We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The outside pictures are cheating. The hotel is not an old castle as it seems to be.
The people working there not friendly even if professional. The pub is in fact a restaurant and not a real english pub. But the food is ok.
Room comfortable but in the backyard with a real wall of trees in front of the window (light on needed all day long).
Do not feet to what we expected from a Best Western (i.e. more charming hotel).
Thus not worth 144£ a night...

Room Tip: Careful to the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Batjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

I can confidently state that the hotel has never been promoted as a Castle. We do however reference within our literature that we have views towards the ruins of Kendal Castle so perhaps this is from where the confusion stems? The team here at the hotel are very passionate about offering all our guests pleasant and friendly service. Our pricing (like all hotels) does fluctuate based upon many factors but we are competitive in the local market place based upon all the facilities we provide although value for money can be very subjective.

It is always frustrating to receive feedback of this nature as we dislike anybody leaving disappointed and for this we apologise. Overall 90% of the 911 reviews we have received via TA rate us as Excellent/Very Good and this hopefully demonstrates our commitment to the offering available at Castle Green.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,875)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

955 - 961 of 1,875 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

This was the third hotel we had stayed in within one week (other two were excellent), this was our last stop on our way home from holiday. Not very welcoming, immediately asked for payment upfront when checking in and it's a little bit of a walk uphill to reception so a nice friendly face would have been nice. The room was comfortable and clean but very small and the bathroom also very small, no bath and small shower space. Had a nice meal in Alexanders Pub which is in the hotel grounds. When we arrived for breakfast there were no tables, which wasn't a problem, we were asked to take a seat and we would be called when a table was free but after waiting more than twenty minutes we asked about a table and were told there were plenty empty tables! Buffet breakfast was nice but nothing special, waited ages for coffee and toast and when they eventually arrived then had to ask three times for milk. Waited at reception to check out again for too long, neither of the receptionists even acknowledged we were standing there, never felt so unwelcome in any hotel, was glad to leave and wouldn't go to any Best Western in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Please accept my apologies for your disappointment with the areas you have highlighted in your review. It is extremely unusual to receive feedback of this nature and please rest assured this information has been shared with the relevant teams here at the hotel so we can learn from any mistakes. I understand that Gail our Front of House Manager has been in contact with you since your departure and agreed a suitable gesture for the problems you experienced. We don’t ever claim to be perfect, but we do aim to offer friendly, helpful service in all areas and this can be seem from the majority of our 910 Trip Advisor reviews.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner 10th -11th August (sun-mon). We paid extra for a balcony room and it was worth it. Gorgeous views over the gardens. The room was a decent size and it was spotless. We didn't get to the pool so cannot comment on the leisure facilities. We called Alexander's the pub at 7pm to book a table and the earliest time they had was 8:45pm so we decided to call room service instead and the food was lovely. We booked the buffet breakfast and the variety was great and the food was delicious. Honestly cannot fault this hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your review

Our recently refurbished Balcony rooms have certainly proved very popular. Alexanders Pub can get very busy so we do recommend making table reservations to avoid disappointment!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed for two nights as a base for going into the Lake District. Had a wonderful time with friendly staff and a room which was spotlessly clean. A beautiful big bedroom and bathroom. The food at the pub separated from the main hotel wasn't great and was quite expensive, but the food in the restaurant of the hotel was beautiful- one of the nicest meals I have ever eaten! There is also a nice bar area where the drinks are very reasonably priced as well as a lovely swimming pool. Would definitely stay here again as your so close to the Lakes but not paying high Lakes prices.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the hotel would get a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stephie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

We are ideally placed to use as a base to explore the Lakes and I am pleased to read that this was your experience.

Please accept my apologies for your disappointment regarding your meal in Alexanders. It is unclear from your review whether you raised this with the Pub team so they could have resolved the issue there and then? It is highly unusual to receive comments of this nature and as such I have referred your feedback to Justin our Executive Chef.

We hope that you will decide to stay with us again when looking for a weekend away. We have some fantastic rates for Sunday evenings with dinner, bed and breakfast from just £120 per room!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed overnight Sunday 27/Monday 28 July. Beautiful room with lovely views. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Room spotlessly clean. Delicious food in restaurant and well presented. Hotel very relaxing. Plenty of parking. Only drawback, there was a wedding on and the celebrations carried on into the wee small hours!!! Apart from this, Castle Green is an excellent hotel with very high standards of comfort and service to its guests.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BruFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Many thanks for your positive review.

We do try to allocate non wedding guests quieter rooms to avoid any possible disturbance. It is great to read that you recognised the high standards and service throughout the hotel and I hope that you will decide to stay with us again. Remember to book directly to be guaranteed the best available rates!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed only one night at this hotel on the way up to Scotland great food lovely room and the staff were very friendly and helpful especially the reception staff with there great local knowledge took them up on their advice of places to visit in our short time there also we arrived early before check in as left home around 4am and reception lady excellent said it was I trouble and found us a room that was ready so we could rest after our long journey very much appreciated Thank you had a wonderful stay would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Doreen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

We are a popular stop off for those traveling up or down the country being so close to the M6. In some cases we have guests who stay with us on both legs of their journey!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We picked this hotel for its location just outside the lakes.the rooms are very well decorated and clean, only issue was it had no air conditioning which for a 4 star hotel we thought it needed. Pool was small but clean .
Breakfast was very good , we ate in the pub (Alexander) adjoined to the hotel and the food was good

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front of the hotel for some great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

The fantastic weather we have experienced during July has inevitably highlighted the lack of air conditioning in our bedrooms. We do however have fans available upon request.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,095 reviews
8.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
6.6 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,186 reviews
8.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: £88 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing