We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous hotel”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is a great hotel. I would definitely stay there again the next time I'm in the area. I thought the staff were really welcoming. My room was just right and breakfast was great. I stayed in a standard room and the hotel I was in the night before (executive room I might add) wasn't a patch on this hotel in Kendal and about £30 cheaper too. This was fab - loved it

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Nicola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for your 5* review. We hope to see you again soon

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    491
    137
    45
    15
See reviews for
289
930
36
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This was the second occasion that I have stayed at this hotel, but the first time for my wife.
I knew what to expect and it was fun hearing my wife extolling the virtues of this well managed hotel.
From the moment we arrived at the reception desk to check in, we were treated very courteously and our room allocation was as we had specified. A very spacious bedroom, with excellent facilities and spotlessly clean throughout.
We had made a reservation for evening dinner in the restaurant and the friendly and efficient staff made the occasion special. The choice of food was extensive, and we thoroughly enjoyed the three courses which we had requested. Each course was well cooked and presented to a very high standard.
We had breakfast in the restaurant and the choices were very extensive. You can even have special dishes prepared by the chef. If you enjoy a hearty breakfast, you certainly won't be disappointed by the eclectic choices available.
Our second night's evening meal was taken in the adjoining pub. Totally different menu and atmosphere here. On the evening we attended it was quite warm in the conservatory part of the dining area, but the waitresses obligingly opened the folding patio doors to allow fresh air into the room. Once again, the food was well cooked and the menu had some interesting choices.
We really enjoyed looking at and walking in the well manicured gardens.
This is a hotel we intend to use as a base every time we visit the Lake District.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OVERANOUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
A fantastic review! Thank you for sharing your Castle Green experience which hopefully will encourage others to come and stay!

Remember to book directly with us to be sure of getting the best available rates.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have stayed at the Castle Green on a number of occasions and always enjoyed our stays.
The rooms are clean and comfortable. The Breakfasts are great and nothing is any trouble.
The only thing we have a problem with is that in the grounds they have their own pub which does food. But you pay hotel prices. To have to pay £19 pounds and above for steaks is a bit over the top. Battered King Prawns with a Chilli dip £ 6.95 for 3 prawns.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnieSalfordU_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay with us.

We like to buy our steaks from local butchers to support the local economy and to ensure that the quality of the meat is the best possible. The Grills Board has steaks ranging in price from £10.95 - £27.50. These include a choice of potato (handcut chips, wedges, new potatoes or jacket), side (onion rings, salad, vegetables or mushrooms) and a sauce (Diane, pepper & brandy, garlic butter or onion gravy) There are also main courses from the Pub menu starting at £8.50.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding reception at The Castle Green on the 29/03/14.
We can not fault this hotel what's so ever. From the planning to the wedding day the service was excellent.
I booked the hotel 18 months in advance & I had Nicola Postlethwaite as our Wedding/Event CoOrdinator and I would highly recommend her; she was friendly, helpful & went out of her way to help us. She made the organising of the wedding very easy for us, our requests were always met & nothing was ever too much for her.
The day before the wedding & on the wedding day we had Christine (the banqueting manager) & her team, Nicola passed all our information on to her & she followed all our requests. The service was exceptional, the venue looked amazing & the day went very smoothly thanks to Christine.
The food was delicious & all the guests commented how much they enjoyed the food.
We were able to choose in advance which suite we wanted for our wedding night (we chose the one with the 4 poster bed) & the room was lovely & clean. The grooms parents had another suite & there's was as equally as nice. Breakfast was as good as the wedding food.
We would defiantly recommend this hotel for a Wedding or even just a relaxing night away.
We would like to thank The Castle Green for all their hard work & for making our Wedding Day so special.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RachaelMattyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share the success of your big day!

It is very much a team effort in bringing together the different elements of a wedding celebration but you are sure to be well looked after by both Nicola and Christine who have been organising and running weddings at Castle Green for many years!!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I have just treated my beloved wife to a long weekend away to celebrate her 70th birthday and we checked in last Friday 16th May. We were greeted by a lovely young lady at the reception desk who explained everything we needed to know. Our room was lovely although it didn't have the best view at the hotel but as we don't sit gazing out of the window it was ok. The breakfasts were superb as was the restaurant food and the pub food also on the same site. I would like to mention in particular 2 members of staff who went the extra mile to make our stay more pleasurable and they are Laura Pickett and Shane. Thank you to both of you. I have used Best Western hotels prior to my retirement and this is by far the best that I have stayed in.
If I had to criticise it in any way it would be that as it is quite large, it is spread over quite a large area and anyone with mobility problems might find it difficult if situated at the far end of the building.
Other than that I can only be positive about the place and we had a lovely break and celebrated my wife's birthday in style.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you very very very much for sharing your Castle Green experience!!

It is always great for the team to see their efforts recognised and we were thrilled to read that your 70th birthday celebration weekend was a success. We do have rooms with fantastic views over the hotel gardens towards the Lakeland fells which I would recommend next time you come and stay with us. Our newly refurbished balcony rooms take full advantage of this view and also contain a number of little luxuries such as bath robes and slippers, posh tea and coffee tray and upgraded toiletries, all this for an upgrade of just £30 per night.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have been staying at this hotel for 12 years. We are always made welcome, and are treated like royalty. Highly recomended. The food in the Greenhouse restaurant is awsome . The staff are brilliant and so friendly. This is our little haven. Alexanders is a great little pub and is brilliant for lunch. The Greenhouse restaurant is my favourite restauants ever the food always blows me away, even after 12 years i still get the buzz

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Lancscitylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Many thanks for your 5* review!

We look forward to seeing you again very soon

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Having met near Kendal and enjoyed a wonderful meal in one of its great restaurants, decided to return for our third anniversary.Hotel was easy to find and pleasant on the eye when arriving. Hotel was clean, tidy and appeared to be well managed although still felt like second class guests when sent to our room at the back of building. Food very good, both breakfast and evening meal in adjacent pub. Will probably try this one again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for your review. With 99 bedrooms we have something to suit everybody. Our Reception team would be delighted to discuss room preferences and options with you at the booking stage to ensure we allocate the most suitable room.

We hope you decide to stay with us again next year for your 4th anniversary!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
1,003 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 14 in Kendal
487 reviews
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
24.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Property: Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing