We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Found everything about my stay to be good. Nice room, good bed. Food in the pub was good, as was breakfast. Nice swimming pool. Gym can get a bit busy, so you need to time that right.

Lovely location and grounds.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Many thanks for posting our 450th excellent Trip Advisor review!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,048
    475
    131
    43
    15
See reviews for
286
908
35
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting.Every member of staff we met were very welcoming & helpful.Enjoyed a lovely breakfast with great views.We also made good use of & enjoyed the leisure facilities & Green Rooms.Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your very kind words regarding the Castle Green team and the excellent service they deliver. We have fantastic leisure facilities here at the hotel which are included complimentary for guest staying with us. So remember to bring your costume!!!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights last weekend. Booked as a surprise birthday treat by my partner.
Staff are brilliant very professional and friendly. Hotel is immaculately clean and tidy but its pretty average and small for the price of the rooms but have everything you need for a short stay.
Breakfast was nice but overpriced - Leona (I think thats right) who greets you for breakfast is lovely!
We had booked a table for the "restaurant" (if you can call it that) for a meal for the sat night but there was very little on the menu and even less for me as a vegatarian so we changed our booking to the hotels pub which had a lot more selection including a 120z T bone steak! Food and service there were faultless would highly recommend it!
We had a few issues with our room the toilet seat was hanging off the flusher for the toilet didnt work properly and the shower would decide to freeze you every few mins. We did speak to reception who sent maintenance to our room to sort it once we went out but all the did was replace the toilet seat. The other problems werent fixed but as we were checking out in the morning we never took this back up.
Overall it was an average stay and a bit disappointing really to what we were expecting after reading and seeing previous reviews and pictures.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us.

It is always disappointing to receive an ‘average’ review as we aim to exceed expectations at every opportunity. On the whole we do achieve this the vast majority of time which can be seen by many other reviews with 89% of reviews scoring us as ‘Excellent or Very Good’

I would therefore like to apologise for that we were unable to resolve all of the maintenance problems you reported and it is clear that we could have been much more front footed with communicating this to you. As such we have taken immediate steps to address this with the Reception team.

I was pleased to note that you found the hotel team to be ‘professional and friendly’ and that you enjoyed your meal in Alexander’s Pub. Should you be willing to give us another chance in the future please contact me directly at the hotel and I will personally take care of your requirements.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

very clean tidy food dear in hotel staff great at reception the down part is the have weddings at the hotel which can be noisy on a night if you over look the main door at reception car parking is great the kids meals are not up to much as kids are kids and there is not much choice the chef must not have kids

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank paulabbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Please accept our apologies for any disturbance caused by wedding guests. It is very unusual to receive feedback of this nature as we do aim to allocate these rooms to guests attending functions. We regularly review the content of all our menus in the hotel and as such I will ensure that your comments are discussed at our next food and beverage meeting. The restaurant and kitchen teams are always very happy to accommodate requests for dishes even if they are not listed on our menus.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, very helpful reception staff on our arrival,
Our room was just off the main reception, the room was fairly small but immaculately clean,with everything you would need for a short stay.the shower was one of the most powerful ones we have ever had(fantastic) We had a drink in the lounge bar, and found the bar staff were very professional . We went for a walk into Kendal which took about 20 mins all downhill, decided to get a taxi back because it's a big hike back! We had dinner in the pub which was just ok,
We didn't bother with the breakfast as we thought it was a bit overpriced,
For a short stay we would say its perfect tho..many thanks

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
I always recommend getting a taxi back from town for the reasons you mention!!

Breakfast is priced at £10.50 per person when booked with accommodation. If a room only reservation is made and breakfast is taken on the day this increases to £12.95. The Reception team do also proactively offer the discounted rate at check in. Breakfast includes a continental buffet of fruits, cereal, pastries, yoghurts, speciality breads, homemade preserves. Our hot buffet includes all the usual things and there is also smoked haddock, kippers and porridge which can be ordered from the kitchen. Plus a choice of tea, coffee and toast. What better way to start the day?!

We hope to see you again soon

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Nice location, very friendly and welcoming staff. Nice and large room. The short one night sleep has been spoilt by the fairly noisy doors and people running around. Overall nice for a short stay. Still don't get why a 4stars hotel doesn't have the mini fridge inside.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your review

I have noted your comment regarding the lack of mini fridges in our rooms. It is always a challenge to decide what the priorities are in regards to our 99 bedrooms. We have in recent years fully refurbished every single bathroom, replaced 40 King size beds and introduced mattress toppers throughout. This is in addition to the usual proactive decoration and maintenance. I will however add fridges to the agenda for our next refurbishment meeting for further discussion with the team.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
5.5 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Property: Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing