We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good break”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two days and had a good time the staff were friendly and helpfull we had breakfast both days which was good the room we had overlooked the front which had good views and was fine went for a swim water was nice and warm would stay again something to mention we went to Alexander's bar next door for evening meal and found staff friendly and the food good

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Many thanks for your positive assessment of the team, breakfast, bedroom, pool and the Pub. We hope you will decide to stay with us again in the future!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,059
    479
    135
    43
    15
See reviews for
289
916
36
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed with friends and very impressed with the service, rooms and the hotel in general. Even though it's a large hotel, the staff make you feel special. We had a large, clean room with a good size bathroom. Room service was very good and the food delicious (we ordered a few things not on the menu and they were more than happy to accommodate). Only a few miles into The town via the castle- very picturesque walk. Seamless booking and checkout. Highly recommended (although they should stock up on the mint cake- ran out when we were leaving unfortunately!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank gilligmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Sincere apologies regarding the lack of mint cake. It can be extremely popular but even we have been surprised at how quickly its been selling these last few weeks. I’m pleased to report that we have plenty of new stock!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My partner and I had a very enjoyable stay here for a romantic break away without the kids. The grounds are beautiful, as is the hotel. The check-in staff were friendly and helpful, and were able to fulfill our requests without a problem.
The room was a little on the small side, and the view of the service road at the back was rather dull. The room was tastefully decorated, and everything was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was modern and clean, however the shower cubicle was a tight squeeze! The shower head is fixed, so I had to endure hot water blasting at my face.
We had lunch at the Alexander pub, which was tasty, if a little overpriced. We took a walk in to Kendal town, a pleasant 25 minute walk.
We made a reservation to have dinner at the hotel restaurant, as we were advised it could get busy. The meal was one of the most enjoyable we've ever had. The food was cooked perfectly, the wine was delicious and reasonably priced, and the service was excellent.
Breakfast was very nice, great service again from the wait staff. A good choice of cold breakfast items, such as cereal, fruit and pastries. The hot buffet was well stocked and delicious.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay. I would definitely recommend staying here. I would have given it 5 stars, but I knocked a star off for the size of the shower and the disappointing view from the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thriftyemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
A very comprehensive review. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Make sure you book directly with us next time and remember to mention your preference for a room with a view. Our friendly Reception team will be delighted to sort this out for you. We look forward to welcoming you again soon

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Best Westerns can be a bit of a mixed bag, in my experience but this hotel is in a different league from some. The rooms are fine, if a little plain, but the bathroom was very smart. There is a decent pool and a big steam room with muted lights and music. The restaurant serves excellent food, and the bar meals are a cut above average too. The hotel seemed really full but it did not affect the level of customer service at all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Many thanks for your review.

We are very proud to currently be ranked 9th out of the 280 Best Western hotels in the UK. What makes this achievement extremely satisfying is that its based upon the reviews of guests who have stayed with us during the previous year. Being a competitive bunch here at Castle Green we are working hard at moving further up the league table!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here, granted it was a little pricey but it was a last night treat after a motorhome tour of Scotland. That been said I've travelled all round the world stopping in hotels and I thought this hotel was amazing and would definitely go back especially when it's so handy in the Lake District surrounded by beautiful views. I found ALL the staff friendly, helpful and professional. The hotel has a modern feel, we had breakfast in the Garden Restaurant which was busy but that wasn't an issue for us. We ate in the pub on the Saturday night and all enjoyed our food and again the staff were friendly.

Room Tip: We were overlooking the garden and beautiful countryside beyond that
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirmone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your very kind words regarding the Castle Green team. We have a very loyal and hard working bunch here at the hotel who are passionate about offering a warm Cumbrian welcome to all our guests.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The outside pictures are cheating. The hotel is not an old castle as it seems to be.
The people working there not friendly even if professional. The pub is in fact a restaurant and not a real english pub. But the food is ok.
Room comfortable but in the backyard with a real wall of trees in front of the window (light on needed all day long).
Do not feet to what we expected from a Best Western (i.e. more charming hotel).
Thus not worth 144£ a night...

Room Tip: Careful to the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Batjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
I can confidently state that the hotel has never been promoted as a Castle. We do however reference within our literature that we have views towards the ruins of Kendal Castle so perhaps this is from where the confusion stems? The team here at the hotel are very passionate about offering all our guests pleasant and friendly service. Our pricing (like all hotels) does fluctuate based upon many factors but we are competitive in the local market place based upon all the facilities we provide although value for money can be very subjective.

It is always frustrating to receive feedback of this nature as we dislike anybody leaving disappointed and for this we apologise. Overall 90% of the 911 reviews we have received via TA rate us as Excellent/Very Good and this hopefully demonstrates our commitment to the offering available at Castle Green.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This was the third hotel we had stayed in within one week (other two were excellent), this was our last stop on our way home from holiday. Not very welcoming, immediately asked for payment upfront when checking in and it's a little bit of a walk uphill to reception so a nice friendly face would have been nice. The room was comfortable and clean but very small and the bathroom also very small, no bath and small shower space. Had a nice meal in Alexanders Pub which is in the hotel grounds. When we arrived for breakfast there were no tables, which wasn't a problem, we were asked to take a seat and we would be called when a table was free but after waiting more than twenty minutes we asked about a table and were told there were plenty empty tables! Buffet breakfast was nice but nothing special, waited ages for coffee and toast and when they eventually arrived then had to ask three times for milk. Waited at reception to check out again for too long, neither of the receptionists even acknowledged we were standing there, never felt so unwelcome in any hotel, was glad to leave and wouldn't go to any Best Western in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Please accept my apologies for your disappointment with the areas you have highlighted in your review. It is extremely unusual to receive feedback of this nature and please rest assured this information has been shared with the relevant teams here at the hotel so we can learn from any mistakes. I understand that Gail our Front of House Manager has been in contact with you since your departure and agreed a suitable gesture for the problems you experienced. We don’t ever claim to be perfect, but we do aim to offer friendly, helpful service in all areas and this can be seem from the majority of our 910 Trip Advisor reviews.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
5.5 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Property: Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing