We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not four star standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here on a stopover driving south between Christmas and New Year. Room smelt of damp. Waited 15 minutes for a table for breakfast in the morning. Breakfast was ok but very much like eating in a school canteen. Best thing about this hotel was the comfy bed. Disappointed based on the previous reviews I had read which resulted in me booking this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mjf011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay at Castle Green. Please accept my apologies that you had to wait for a table at breakfast. Although this is not a regular occurrence we do highlight the popular breakfast times within the literature in the bedrooms.

I was pleased to note that you found the beds to be comfortable. We have this year replaced 34 king size beds as part of our ongoing investment in improving the guest experience.

Please contact me directly at the hotel should you wish to discuss your feedback or if you decide to give us another chance in the future.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,829)
There are newer reviews for Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,117 - 1,123 of 1,829 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

Superb hotel....excellent staff full of genuine goodwill, nothing is too much trouble and everything done with a honest sincere smile.......cuisine is out of this world with extensive variety.....cleanliness is top notch and the rooms well appointed.....free wifi throughout the hotel ......large car parks .......onsite but separate pub also serving food .....lovely grounds ......4 star excellence......Best Western all the way for us in future .....Ray & Anita (very regular UK & Europe travellers)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukbigbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. Our number one priority when taking on new recruits is that they have the right personality which shows through in the service delivery.

We hope to see you again during 2014


Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a few days over Christmas and have had a brilliant time. It's a lovely hotel, staff are brilliant, nothing too much trouble. We stayed in a triple room with our 4 year old and she was made to feel very at home and really special.

The hotel is a credit to the Best Western group and we would not hesitate to recommend or to return again! Thank you!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

It was lovely to read that we made your Christmas break memorable. I know from my own experience that travelling anywhere with young children can be challenging so it is great that you had such a fantastic stay!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Lovely relaxing break - fantastic reception by the friendly attentive staff - Christmas was made very special for us and the food was out of this world. Rooms were lovely. Would stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Many thanks for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

This is one of the nicest hotels we have ever had the privalage of staying in.the quality and staff have made us more than welcome as the soul aim of all the staff cannot be faulted.the whole hotel is always very clean and food brilliant.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank gussutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

We are very proud to be the No. 1 hotel in Kendal on Trip Advisor and are also currently ranked 10th out of the 280 Best Western Hotels in the UK.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed for two nights on Christmas package,we have stayed at numerous hotels throughout the world,Europe and se Asia in particular,this is one of ,if not the best!!.
From the moment of checking in to departure we were treated in a respectful,friendly and courteous manner,nothing was too much trouble for any member of staff,from the housekeepers to receptionist ,waiters and the helpful man who helped us with our bags!
The room was clean and well equipped,lovely bathroom with plenty of hot water,although it was at the rear of the hotel it still had a country outlook and was very quiet.All the public areas throughout the hotel were spotless and tidy.
The health club had one of the most relaxing steam rooms I have ever been in,with its own twinkling stars!!
Food,both at breakfast and our Christmas lunch was fantastic and served efficiently,even though the dining area was full and extremely busy,the breakfast dinning supervisor was polite and attentive,in fact we could not fault any of the dinning room or bar staff.
We arrived after 7pm on Christmas Eve due to working commitments and the terrible weather! Having driven through a violent lighting storm on m6,we arrived slightly weary,check in was swift and the lovely receptionist arranged for help with our bags etc,just what we needed.
We enjoyed a lovely two course meal in Alexander's pub,we're again the staff were really friendly.
At Christmas lunch we were lucky to have a window table with a glorious view over Kendal and the fells,whilst we enjoyed a 5 course meal which was excellent value for money.

This hotel is a credit to the manager and all his staff,best western hotels should be honoured to have such a wonderful hotel under their umbrella!!
Well done!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the new annexe,slightly further away from reception are lovely and peaceful,and also large...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gertiegrotbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

We certainly strive for perfection here at Castle Green so it is great to read that we achieved it over the busy Christmas period!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Recently awarded four stars, the Castle Green occupies an elevated position with stunning views to the front. It is modern and well appointed and the public spaces are bright and comfortable. The food in the award winning restaurant is imaginative and there is a firm emphasis on good, locally sourced ingredients. The menus are good value and there is plenty of choice. Those looking for less former dining can opt to eat in the pub next door.

The hotel has good fitness and leisure facilities and a large function suite.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Howi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Many thanks for your review

The team continue to work very hard at improving things here at Castle Green and as such we are very proud to have achieved our 4th star in April.

Our 2 Rosette Greenhouse Restaurant offers a daily changing three course menu for £28 in addition to a five course Cumbrian Tasting Menu with accompanying wines for £45.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,054 reviews
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
7.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
442 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: £84 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing