We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Nearby Hotels
US$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$421
US$407
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Kendal)
US$105
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$133
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Kendal(Kendal)(Great Value!)
US$101
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$196
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,956)
Filter reviews
1,956 results
Traveller rating
1,176
554
160
50
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,176
554
160
50
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreenhouse restaurantalexanders pubtasting menuexecutive roomthe main hotelhotel groundslovely groundspool and steam roomlake districtlovely hotelhotel barbreakfast staffevening mealrelaxing breakleisure facilitieshigh standardlovely view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,100 - 1,105 of 1,956 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location just outside Kendal. Lovely room with balcony and country views. Staff very welcoming and could not have been more helpful. Meals were well presented and enjoyable. Would certainly stay again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyHerts101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Short and sweet! Many thanks for your very positive review.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Really enjoyed our 2 night stay here for our wedding. All the staff were so helpful a friendly they couldn’t do enough for us. Thank you very much for our bottle of fizz and chocolates, they were a lovely surprise when we returned back to the room after just getting married in Kendal. Our room was beautiful, lovely and clean very spacious and the views were gorgeous from the huge window. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with you and defiantly will return in the future. Thank you to you all!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. We love nothing more than making such an important day even more special!

I have noticed from your profile that you are ‘locals’ and as such wanted to mention that we have our Sunday Spice special rate available all year round with rates starting from £120 for a night away including Dinner, Bed and Breakfast in a 4* hotel.....fantastic value for money!!! Further details can be found on our website.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here for one night. Had a problem when booking in but the problem was resolved very quickly, which was caused by myself when booking online. The hotel is situated in a lovely location and the room which we stayed in was very good. The evening meal in the restaurant was very good, which also matched the service. Breakfast was average. We would stay again at this hotel if in the area again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwm2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

We all make mistakes and here at Castle Green we are no different. We as a team pride ourselves on dealing with them in the most professional manner possible.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Young couple staying at the hotel for a quiet and relaxed weekend break. The room we were given was next to the lift on the 2nd floor, and next to the staff room, we had on going talking from passes by. We also had shocking views of a very large fire exit. The room itself was clean and had an amazing shower, however the room was very hot and we were unable to open any windows. If your lucky enough to get a front room view i'm sure it would be much better as the surrouding areas and grounds were lovely!

We made use of the steam room, which was nice and very quiet!!!

In the evening we went down to have a drink before going out and the bar was full of gypsies... say no more! They were still there at 1am with kids and being awkward with hotel staff. Drinks in the bar were on the expensive side (Coke and a water £5.40)

Food in the pub Alexanders was good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapoeiraKing111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your review. Its probably fair to say that we normally have more ‘wonderful’ than ‘weird’ here at Castle Green but this is unfortunately something which is difficult for us to control (although life would be so much easier if we could!!!)

Please accept my apologies for your disappointment with the room you were allocated. It is unclear from your comments whether you made the Reception team aware at the time of your arrival? This would have given us the opportunity to find you a more suitable room.

Should you be looking to return to the area again in the future please do contact me directly. I will personally oversee the arrangements and ensure we organise a favourable rate and a complimentary upgrade to one of our Balcony Rooms overlooking the gardens.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We just stayed for a night in this beautiful hotel. The first impression as soon as you enter the sprawling area of the hotel is an expression of "Wow". The front desk person was very friendly and smiling. The room is quite big from UK standards and well equipped. A table with two cushioned chairs, two small wooden tables with drawers, a writing table, coffee tea maker and a flat TV. The bathroom is clean with basic amenities. The shower cubicle is rather small. The bed is quite soft and very comfortable. An iron horse and an iron box is provided. All in all a very pleasant hotel. There is a huge space for parking .

The well lit and tastefully decoraded restaurant was very tempting. Unfortunately we had checked in late and left in the morning and hence could not eat there. If ever I get another chance to visit the lake district, this hotel will be my first choice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ananda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Many thanks for your very kind words. We hope that you do manage to return to visit us again in the future

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews