We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Nice hotel in a pleasant location. The rooms very very clean and pleasant, if not particularly large. I was very comfortable, but was aware of movement in the corridor and adjacent rooms. Thankfully it became quiet overnight, and my sleep wasn't disturbed. Staff were extremely welcoming and accommodating. The ambience in the restaurant was pleasant, and the food lovely both in the evening and at breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

We do have rooms located further away from the main public areas which can be quieter. The reception team will always do their best to accommodate requests of this nature. We hope to welcome you again in 2014

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,829)
There are newer reviews for Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,130 - 1,136 of 1,829 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

Four couples stayed two nights 6 and 7 december. We had dinner bed and breakfast one night and second night we went to Christmas party night. Accommodation, food, party, staff attitude, views, position to the town all great. I can highly recommend the hotel. Others have made comments regarding cost of alcohol, but although not cheap, it is on a par with other 4 star hotels. No complaints whatsoever.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank shehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you for your comments which marks another milestone for us on Trip Advisor with this being our 400th ‘Excellent’ review!!!!

We have been extremely busy during December with 4,000 guests through the doors of our Function rooms. I’m pleased to report that the feedback has been fantastic with many already having booked their table for Christmas 2014!

If you are interested in having a fantastic party with us next year why not contact the Sales team here at the hotel. They will put your name on the list to be sent a festive brochure once they are printed.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this best western hotel as part of our little trip around the lake district for our first anniversary.
When we arrived the reception were very pleasant and very quick. We got to our room and very clean and modern it was great!! :) We made a reservation at Alexanders pub/restaurant and it was one of the best meals I have ever had, it was delicious. Morning after we went to breakfast and was greeted by a cheerful lady and showed us to our table. Breakfast was very tasty. When we checked out we asked where to get mint cake and the receptionist went to get some for us which was very nice!! I am so happy we stayed here and most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StHelenslad91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

A fantastic review. Thank you for sharing your Castle Green experience.

We are ideally placed as a base to explore the Lakes without paying the premium of being in the tourist hotspots of Windermere, Ambleside and the like.

Make sure you book online via our hotel website to be guaranteed the best rates.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great place for family of 4.

Large family suite which was so comfortable that we stayed in and chilled a bit longer than I would of planned. Good walk into Kendal which is a lovely town.

Breakfast was excellent, we did try and book another night but it was already fully booked.

Not many family suites.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klj2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Many thanks for your review.

We have our half price winter promotion running during January and February so why not visit us again in the New Year!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here for a business trip. Many issues: my hire-car was damaged in the overcrowded car-park with no action and little concern from hotel staff. Charged me for 'complementary' newspapers that I didn't receive, herded like livestock by surly staff every morning to the most populous area of the dining room despite requesting a little privacy at breakfast. When seated, staff then located every new guest at adjacent tables despite size of dining room and being unable to 'guarantee' my privacy and despite the thirty other empty tables. Room not cleaned properly: mysterious biro in bed, biscuit packets left on floor, shower so small reminiscent of nightmares of being buried alive, adjacent room very noisy late into night (enquired of staff level of occupancy, informed hotel mostly empty then asked if I could move, only to be told there were no rooms available!). Food expensive in adjacent pub and not very good. Didn't eat in hotel dining room as aspiringly formal atmosphere not quite my cup of tea: waiting room/motorway service station ambience also not my cup of tea. Colleagues stayed in Dalesman pub in Sedburgh highly recommended.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

I have tried to contact this guest on a number of occasions to discuss their stay but to date have not received a reply. It is clear from this review that we failed to meet their expectations and I wish them well in finding somewhere more suited to their requirements.

Whilst we accept that we cannot please everybody all of the time we are very proud that 89% of our Trip Advisor reviews rate us as ‘Excellent or Very Good’ As a team we continue to work hard at improving how we operate for the benefit of our guests.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Lets start with the positives:
* Great location
* Spa staff are really friendly
* Room always clean

Breakfast: continental and hot food is also buffet. If you want anything cooked to order you can do so by ordering with waiter (if you can actually catch them)
Dinner: the pub attached is ok, food is nothing rave about - limited menu and quite pricey

The only staff that actually seemed interested or friendly were at the spa desk & housekeeping. They are polite and each time with a smile on their faces. Cant say much for the rest of the staff - absolutely miserable! Not what you want to see. Easier to get a crack in the glass then for them to crack a smile.
No hot water, guests walking up and down corridors making noise or at all hours of the morning, dont really want to mention what noise we were woken up to in the middle of the night or first thing each morning!
Spa - has a gym, steam room and a pool (pool can be really busy from 5pm onwards - best time to avoid)

Loads to do in Kendal and Windermere. But if you fancy a good walk - park up in ambleside and take the coastal path/foot path going to grasmere and go past rydal water - its a fantastic walk - about 5 hours walk.

If in windermere try Lazy Daisy's restaurant great meals at a reasonable price - service with a smile.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sugarlover12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

I would like to apologise for the areas of your stay which did not meet your expectations.

There is a choice of thirteen main courses on the menu in Alexanders Pub plus four daily specials. Our Pulse Leisure Club is open from 7am – 10pm daily but can get very busy at peak times. Should you prefer to use these facilities at a quieter time the Leisure Club team are always on hand to advise when the most suitable time would be. We have identified an intermittent problem with hot water recently which I am pleased to report has now been resolved. Whist it is difficult for us to influence how considerate other guests are with regards to noise our nights team do actively patrol the corridors through the night and signage is also displayed as a deterrent.

It comes as a massive surprise to read that you found the staff ‘absolutely miserable’. We are very fortunate to have a team of very loyal, friendly, caring staff who offer a very warm welcome. This is confirmed by the vast majority of Trip Advisor reviews which specifically refer to the staff in a positive manner.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Hay179
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,054 reviews
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
7.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
441 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: £84 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing