We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Party Venue!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We picked the Castle Green to host my Leaving/Birthday Party because of their great reputation, and also the really beautiful location of the hotel itself. When I was looking into party venues I received a reply to my enquiry within half an hour, and also received a phone call on the same day about visiting the location as well as information about catering/DJ options. After visiting the hotel and looking around The Kendal Suite, I knew it was the perfect location for our event. There were loads of food menus and options to choose from that suit even the fussiest eater! After that it was all plain sailing and the Hotel organised everything for us, except the decor which they were more than happy to give us free reign of!
The Kendal Suite itself is perfect for a party for family and friends, there's a private entrance foyer, bar, dance floor and loads of room for tables and anything else you might need! Not to mention the terrace outside! It is huge and perfect to watch an amazing sunset on a nice evening.
Our evening went without a hitch and the food was really beautiful - not your basic party food that's for sure! All the staff were absolutely amazing throughout the evening, serving food, bar tending - they were all so friendly. I highly recommend their resident DJ, he was a good laugh and will play any requests. I had an amazing time and the best send off I can hope for. Parties like these can be expensive but it was worth every penny! Thank you to the whole Castle Green team.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennysl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thanks for the fantastic comments and we're happy you all had a great time. We love a party at Castle Green whatever the occasion and I'm so glad that came across from the team.

Good luck for the future from all the team.

Regards
Liz Duncan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,309 - 1,315 of 1,906 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Lovely hotel very nice room excelllent gym facilities. The Staff are all very friendly and the lady in charge of breakfast who I think was called Leona , was extremely welcoming. All in all I would stay again. Restaurant very pricey but the Pub next door was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkKidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Many thanks for your positive review

By having our own Pub in the grounds of the hotel we aim to provide a dining experience for everybody needs. Our Greenhouse Restaurant daily changing menu is priced at £28 for three courses (last nights menu is below). We have this year again retained our 2AA Rosettes award for the standard and quality of cooking.

DINNER MENU - Sunday 11th August

Starter

Carrot soup, lemon yoghurt
Dressed crab, peaches, heritage tomatoes and oyster leaf
Kidderton ash goats cheese, avocado, figs and gingerbread
Sous vide salmon, cucumber, pea puree, confit new potatoes

Main Course

Grilled rib eye steak, fat chips, onion rings, mushroom, tomato,
green beans and peppercorn sauce
Loin and confit leg of wild rabbit, pancetta, lobster, baby leeks and parsnip puree
Wild Solway sea bass, Jerusalem artichokes, braised white cabbage,
sweet potato and butter sauce
Semolina gnocchi, baby beetroots, red chard and butternut squash

Dessert

Lemon and blueberry sponge, elderflower champagne sorbet, wood sorrel
Passion fruit mousse, cherry apple, passion fruit and pineapple sorbet
Scottish strawberries and raspberries, clotted cream and crumble
English cheeses, grapes, celery, biscuits, Williamson’s green tomato chutney

£28.00 for 3 courses
£22.50 for 2 courses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed for a night on visiting the Lake District. Located around 10 minutes from Kendal and 25 mins from Windermere. A standard Best Western hotel... nothing special really. Staff are nice and friendly, however, rooms are a bit on the small side. Plenty of car park spaces available, but the down side is that most parking spaces are down the hill from the reception. Could be a struggle for those with lots of luggage (tip: unload luggages at reception, check in, then park car down hill)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasperlai8429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Many thanks for your review.

We are very proud to currently be ranked 11th out of 280 Best Western hotels in the UK. This ranking is based upon the reviews of guests who have actually stayed with us so is a really good reflection of how we compare with the other hotels in the brand.

We are set on a hillside in grounds of 12 acres which unfortunately means that our car parking is split over three levels with the spaces nearest to reception being highly sort after. On the plus side this does mean we have some fantastic views over Kendal Castle and the Lakeland fells in the distance.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Booked this break a few months ago for our 49th wedding anniversary,but only 3 weeks ago my wife had knee surgery but we decided to go ahead with our planned break,From the moment we arrived the hotel staff couldn't have done enough for us from reception/room cleaning/dining room/bar staff what a fantastic set up.Anyone wanting a relaxing break this is the place.We get about quite a bit in the golfing world at home and abroad but this takes some beating.Well done Tim (G.M.) you have a great staff set up.7/08/2013--9/08/2013

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking the gardens with a walk in shower which helped our medical needs and found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Castle Green with others online. We are always delighted to be able to contribute to such a special occasion, many congratulations from all the team here at the hotel.

I hope that your wife is back on the golf course very soon and that you will consider celebrating your 50th anniversary with us next year!

Best Regards

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The rooms are quiet and clean.The staff are very friendly.Breakfast was good and the lady in charge really nice and efficient.A perfect stay to explore the lake district.A pity the hotel isn't nearer to Kendal!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hansimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had a 2 night stay. What a super hotel in lovely grounds. The staff were fantastic and are a credit to the hotel. We also ate in the pub in the grounds which was also great. Super breakfast and a lovely lady in charge of the breakfast operation. Our only moan is that it' s not really in Kendal but the walk kept us fit!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We got married here on the 21st June 2013 and from the moment we checked in untill we checked out we couldnt of asked for more. All of the staff where genuinely friendly and went out of their way to do anything they could for you. If you are looking to get married or just want a night away I wouldn't hesitate in recomending this hotel I can't fault anything and all of our guests stated the same. The food in both the restaurant and Alexander s bar was out of this world and the attention to detail they put in setting up the function room for the wedding was above and beyond. And the bedrooms where spotless modern and comfatable. On the morning of the wedding I'd broken one of my nails and needed my eyelashes sorting so I popped down to the spa and even though they where booked up the girls went out of there way to fit me in and get me sorted. I don't want to pick anyone particular out as all the staff worked very hard but I would like to say that Amanda who I made the booking with and christine the banqueting manager got everything spot on and really made our dream day come true. A very big thank you to you all, I can't wait to come and stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be done to a very high standard. The honeymoon sweet was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scrummieman1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

I was delighted to hear that your special day was such a success!

Both Christine and Amanda have years of experience (I wont tell you how many!!) between then looking after and arranging weddings. Best wishes to you both for the future from all the Castle Green team.

Ben Mayou

Ps. We still have dates available for winter weddings and for some weekends in 2014 so if you are thinking of getting married then contact our Sales team who will take care of your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,136 reviews
8.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
565 reviews
5.2 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: £88 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing