We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Merseyside UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this best western hotel as part of our little trip around the lake district for our first anniversary.
When we arrived the reception were very pleasant and very quick. We got to our room and very clean and modern it was great!! :) We made a reservation at Alexanders pub/restaurant and it was one of the best meals I have ever had, it was delicious. Morning after we went to breakfast and was greeted by a cheerful lady and showed us to our table. Breakfast was very tasty. When we checked out we asked where to get mint cake and the receptionist went to get some for us which was very nice!! I am so happy we stayed here and most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StHelenslad91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
A fantastic review. Thank you for sharing your Castle Green experience.

We are ideally placed as a base to explore the Lakes without paying the premium of being in the tourist hotspots of Windermere, Ambleside and the like.

Make sure you book online via our hotel website to be guaranteed the best rates.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,082
    495
    140
    46
    16
See reviews for
293
944
36
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great place for family of 4.

Large family suite which was so comfortable that we stayed in and chilled a bit longer than I would of planned. Good walk into Kendal which is a lovely town.

Breakfast was excellent, we did try and book another night but it was already fully booked.

Not many family suites.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klj2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Many thanks for your review.

We have our half price winter promotion running during January and February so why not visit us again in the New Year!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here for a business trip. Many issues: my hire-car was damaged in the overcrowded car-park with no action and little concern from hotel staff. Charged me for 'complementary' newspapers that I didn't receive, herded like livestock by surly staff every morning to the most populous area of the dining room despite requesting a little privacy at breakfast. When seated, staff then located every new guest at adjacent tables despite size of dining room and being unable to 'guarantee' my privacy and despite the thirty other empty tables. Room not cleaned properly: mysterious biro in bed, biscuit packets left on floor, shower so small reminiscent of nightmares of being buried alive, adjacent room very noisy late into night (enquired of staff level of occupancy, informed hotel mostly empty then asked if I could move, only to be told there were no rooms available!). Food expensive in adjacent pub and not very good. Didn't eat in hotel dining room as aspiringly formal atmosphere not quite my cup of tea: waiting room/motorway service station ambience also not my cup of tea. Colleagues stayed in Dalesman pub in Sedburgh highly recommended.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
I have tried to contact this guest on a number of occasions to discuss their stay but to date have not received a reply. It is clear from this review that we failed to meet their expectations and I wish them well in finding somewhere more suited to their requirements.

Whilst we accept that we cannot please everybody all of the time we are very proud that 89% of our Trip Advisor reviews rate us as ‘Excellent or Very Good’ As a team we continue to work hard at improving how we operate for the benefit of our guests.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Lets start with the positives:
* Great location
* Spa staff are really friendly
* Room always clean

Breakfast: continental and hot food is also buffet. If you want anything cooked to order you can do so by ordering with waiter (if you can actually catch them)
Dinner: the pub attached is ok, food is nothing rave about - limited menu and quite pricey

The only staff that actually seemed interested or friendly were at the spa desk & housekeeping. They are polite and each time with a smile on their faces. Cant say much for the rest of the staff - absolutely miserable! Not what you want to see. Easier to get a crack in the glass then for them to crack a smile.
No hot water, guests walking up and down corridors making noise or at all hours of the morning, dont really want to mention what noise we were woken up to in the middle of the night or first thing each morning!
Spa - has a gym, steam room and a pool (pool can be really busy from 5pm onwards - best time to avoid)

Loads to do in Kendal and Windermere. But if you fancy a good walk - park up in ambleside and take the coastal path/foot path going to grasmere and go past rydal water - its a fantastic walk - about 5 hours walk.

If in windermere try Lazy Daisy's restaurant great meals at a reasonable price - service with a smile.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugarlover12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
I would like to apologise for the areas of your stay which did not meet your expectations.

There is a choice of thirteen main courses on the menu in Alexanders Pub plus four daily specials. Our Pulse Leisure Club is open from 7am – 10pm daily but can get very busy at peak times. Should you prefer to use these facilities at a quieter time the Leisure Club team are always on hand to advise when the most suitable time would be. We have identified an intermittent problem with hot water recently which I am pleased to report has now been resolved. Whist it is difficult for us to influence how considerate other guests are with regards to noise our nights team do actively patrol the corridors through the night and signage is also displayed as a deterrent.

It comes as a massive surprise to read that you found the staff ‘absolutely miserable’. We are very fortunate to have a team of very loyal, friendly, caring staff who offer a very warm welcome. This is confirmed by the vast majority of Trip Advisor reviews which specifically refer to the staff in a positive manner.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 30th November for a night as part of the Christmas party package.
We were greeted by a very friendly member of front of house and were checked in promptly.
Room; we were in room 140 - lovely spacious room with separate sitting room, tea/coffee facilities, bed was HUGE and bathroom was lovely too. As soon as we arrived and had unpacked, we went to use the pool facilities - my husband used the pool & I made use of the spa (I had a massage and facial). Can not fault any of the services, my treatments were great.
We were part of a 5-couple party and we went to the Christmas party in the function room. Food was beautiful considering it was a large party full of Christmas 'dos'. Entertainment was top notch (band called the mustard cutters).
The following morning we ventured down for breakfast - a good choice of hot & cold breakfasts.
Overall, the thing that made this hotel stand out from others we've been to is the friendliness of all the staff. One thing (and only a slightly minor point) is that drinks are on the expensive side but did not taint our stay.
We will be returning & I have recommended to friends & family.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EmJoPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you for your review. Our festive party nights are now in full swing.

We are running thirteen nights in our Function House this year for upto 250 guests with a choice of three live bands. If you are looking for a smaller more intimate party we have our Buffet and Bop parties in the Kendal Suite. Whichever you choose you will have a night to remember! We still have a handful of party places left for this year so if you are looking for a fantastic evening then contact our sales team on 01539 734000

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I got married here on 23 November, we had a fantastic day, it was very relaxed and ran smoothly thanks to Christine who organised everything throughout the day for us, making sure everything and everyone was where they were supposed to be. The team set up the room exactly as we had asked and did a fantastic Job of it too, the Kendal suite looked lovely and the view from the huge windows made it even better, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they helped out with everything. The waiters during the meal were very friendly and helpful, the food was fantastic, we had a lot of comments from guest on how good the food was and how nice all the staff were. The buffet in the evening was great and there was so much, people struggled to fit in our wedding cake.
The bridal suite was lovely, just the one we had asked for, and the housekeeping team had put all of our bags from the night before in there for us so we didn't have to worry about anything.
I stayed the night before in a family room, it was huge giving us plenty of space to get ready, we had a meal in the restaurant which was fantastic, the food and staff again were great and there was a lovely relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast in the morning was good too which lots of choice.
In the run up to our wedding we had regular meetings and emails which Nicola to make sure everyone knew exactly what we wanted and how we wanted the day to run, she helped to put our mind at rest on all kinds of little questions about how, when etc things would happen.
There were a few mix ups on room charges, breakfast etc at reception but these were are quickly resolved when pointed out to the team.
We are so pleased we chose castle green for our wedding, we couldn't of picked a better place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Many thanks for sharing your wedding experience. We are very proud that we can add that special touch to such an important day. Christine and Nicola have looked after many hundred (if not thousands) of Castle Green weddings so you are in very safe hands!

If this review has got you thinking about proposing over the festive period why not put 29th December in your diary for a visit to Castle Green…… we have our next wedding open afternoon from 1-3pm where you will be able to have look around our function rooms and meet some of the sales and banqueting team.

Alternatively for those popping the question on Valentines Day we have our Annual Wedding Fayre on Sunday 23rd February where you will also be able to meet our local suppliers such as florists, entertainers, dress makers and many more…..

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,013 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
5.5 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
501 reviews
20.7 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Property: Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing