We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come and stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Just returned from 2 nights in this hotel and would definately recommend a stay here.
We had an excellent room at the front of the hotel, and the facilities within the room were good, right down to the cafetiere on the very well stocked tea tray, which was a great touch. The bathroom was big, having plenty hot water and large fluffy towels; toiletries by Gilchrist & Soames. The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. The room was spotlessly clean.

There were two options for breakfast, either continental or choose continental and full english. The continenal was enough for us, but the full english looked fine.
We had dinner in the restaurant one night which was very nice, we ate from the Table d'hote menu having 2 courses for £22.50. (3 courses were £28.50). The restaurant was very busy and it was helpful that we booked. The waiting staff were all excellent, and Thank You to Rob as nothing was too much trouble for him!
We also had a meal in Alexanders which if I was to be truthful I enjoyed best as it was more pub grub. It was also very reasonably priced. The pub was also very busy.

We did try out the pool and steam room. the pool is quite small but it is nice that there are specific times that children are allowed in so you can avoid being "bombed" if necessary! the steam room is very relaxing with stars on the ceiling and relaxation music playing.

All in all we enjoyed our stay here. I was with my sister but would definately like to return at some point with my husband.

Room Tip: front facing rooms have great views, even in the pouring rain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eligCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Many thanks for completing such a comprehensive review.

If you are looking for a reason to bring your husband back to the hotel (outside of the usual anniversary or birthday present) what about our fantastic New Years Eve package for 2014? Further details can be found on our website, a fantastic party is guaranteed!!!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,875)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,099 - 1,105 of 1,875 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have stayed four times at the hotel and each time have found a friendly welcome, comfortable rooms, excellent food and good facilities. The staff work well together and their friendliness is not forced or overpowering. They will go out of their way to be helpful. It is good to see staff who we have met during our previous stays. Having a pool available after a day's walking is great. Dinners are beautifully cooked and presented. You can see the chef at work. They cope with gluten-free requirements without a fuss. The gardens are lovely and it is great to watch the birds while eating breakfast. Apparently the hotel is number 10 in the Best Western group. The other hotels in the top 10 must be fabulous, because we think Castle Green is really excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

We are very proud to currently hold the 10th spot in the league table of 280 Best Western hotels in the UK!

We have a very loyal team here at the hotel with 50 of the 120 people we employ being members of our ‘Five Year Club’ They have collectively notched up 479 years service to Castle Green. This is a remarkable achievement when you consider the hotel has only been trading for 17 years!!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My partner and I stayed in the hotel last weekend and were both very pleased with the hotel.

Staff were all very welcoming upon arrival and the quality of our room was very good. Very modern feel, with comfy bed and a nice view outside. We used the pool and steam room which we were very pleased with and staff there were also pleasant to talk to.

Overall very pleased and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for your very positive review.

I was pleased to note that you found the beds to be comfy! We treat this area very seriously and have recently replaced 34 King size beds and mattresses, added mattress ‘toppers’ in every room and also introduced Egyptian cotton bedding throughout as part of our ongoing efforts to give our guests a good nights sleep!

If you are considering trying out our very comfortable beds for yourself then contact the hotel directly to be guaranteed the best available rates.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Just stayed at castlegreen hotel, is very nice and rooms are very clean and well refurbished,also the Alexander bar was great,great food at good price,staff were all very nice,will be back here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jill196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

We are very lucky to have owners who continue to invest in the hotel and as such we have a proactive approach to maintenance and refurbishment. Alexanders Pub in the hotel grounds is very popular and as such we recommend making table reservations in advance to avoid disappointment!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We've just returned from the Castle Green and have to say that the Hotel staff have excelled in every area, making our wedding as special as we could have hoped for. The wedding coordinators (Nicola and Janine) helped us plan our day, Chris made sure the day ran smoothly as did the staff at Alexander's Restaurant where we held our wedding breakfast. Charlene and Les ensured that our every wish was catered for, tables arranged as we'd asked and even allowing us to bring our own entertainer! Food was superb in the restaurant on Friday night and the children were made to feel very welcome. Alexander's Restaurant food was spot on for our wedding breakfast and we went back on Sunday for a very good lunch. Room 143 (Bridal Suite) made the weekend and all of our family were delighted with their rooms. All involved made the day so special it was as if it was for their own wedding, their enthusiasm was phenomenal! We will undoubtedly return here and would highly recommend for a weekend away or a special event as you would struggle to find more enthusiastic and genuine staff anywhere. Chris & Carol Leverett

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Chris & Carol

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience. It is a real privilege for the team to be able to contribute in such a positive way to such a special day. We look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a 3 nights in April and it was excellent couldn't find a fault.The quality of the bed was fantastic and the room had loads of toiletries and was nice and quiet.The quality of food in the restaurant would match most good stand alone restaurants and the service was second to none with all staff very accommodating.I must emphasise the quality of the breakfast was outstanding- better than anything I have had in a 5 star hotel,I likeed the variety of food and the fact that you can slice your own bread of which there were 2 different varieties.All staff are welcoming including Reception,housekeeping,restaurant ,leisure staff and bar and they understand the meaning of the hospitality industry which makes a change from some places I have recently visited.Value for money is excellent and I highly recommend this hotel and will return again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

What a brilliant review!

Although our breakfast offering is highly regarded we are always looking to introduce new ideas to enhance the selection on offer. Our latest addition is locally made tomato ketchup and brown sauce from Hawkshead Relishes, based in Hawkshead. We are also going to be offering a Cumbrian Wild Flower honey (once the bees have worked their magic!)

So why not get yourself booked in at the Castle Green and experience our breakfast first hand!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed at The Castle Green Hotel last weekend for my 50th Birthday and had a fantastic time. There were 13 of us in total and the staff couldn't do enough for us. They were very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble, in particular Laura Valentine and the Reception Team, Joel in the Restaurant, Shane in the Bar and Gemma who seemed to be everywhere (!!!). The hotel itself is very clean and the food is excellent. The location is very convenient - only about a 20 minute walk into Kendal town centre. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

It’s always great to receive feedback of this nature, particularly with it being such a special celebration weekend! We share all feedback with every department in the hotel as it is very much a team effort.

We hope to see you again later in the year.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,095 reviews
8.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
6.6 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,186 reviews
8.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: £88 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing