We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff with high levels of customer care”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The hotel is situated on the outskirts of Kendall in lovely well maintained gardens and woodland. We had a very pleasant 15min walk from the back of the hotel through the woods. Very pleasant and helpful staff but the receptionist and the breakfast manager's sunny dispositions were outstanding. Our room had a wonderful vista across the gardens and nearby hills. Room was spacious, very clean and comfortable with one exception, the pillows were quite hard. There was a wedding and a party event going on but we were not disturbed by this. Exceptional breakfast with all tastes catered for. Room service not so spot on though and we had to send something back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emerald130944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Many thanks for sharing your experience. I have passed your comment regarding your room service to Joel our Restaurant Manager to address with his team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Castle Green again.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,828)
There are newer reviews for Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,031 - 1,037 of 1,828 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank clivelovesme
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 April 2014

It was only a very short overnight stay on business at this hotel however it was welcoming, very comfortable, spotlessly clean and served a delicious dinner in the restaurant and an extensive breakfast menu the next morning. It really is a BEST Best Western Plus hotel! Very well done to all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russhedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you for your very kind words. We think that we are the BEST but it is always great to hear that our guests agree!!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights on a business trip. The hotel is just outsdie the town and enjoys pleasant views. Rooms at the rear look out on to a nearby wooded slope, but not iunpleasant.
The staff are very good and most helpful. I only ate in the restaurant (there is also a pub attached to the hotel), and the food is very good - the taste of Cumbria menu deserves a mention, and is well worth trying.
There are pleasant lounge areas and a reasonable sized and quiet bar.
Highly recommended - I would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the front if you want a pleasant view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Many thanks for your review.

Our Cumbrian Tasting Menu consists of five courses with ingredients sourced from local suppliers and is priced at just £34 per person. All our Restaurant and Pub Menus can be found on our website.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank 638carolinec
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband has a Best Western loyalty card for nights away with work so we got a free night away. He's over it, but a huge huge treat for me! We also managed to get an upgrade to an executive room which reduced me to tears when we opened the door! Seeing the amazing room and awesome view was too much! Very near the M6 for a stop over to/from Scotland for us. Room 137 (?) was HUGE! Explored the area in the afternoon , drove up to Kirkstone Pass to Inn for coffee, fun steep windy road then back past the lake. If you are short of time in the area worth a trip. Ate in the lounge, delicious food, reasonably priced wine. Breakfasted with panoramic views and very welcoming staff. Would absolutely visit again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudeYuill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

The Best Western Rewards Scheme allows guests who stay in BW hotels to accumulate points. These can be used for free stays, wine, shopping vouchers and much more! With 280 Best Western hotels in the UK there are plenty to choose from!

The Kirkstone pass is highly recommended on a clear day. There are some breathtaking views from the Kirkstone Inn which at 1500ft is the highest inhabited building in Cumbria and the third highest Inn in England.

Make sure he treats you again soon!!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Had a lovely few days at the Castle Green Hotel. Lovely location and surroundings. A good base for travelling around the Lakes. Room was spacious, clean and tidy. Well appointed bathroom and facilities. Didn't eat in the main restaurant in the evenings, preferring the Alexander Pub, which is part of the Hotel. Breakfast was really good, a good choice on the buffet and the food was good. Staff where always polite and helpful. Would definitely recommend and visit again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Many thanks for sharing your experience. We even managed to arrange a bit of sunshine for good measure!!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Ben Mayou

Ps. Remember to book directly with us to be guaranteed the best available rates!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,053 reviews
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
7.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
435 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: £84 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing