We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have just had Friday to Monday break at The Castle Green Hotel, what a great place. The meals are fantastic, the breakfast are great and the evening meals are excellent. All the staff are friendly and helpful, the room was clean and cosy.We cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Well worth a visit.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for your sharing your experience. Its great to read that you enjoyed your long weekend with us.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,829)
There are newer reviews for Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,145 - 1,151 of 1,829 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

Spent a weekend in this lovely hotel. Great view from the bedroom overlooking the Kendal in the valley below, lovely grounds (colours fantastic in autumn), good food in Alexanders, the pub attached, and a fabulous range of local real ales. Excellent buffet breakfast. All was very very good but the attitude and friendliness of the staff from the housekeepers to the management and everyone in between was first class. A but dearer than we'd normally pay - but loved it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Many many thanks for your feedback!!!

The views from the hotel change with the seasons, so get yourself to Castle Green to see what the winter months bring! The good news is that you can take advantage of our half price accommodation offer. Check out the hotel website for more details.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Booked a luxury night away, and we were not disappointed! Lovely bright cosy room with very comfy beds! Chilled bottle of prosecco and fudge waiting for us. Fabulous meal in the restaurant too!! Breakfast is not to be missed either! All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Treated ourselves to a spa treatment the next morning which was one of the best I'd had! I'd definitely stay again and would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillmhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Great to read that you enjoyed your luxury break with us. We treat bed comfort very seriously and as such we have this year replaced 34 standard double beds with king size as part of our ongoing improvements.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Me and my partner stopped here for two nights in November. We had a lovely stay, the staff were really helpful & friendly. The rooms were spotless, the food in both restaurants (one is in the hotel & the other is a little pub in the hotel grounds) were really good & got top marks from us.
We also used the spa facilities (which you pay extra for) this was nice & would recommend, the pool & gym are included in your hotel price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for your review

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in 2014

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here only for a night. I had been driving all day so a nice comfortable bed was what I was looking forward to, and what I got.

I accidentally drove into the rear entrance of the hotel and had to stop someone to ask where the reception was, I think that could have been sign posted a little better.

Experienced the swimming pool and sauna free of charge. There were no problems just walking down to the Pulse Gym and being allowed to use all of their facilities. A great addition to the hotel.

Dinner was lovely and worth the price. Breakfast was ok too, but I had to hint down the waitress and ask for me meal as I was left sitting alone for some time.

I've been to Kendal a few times now and this was by far the best hotel there. Do yourself a favour and pay the extra to stay at this hotel. You will not regret it compared to the rest.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for your positive recommendation. We don’t claim to be the cheapest hotel in Kendal but we do work hard to offer value for money.

The leisure facilities are available to all hotel residents free of charge. We also have the Green Rooms Spa which offer fantastic treatments if you are looking to be pampered. They fill up fast so get yourself booked in advance.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,055 reviews
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
7.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
442 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: £84 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing