We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Weekend at Castle Green”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Easter Weekend at Castle Green”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely few days at the Castle Green Hotel. Lovely location and surroundings. A good base for travelling around the Lakes. Room was spacious, clean and tidy. Well appointed bathroom and facilities. Didn't eat in the main restaurant in the evenings, preferring the Alexander Pub, which is part of the Hotel. Breakfast was really good, a good choice on the buffet and the food was good. Staff where always polite and helpful. Would definitely recommend and visit again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Many thanks for sharing your experience. We even managed to arrange a bit of sunshine for good measure!!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Ben Mayou

Ps. Remember to book directly with us to be guaranteed the best available rates!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    490
    137
    44
    15
See reviews for
289
929
36
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed over easter weekend felt the rooms were tired and dated the bedroom carpet was old and marked bathroom modern but shower small and water went all over the floor when door was opened stayed in lot better hotels, the staff were very friendly and helpful and worked hard , went to kendal centre tired and not a lot to do would not stay here again .

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bethel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
I would like to apologise for your disappointment with the room you were allocated. We do have a very proactive approach to refurbishment but having 99 bedrooms it means that once we complete the last room we need to start all over again! Should you consider giving us another chance in the future I would ask that you contact me directly at the hotel. I would be delighted to personally take care of your reservation and ensure we offer you the best possible rate and bedroom.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked this hotel at the last minute after deciding to visit Kendal for the first time. I have to say that on arrival we were very pleased with the presentation and the grounds. The service was fantastic throughout the whole stay. They changed rooms for a bath for my 7 week old baby and could not do enough for us. We walked into Kendal but were very disappointed in the town. It was dirty and there was not much to do. We could not find a place to eat so within half an hour we were in a taxi back to the hotel. We spend the rest of the day and evening in the lovely gardens and grounds and had a meal in the adjacent pub. The next morning they even rearranged some tables in the breakfast room to accommodate our pram. The breaksfast was also lovely.
Overall a lovely stay in the hotel (thank god) buut a not so nice day out in Kendal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilchard_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

The gardens are looking fantastic with new colours appearing every day!! There are some really lovely parts of Kendal but like any town there are some less appealing areas…. Our Reception team are always on hand to make recommendations of places to eat and explore in and around Kendal, we even have free maps to help you find your way back to the hotel!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed at this Hotel this week, In my opinion the best B/Western Hotel i have visited to date! Great room! Good fitness Centre, The Food was great, but the Best Part of this Hotel is the Staff ! Very friendly efficent check in. Great service and food at the Bar and a really friendly team in the restaurant in the morning for breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Many thanks for your very kind words. It really does mean a great deal for the team to see their efforts recognised. We are very proud to currently be ranked 10th out of the 280 Best Western hotels in the UK. This position is based upon feedback from guests who have stayed with us during the last year. We are a very competitive bunch and as such we would love to continue our climb up the table! You can support us in achieving this by searching BW feedback and completing the short online survey. (if you are a BW Rewards member you will also receive 250 bonus points as a thank you!)

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

So many great things about this hotel. All staff without exception seemed to genuinely enjoy working there and nothing was too much trouble.
The restaurant food and service was superb - worthy of it's awards. The pub food was also delicious with enormous portions - and great beers.
Handy location for The Lakes and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vml2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
We are very proud of the variety of food and beverage options for our hotel guests here at Castle Green. We have the award winning 2 Rosette Greenhouse Restaurant for that special meal and then Alexanders Pub for a hearty pub meal washed down with a choice of four local ales. We always recommend making table reservations in advance as both can be popular at peak times. All menus can be found on our website.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I seem to remember this hotel being featured in some sort of 'secret boss' TV programme, and the manager being rewarded for her high standards.. Well, they continue to live up to the standards. The hotel was spotlessly clean, rooms very comfortable and the service was outstanding. Without fail everyone was friendly and courteous, and the willingness to please very clear. This was customer service at its very best. Excellent breakfast, great view from our room - one of Best Western's finest.

Room Tip: Views of castle are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim141155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for your review. The show you are thinking of was ‘Undercover Boss’ about five years ago with our Breakfast Supervisor Leona being the star of the show! It is still repeated from time to time on channel four so you might be lucky enough to see us if you missed it first time round. Alternatively to see what we offer first hand why not visit us for a short break?!

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner have recently returned from a stay at castle green kendal and although we had a lovely weekend we were disappointed by the mishap with our room when we arrived we were put in room 114 (right next to reception and first room in corridor)
I instantly knew that the room we were given was wrong as I'd booked a balcony room and this didn't have and also was tiny and only had a very small bath/shower room.
We went back to reception and informed the girl on the desk that there must have been made some mistake and I wanted a room that was larger and also a room with a bath/shower the girl was lovely and helpful and went to speak behind the office to see what had happened she came back and said there had been a mistake and she didn't no why we'd been given that room but we could have an option to upgrade to a family room (131) I asked if I could view a balcony room also to which she agreed.
She showed us to the room and it was a lot better and lovely views ect and lovely bathroom although I did feel it lacked in the decor department. She left without showing us the balcony room which I felt a little disappointed by. Room was very hot whilst getting ready for dinner but it was a lovely day and the 4 big windows are bound to attract heat.
Where I feel room 131 would be perfect for a family room I don't think it was suitable for a couple on a romantic weekend away and would have preferred the modern balcony room as I'd booked..

We ate in the bar/lobby and ordered 2x burgers which were lovely and came with hand cut chips we tried to eat at Alexander's the pub but were unable to book a table as there was no availability until 9pm and we were going to see Jason Manford (comedian) at 7.30.
When we returned we were feeling peckish but food from the full menu
Was limited down to just sandwiches and soup. As was past 10.30pm we ordered 1 x prawn and 1x ham and also 1x soup with bread. This cost just short of £20 when it arrived it looked okay but then we tasted the bread and it was stale and hard also our soup arrived with no bread as it was described on menu. I'm not one to complain but do feel when paying for something as costly as that you expect exceptional sandwiches not inedible ones..
We both felt unable to eat what was on our plates and therefore left all of it. The night person on the reception desk came over to ask me if all was okay and I told him what was wrong with it to which he asked if he could bring us something else out to eat me and my partner were a little put off and didn't want anything else so the man offered to refund our money and was very professional and helpful. This was a disappointing and very different eating expirience to our earlier one which was 10/10 and food was fab..
I hope I don't sound fussy but i feel the little things in a hotel really do matter and feel that I'd like to share my experience with others.

Please don't get me wrong the hotel was spotless and clean and surroundings beautiful and also staff brilliant as was the host at breakfast and the food at bfast Devine.

Decor was the main issue in the room we were given unfortunately..

I'd recommend although advise to opt for a more modern room :)..

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, Owner at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We have been in touch with these guests to discuss their review and are delighted that they intend to return to the hotel again in the future. It is our intention to get every aspect of a guests stay with us right every time. We do make mistakes from time to time. However we pride ourselves on dealing with these professionally and always use these as an opportunity to see how we can improve moving forward.

I am pleased to report that having investigated the problems with room allocation we have identified that the initial reservation for a balcony room was made through a third party booking agent. However just a few hours later this booking was amended online (in error) by the guest to a standard room which is why there was no balcony room allocated on arrival. We always recommend booking directly with us here at the hotel. By cutting out the ‘middle man’ it reduces the chance of any mistakes. It also allows us to discuss personal preferences regarding room allocation and ensure that we match these to the guest’s requirements.

We do have a rolling programme of refurbishment which has seen all 99 bathrooms completely refurbished with granite and modern chrome fittings over the last couple of years. We are now focusing on the decoration of the bedrooms with the balcony rooms having attention most recently.

I have passed the feedback regarding the poor food served on Friday evening to Justin, our Executive Chef who is addressing this matter with his team.

Ben Mayou

Ps. coincidentally my wife and I also watched Jason Manford on the same night and found him hilarious. Highly recommended!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kendal
1,003 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 14 in Kendal
485 reviews
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
24.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Property: Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing