We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hassle free stay at a nice hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Aveley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Hassle free stay at a nice hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here only for a night. I had been driving all day so a nice comfortable bed was what I was looking forward to, and what I got.

I accidentally drove into the rear entrance of the hotel and had to stop someone to ask where the reception was, I think that could have been sign posted a little better.

Experienced the swimming pool and sauna free of charge. There were no problems just walking down to the Pulse Gym and being allowed to use all of their facilities. A great addition to the hotel.

Dinner was lovely and worth the price. Breakfast was ok too, but I had to hint down the waitress and ask for me meal as I was left sitting alone for some time.

I've been to Kendal a few times now and this was by far the best hotel there. Do yourself a favour and pay the extra to stay at this hotel. You will not regret it compared to the rest.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank OscarShakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your positive recommendation. We don’t claim to be the cheapest hotel in Kendal but we do work hard to offer value for money.

The leisure facilities are available to all hotel residents free of charge. We also have the Green Rooms Spa which offer fantastic treatments if you are looking to be pampered. They fill up fast so get yourself booked in advance.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,033
    467
    130
    43
    14
See reviews for
279
899
35
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel overnight on October 31 as part of a mini tour of the Lake District. We couldn't have made a better choice. This hotel is absolutely spotless and the staff are all lovely and friendly. The facilities are brilliant with a pool, weights room and well equipped gym, much better than you would expect from an hotel this size, you can even buy a swimsuit if you don't have one with you and some sports wear is available to purchase. There are three places to eat within the hotel and grounds, a speciality fine dining restaurant, an area round the bar for casual dining and a little pub in the grounds which is very quaint and inviting. The food is wonderful and well served by staff. This hotel is very convenient for visiting the lakes. Just one thing to mention, be sure to let them know if you need a room with a bath as some of the rooms just have showers. The bathrooms are so clean that you would think they were brand new.. We were very very impressed and will use this hotel again when we return to this area,,

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarianneMou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Many thanks for your review.

The reception are happy to discuss specific rooms requirements which is why we always recommend booking directly with us here at the hotel by calling 01539 734000. Alternatively reservation enquiries can be made via our hotel website which is now fully mobile and tablet friendly.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was the second time we have stayed at the hotel and it is very friendly in general.
The food is excellent. The spa is excellent.
Only thing that spoiled our stay was unfriendly check out, and unfortunately as it is the last thing you do it does stay in your memory.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelt34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your second stay with us.

Please accept our apologies regarding your check out experience, this is certainly not the norm here at Castle Green. We take all feedback very seriously and as such I would be interested to hear a little more detail regarding this if you could contact me at the hotel on 01539 734000.

Many thanks

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I do love a good hotel breakfast! The Castle Green doesn't let you down. We stayed in a family room at this hotel - it was brilliant, almost as big as our house with fantastic views across the lawns. The staff are really friendly and very helpful and the biscuits in the room are excellent!
My little girl was very impressed with the free Ribena and the Freddo frog we received on arrival!
Really comfy beds, great room temperature - none of that stupidly hot can't breath / sleep heating
Fantastic fish & chips in the bar.
Very family friendly

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fleuryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
It is usually true that if the kids have a good time then so do the parents. I can confidently say this having two of my own!!

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
5.5 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Property: Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing