We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

I can not recommend this hotel highly enough. Wonderful, location very friendly & helpful staff. We had some very well cooked food sent up to our room and our bed was so comfy. The only downside was the hotel rooms could use a balcony for us smokers (or we could try harder to quit) We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazzasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Many thanks for your review.

We do have balcony rooms which have outside seating with fantastic views over the hotel grounds and towards the Lakeland fells. To upgrade to one of these costs just £30 per night and this can be arranged by contacting our Reception team on 01539 734000

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,058
    479
    135
    43
    15
See reviews for
289
916
36
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed two nights at this hotel in Kendal last week, and although we had never used the hotel before, we were absolutely delighted with it ! The food was of a very high standard, the staff, an absolute joy, and the comfort of the room was second to none. The hotel itself has a very relaxed and relaxing feel about it, and housekeeping in all areas is first class ! Although dinner both evenings was excellent, we did have an issue with the buffet breakfast being somewhat cold - have found this a few times in recent hotel stays - the warmers dont seem to keep the cooked food hot enough - in this case, they aught to take individual orders for cooked food, thereby the food is cooked to order and will be served piping hot ! I dont think buffet breakfasts work that well in our experience. However, apart from that one thing, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.P.S. The grounds are absolutely beautiful !

Room Tip: We had a basic double room, and it was large, extremely comfortable and very quiet so no need to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for spreading the word regarding your stay with us. We pride ourselves on offering a warm friendly welcome and service throughout so it was great to read that this was evident during your time at the hotel. I would like to apologise that the breakfast was not as hot as it should be. It is highly unusual to receive anything other than positive comments regarding our breakfast offering and as such I have passed your feedback to our maintenance team to check that all warmers are working correctly.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We went to listen to a band in Kendal and decided to stay over in Kendal for the night .What a good Hotel. Clean tidy comfortable with very friendly staff. Breakfast was excellent with good quality ingredients and coffee. Will stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank MattA185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. There are some very good venues in Kendal for music and comedy if anybody else is looking for a fun weekend away.

Remember to book directly with us to be sure of getting the best available rates by calling 01539 734000 or visiting our website.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in, very difficult to find a fault. The reception staff could not have been more helpful, from booking over the phone to checking in and out, Super.
The hotel itself is in a great position for the town and beautifully set in the stunning gardens on the edge of town. It's so easy to get to in minutes from the motorway. The food was excellent, breakfast was lovely and the lady in charge, just so friendly. I would happily tell family and friends to stay there if in the area. I can honestly say I slept like a baby !

Room Tip: Go for a room on the font to get a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndnjnkns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Many thanks for your ‘Excellent’ review!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was the venue for my son's recent wedding and I cannot fault it. The staff are all lovely, happy and friendly and willing to go that extra mile....from reception, restaurant (especially at breakfast), housekeeping, wedding planner and health spa! Absolutely recommended!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view over the town if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123WTBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We take real pride in everything we do here at Castle Green and we love nothing more than making a wedding day extra special!

We hope that you will decide to visit us again in the future? We have a ‘Sunday Spice’ promotion which runs throughout the year which is very popular. At just £120 for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast for two it is fantastic value too!!

Best wishes to the happy couple!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We are very disappointed by the fact that the hotel advertised the Alexander pub adjacent to the hotel. It is advertised all over the place so we decided to give it a try. It is disgusting and expensive. The place is very bizarre and the food terrible. All frozen and Luke warm! The music played is even worse, s club 7, west life, liberty x, very cheesy classics that nobody surely wants to eat a relaxed dinner to. It feels like you Are eating in somebody's conservatory. Do not go there unless you like substandard food worse than macdonalds and wether spoons combined. Absoloutley disgusting.The hotel itself is in a fantastic setting, lovely grounds. The hotel is filled with business men and old people, probably not the place if you are below the age of 40! The bar lounge area was a bit disappointing, very small and a bit weird, so we decided to take our drinks up to our room. The bathroom was fantastic but the rooms really boring, no character at all and the on show ironing board was a major eye soar. We were charged for using the restaurant when we didn't eat there, perhaps guests needs to show room key for proof of room number on entry? All in all the hotel feels like a retirement home but it's sad as the potential is there! Would never go back purely based on their connection with that disgusting pub!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DogandGunKnayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
I would like to apologise for your disappointment with the areas of your stay which you have highlighted. Alexander’s Pub is an integral part of the Castle Green Hotel and aims to give residents a more informal alternative to our 2 Rosette fine dining restaurant. Whilst the style of food is very different to the restaurant we still pride ourselves on using quality local ingredients wherever possible.

Our customer base is very varied which helps us to keep busy all year round and avoid some of the challenges faced by purely leisure based hotels in tourist areas. We do ask for room keys when guests are charging items to their room. Unfortunately it is still possible for mistakes to occasionally happen when entering room numbers into the till system.

It is always upsetting to read that a guest has not enjoyed their stay with us. On the whole we receive very positive feedback with many guests returning and recommending us to family and friends which can be seen from other reviews.

Should you decide to give us another chance in the future please contact me directly at the hotel and I will personally take care of your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here overnight on trip to Scotland. Close to M6 and easy to find. Hotel has an excellent pub, Alexanders, on the same site and good lunch menu. Hotel very comfortable but strange arrangements for supper. Could not book 7.30 as restaurant "full" so went at 7.00 and at 7.30 we were all but the only ones in there! Food was good . Staff attentive. Good breakfast.
Would I stay again in in area, yes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your review. My apologies that we were not able to book you into the Restaurant at your preferred time. It is difficult to comment accurately as to why this was the case on the night in question without knowing all the details.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
5.5 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Property: Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing