We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Kendal”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The hotel is situated 10 minute drive to Kendall town centre so easy access to the surrounding area.
Also easy access from the M6.
The hotel rooms are quite small and the view from the window we had, is not what you would expect in Kendal with the drive to the rear of the kitchens.
The rooms are well maintained and to agod standard.
The facilities are good with bar and dining areas a pub is located near the car park where you can relax and enjoy the surrounding views.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for your review. It is always disappointing to receive a score of 3/5 when we normally get so many ‘Very Good’ and ‘Excellent’ reviews!

I was however pleased to note that you found your room to be a good standard, well maintained and the facilities what you were looking for.

A large number of our bedrooms do have views over the gardens with some overlooking the castle in the distance. Please mention any preference to the reception team when booking accommodation with us and they will do their best to oblige.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    491
    137
    45
    15
See reviews for
289
930
36
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This is a very large hotel. Reception was very kind and accommodating when we arrived. I think we were placed in the furthest 3rd floor room possible in the hotel. There are no elevators. Despite the stairs and long walk, the room was very quiet and backed up to the garden allowing us to open the windows at night. Rooms were clean and cleaning staff very friendly. Parking was at a premium. Large buffet breakfast available in the morning – if one’s willing to pay 13GB per person. Nice restaurant in the hotel and another a few feet walking distance. We had a pleasant 3 night stay while touring the area..

Room Tip: When booking, if you don't want to climb a load of stairs, ask for ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinterfellHighlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive review of the Castle Green.

I would like to apologise regarding the poor start to your experience. We are only human and do make mistakes, although I would expect any member of the team to at the very least apologise when this does happen! I was delighted to note that things improved from there and that you had an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you get out your little black book!!

Ben Mayou

Ps. We do have triple rooms with more substantial beds and also family rooms which are more spacious with standard three foot single beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Got off to a bad start here when they did not reply to my initial email requesting an early check in; then failed to apologise for not replying. It was all up hill from there though ( although the triple room was disappointingly a double room with a camp bed thrown in ). The hotel is quite extensive and very well run. If you want formality the hotel can offer that, if you want informality it has a pub attached to it which can easily cater for that. The grounds around the hotel are very nice with lots of outside seating to enjoy food or drinks al fresco. The quality of service was noticabely as high in the pub as the hotel. The barmaid in the afternoon was very friendly and the staff who served our food in the evening were excellent. The food itself was very nice and priced ok for being within the grounds of a hotel. The hotel has a large and cooling reception area with seating and drinks available. It offers many facilities such as a pool although we did not take the plunge! A lot of parking is available but on a few different levels so try to get parked as close to reception as you can to save hauling your cases up too much of an incline. Despite enjoying the whole atmosphere of the castle green the icing on the cake was the breakfast experience. Again it was organised and run like clockwork but also with a cheery smile. Everything you could want was on offer and of good quality. A word of warning would be that they offer a wide variety of breads. Some you need to slice yourself. Unfortunately with the great british public we saw six people holding on to loafs, while cutting them, with their bare hands rather than use a napkin so passed on having any ourselves. This however was surpassed by watching a woman pick pumpkin seeds off what looked like a bagel and eat the seeds but leave the bagel for someone else to eat !!!!! A smashing place overall and one for the little black book of places to stay at again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Having just returned from a 3 night break at the hotel, I can only compliment the management and staff for a very well run hotel. All the staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely recommend this lovely hotel. We also used the pool and spa which again was very well run. A very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Next time I would choose a garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magsandsherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed here in October 2012 to celebrate an anniversary. We stayed on the Spice up your Sunday special. This cost £112 and we received Bed, breakfast and evening meal and full use of the facilities. The hotel is set in very nice grounds but as it was raining on arrival we didn't investigate. Check in was hassle free and we made full use of the gym/pool facilities.Bedroom was standard but had quite a nice view of the grounds. We chose to eat in the Alexanders pub restaurant instead of the Hotel Restaurant as we preferred this menu. The standard of food and service was 5* - it was excellent and we had a very enjoyable evening. The next day, once we had enough room we ventured down to breakfast in the main restaurant which overlooks the grounds and had a most enjoyable start to the day! We checked out and parked the car nearer the town centre and explored Kendal. We have booked to stay again this year with a group of friends and hope it lives up to the fabulous experience we had last year - well recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shieldzy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Finding the drive back from Scotland a long way decided to stop at the Castle Green overnight.
Booking in was from 15.00 but we arrived around 13.30 and the reception was more than helpful in checking us in and booking our evening meal straight away.
The swimming pool was most welcoming and not over busy. Restaurant served a brilliant meal with a good choice of selections. All in all very enjoyable stop over.

Room Tip: Avoid room 158 and others close if you struggle with long corridors and flights of stairs. No lift a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert_HRuncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed here for a 5 night break and the whole experience from arrival to departure was excellent! The service was first class and the breakfast, was the best we have ever had, Leona is wonderful and so so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. We ate in the Greenhouse restaurant every night and the standard of food was pure perfection!! The room was of a very high standard and the advantage of the swimming pool on a hot day was perfect.

We can not rate this hotel highly enough!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piglet26_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
1,003 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 14 in Kendal
486 reviews
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
24.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Property: Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing