We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

A&A
All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Very good facilities set in a beautiful environment.
The breakfast choices and service were particularly
We look forward to another visit, it would be nice to have a room with a view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view or like us you may be facing a back service road
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22Alan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

We do have many rooms with views across the garden towards Kendal Castle with the Lakeland fells in the distance. Our recently refurbished Balcony rooms are probably the best way to take advantage of this outlook with a private outside seating area. They also have the following extras included the room; fluffy dressing gown and slippers, mineral water and luxury tea, coffee and toiletries. Our Balcony rooms can be booked for an upgrade of just £30 per night from our standard room prices. Please contact the Reception team here at the hotel to find out more!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,828)
There are newer reviews for Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,088 - 1,094 of 1,828 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

We have stayed many times at Castle Green and it never lets us down! The staff are first class from reception to housekeeping, everyone is friendly and can't do enough! They really are a credit to the management team. Our room was superb- huge and incredibly comfortable. We ate at the Greenhouse Restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed the 5 course tasting menu and wine ( a fine addition to the menu). I would highly recommend this wonderful hotel to everyone (we've taken our 11 year old here many times and he loves it) thanks for a lovely break!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlbwalney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments. It is extremely pleasing to read that you have again enjoyed your time with us. Our five course tasting menu with a different glass of wine to accompany each course is highly recommended and makes for a really special evening. At only £45 per person is also fantastic value for money! All the menus for the Greenhouse Restaurant and Alexander’s Pub (located in the hotel grounds) can be found on the hotel website.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Spent four nights here - wish it could have been longer.

The hotel looks good and feels good - great staff on reception (and everywhere) and friendly service. This hotel is clean, comfortable and a place where you can truly relax (even if on business!).
The facilities are good and the food in the restaurant is highly recommended. If you don't want restaurant food, the pub on site is welcoming with good pub meals.
What's not to like?

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

We have a healthy mix here at Castle Green. Through the week we have a loyal following of business travellers and at weekends the hotel is always full with leisure guests looking for a short break on the edge of the Lake District. If you not visited Cumbria before Kendal is a perfect base from which to explore! Best rates are guaranteed when booking via the hotel website or by calling 01539 734000.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had our first visit to Castle Green last weekend. It was great all round. The food was lovely in the lounge bar and Alexanders pub. Breakfast was brilliant with everything you could wish for. All despite being very busy valentine's weekend. Great views of course too.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catherine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Its always great to read that we delivered on such an important occasion! There was plenty of love in the air at the hotel over the Valentines weekend!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Three generations,8 adults and 4 children,arrived on the Friday afternoon and left on the Sunday after breakfast.Check in was flawless,the staff throughout could not have been more attentive,we had two family rooms,a balcony room and an executive room.All very clean and well maintained. The executive room was particularly impressive both in size and comfort. The first night we ate in their pub in the grounds, great food and drink but no Guinness.
Breakfasts very good.After, the Spa was used by three for very professional treatments whilst the majority swam.Hotel managed the difficult challenge of young children and 'regulars' well.
Saturday dinner was in the restaurant, the majority had the tasting menu with matching 5 wines;the rest went al la carte,The Chef has to be complemented on a superb meal and catering for a packed room.
Check-out and send off again flawless.
We have been fortunate to stay in many hotels,this one is up there with the very best.

Room Tip: Executive room 139
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pannones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very proud of the whole package we deliver here at the hotel. It is testament to the hard work from all members of the team that we continue to receive such positive comments regarding service and standards.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Have stayed numerous times over the last three years.

Bedrooms are to a high standard all with wall mounted TV's.

Tea and Coffee making facilities in the room.

Full room service menu available although there is a £5 charge for this

Bathrooms are lovely. My room had a shower.

Good hotel for either business or tourists.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Woody1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed in Castle Green Hotel few times and we enjoyed it very much. Every time I stay in this hotel I really look forward for a dinner in the restaurant! The food there is absolutely divene! I like the size of portions as they are not too big and the food looks very nice in the plate as well. The restaurant service is excellent - very quick and pleasant.
I also like swimming pool and a steam room.
Alexanders Pub has a nice atmosphiere and the staff are very friendly.
Looking forward for my next stay:)

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor, next to reception are quite noisy.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndRut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Many thanks for your review. We are lucky to have such talented team of chefs who produce such quality dishes. We don’t like them to get too big headed so we try not to tell them if we can help it ;-)

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,053 reviews
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
7.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
435 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: £84 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing