dont expect hot pots of tea at breakfast the boiler dosnt work and if you order off menu you wait for ever because they forget ,basics such as soap take your own 140 a night only gets a miniture bar and we didnt get another one for tonight,we had to go into town to buy soap

Room Tip: Another hotel this is not a four staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank splodge01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Please accept our apologies for your disappointment regarding your stay with us. It is clear that we have not met your expectations of a four star hotel. We serve in excess of 1000 breakfasts every week at this time of year and we have had no negative feedback regarding cold tea at breakfast. We do provide a small bar of soap in each bedroom but like other quality hotels additional toiletries are available by request at no extra charge.

We do not claim to be the cheapest hotel in Kendal but do have many facilities which are available to our guests whist staying at the hotel. We have twelve acres of grounds to explore, our own Pulse Leisure Club, Alexander’s Pub in the grounds, complimentary parking and Wifi and a team of 120 staff to take care of your needs.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Up to date hotel that has not lost all of its character and with a charming staff. Situated a five minute drive from the centre of Kendal and ten minutes from the mainline railway station at Oxenholme (Kendal still has a branch halt). There are walks out from the hotel, easy crag walks within another few minutes drive and fells within view of the hotel. Its a popular place to stay in the summer ceratinly and I believe it should be for an extended season for walkers as well as for the conference and business user. It is clean and the food good as might be expected for a hotel of this standard. Price only a little above average perhaps though therer may be dealls on offer.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Kendal town side will have superb views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonEcologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We arrived at the hotel to be greeted warmly by Jill and dave. As we were early we visited Kendal for a short while. On our return our room, number 263 (as recommended by a previous trip advisor visitor), was ready.It was in a quiet part of the hotel, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. In the evening we visited Alexanders pub, a splendid meal with immaculate service. The next morning we went down to breakfast to be greeted by Leanro and made most welcome. The breakfast buffet was unbelievable, everything you could wish for and the service was immaculate. The next evening we ate in the Hotel restaurant, which was first class. the food, the ambiance and the service were superb. We visited Alexanders on another evening, the fish pie was to die for! Whilst we were there, every morning we had a walk in the beautiful gardens which were a blaze of colour and a pleasure to behold.

If you want a first class, friendly hotel with wonderful staff this is the place for you! We will return in the very near future.

Room Tip: A quiet, well furnished, comfortable room then choose number 263.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenandrita16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We organised an event for 90 people here - lunch and a prestigious awards ceremony, with celebs and everything. We simply could not fault the organisation. The room was beautifully laid out; there were lots of staff on hand to serve drinks on arrival; every single thing we had asked for was ready and the things we had forgotten were taken care of within minutes. There was someone there especially to ensure that the audio-visuals worked perfectly, and he stayed throughout to ensure there were none of those awkward moments if there's a glitch. The three course lunch was delicious - cooked to perfection and it managed to be satisfying yet not so heavy that everyone fell asleep during the two hour ceremony. The service was exceptionally good, with no delays and no one waiting ages for their meal. In particular, they catered very professionally and without fuss for people with special dietary needs, of which there were several scattered about the room. It meant that we could keep to a tight schedule - a feat that no other hotel has managed during the 29 years this event has been going. I would highly recommend it if you are organising an event. We sat down with the events manager a few weeks beforehand, and every thing we asked for had been taken care of. She even popped down during the event to make sure we were happy. Well done Castle Green - you did Kendal proud.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tennisfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This is a very pleasant place with lovely gardens and the staff are absolutely excellent. It is largely occupied during the week I suspect by conferences and business people, but at the weekend by tourists on short stays. Kendal itself is not very much on the tourist trail, but that makes it a very pleasant town and the museum at Abbot House is well worth a visit. We also had a lovely walk with great views from the local hills. The pub at the hotel was very good for a Friday night plate of fish and chips, and the beer was superb. Not so much a pub as a smallish restaurant, but fine nevertheless. Breakfast at the hotel was good, but coffee could be better. A massage in the spa was very nice indeed, and recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I booked here as I was picking up a mountain bike in Kendal and decided to make a weekend of it mountain biking around the area. Windermere is only a 15 minute train journey away, and you can join the West Coast mainline at Oxenholme station only 5 minutes south. So Kendal is a good base.

The customer service was second to none from arrival to departure. You can use the gym and pool but was a bit tired from biking all day. I was asked if I would like a paper in the morning, unfortunately I got the wrong one I asked for and was still charged for it on check out.

I managed to get a table for dinner in the pub Alexanders next door which is part of the hotel complex, I'd recommend booking in advance as it was busy at 8pm. The gammon steak I had was excellent, one of the best I have had in a long time and again the service was excellent. There's also a restaurant in the hotel so you have more than one choice and don't have to trek into the centre of Kendal which is a 5 minute bike ride or 15 minute walk away. They sell a lager called Lakeland in the pub which was very good and I recommend, but they don't have it in the hotel bar, just the usual suspects.

The breakfast was good with plenty to choose from. They could do with keeping an eye on the sauces though as some inconsiderate moron had thrown a load of yellow sauce (mustard?) in the brown sauce. I can understand they were busy and re-setting tables for new breakfast diners but you need to keep an eye on the food area. There was no sugar on the table for my coffee for some reason so had to ask.

I was going to give an Excellent overall rating but was woken at 7am by a staff member loading a van for a half hour and there was a bit of shouting from the staff area behind the hotel, I would have liked a bit of a lie-in before getting up for breakfast. Take some earplugs.

So a Very Good overall rating is well earned and I'd recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Take some earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gecko2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,015 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
5.5 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
502 reviews
20.7 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Property: Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing