We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A welcome return”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at this hotel and it was just as good as the first. The rooms we clean and spacious, albeit a bit far away from reception. The breakfasts were great the hotel is in a great location with wonderful views. Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tronell v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
We have many guests who return again and again and the team love nothing more than welcoming back familiar faces!

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,083
    497
    140
    46
    16
See reviews for
293
947
36
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I have recently returned from a mini break at the Castle Green Hotel. We found the hotel room clean and comfortable. We dined in Alexander’s pub on two occasions, the pub is adjacent to the hotel and we were happy with food and service. The hotel breakfast was very good and we were spoilt for choice with so many options. The most enjoyable experience of our stay were the relaxing treatments in the Green Rooms which were kindly arranged by a member of staff at very short notice on a busy weekend. I would stay at this hotel again but would request a room with a view of the lovely gardens at the front. I would not stay in the same room at the rear of the hotel, as noise in the early morning from the gym and pool disturbed our sleep.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buffy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent stay. Remember to book directly with us next time, this will allow the Reception team to allocate you a room overlooking the gardens and the Lakeland fells!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We have just had our wedding here and had to write in to share what a wonderful hotel this is. Everything exceeded our expectations and in particular, the fantastic service on the day from Christine's team was stand out. Everyone working there had a smile on their face and did everything possible to help out. The grounds look fantastic and our room (144) was great to get ready in- large and spacious. The wedding planner Nicola was exceptional but even when she wasn't in, her colleague Janine was all over everything. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
We really do enjoy creating such special memories. Thank you for choosing Castle Green for your big day and we wish you both all the very best for your future together x

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the staff - from the moment we arrived - the staff all over the hotel could not have been kinder.
Hotel is situated about 25 minutes walk from the town of Kendal.
The hotel has all the facilities you could ask for- personally I found the swimming pool area very relaxing.
The food was outstanding - excellent breakfast - one of the best I have had for some time.
Had an evening meal in the main dinning and it was first class.
I can strongly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your very positive review. We are very lucky to have such a great team here at the hotel who are committed to offering the best possible service throughout. It is always great for them to see their hard work recognised in this way.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Just returned from castle green hotel in Kendal for a family gathering to celebrate my parents golden wedding anniversary. I can't thank the hotel and staff enough....they attended to our various needs with a pleasant, friendly and professional manner. The hotel was very busy with a wedding etc but they made each of us and especially my parents feel very special. I would certainly recommend this venue and would stay again in the future.....we may return for the next family celebration.
If I was to offer any advice it would be.....to relax and enjoy their hospitality.

Room Tip: Choose a room on second floor as lovely views of the excellent gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 14Dawnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Many thanks for sharing your experience. We hope that you do decide to stay with us again in the future

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Having discovered this amazing hotel about 4 years ago and being frequent visitors we decided to get married there this summer so that we could share this lovely place with our friends and family! As usual, the stay was wonderful - it truly is a special place (commented on by all our guests that stayed there), made even more special by the lovely staff who go above and beyond the call of duty to help. As a hotel it is comfortable, with good facilities and great rooms (particularly the executive suites), but as a wedding venue it was superb. Food perfect, outdoor venue fab, friendly staff - we can't thank Nicola, Amanda, Christine and all the other staff enough. We were very sad to leave, but counting the days until our next visit in October.

Room Tip: The Executive Suites facing the front lawns are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We love nothing more than making a wedding day truly memorable! We are blessed to have such a fantastic sales team (Nicola, Janine & Amanda) who take care of all the arrangements upto the big day before handing over to Christine our Banqueting Manager who herself has looked after hundreds (if not thousands) of weddings during her 17 years at the hotel.

See you in October!

Ben Mayou

Ps. Any ‘brides to be’ who are looking for a wedding venue can come along to our wedding open afternoon on 21st September to see what we have to offer……..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Our one night stay here was a lovely wedding present from friends and it was fabulous. Located on the edge of the Lake District, the views across to the mountains are complemented by sweeping lush green lawns and hills, with the ruined Kendal Castle in the distance. The hotel is very modern in itself, but the Alexanders Pub (where we enjoyed the £3.75 local ale taster menu) is a much older building with a newer dining room attached. The staff were outstanding from start to finish, most notably Maxine and Leona, who redefined 'Service with a smile' and made us feel very welcome indeed. Our second floor room was compact, but very well furnished and spotlessly clean, with a very comfortable bed and lovely views from the balcony, even in the Cumbrian rain. We also took advantage of the swimming pool and steam room, both of which were very enjoyable. Sometimes it is the small, thoughtful touches that make the most impact and one thing we noticed was that the pool and steam room were both lit in a way that created tranquility. The hotel had also gone to the trouble of posting notices explaining exactly when children's sessions in the pool would be. Not many places would think of this. After a thoroughly pleasant day, we had dinner in the restaurant. Now, being Londoners, we are pretty demanding and we know quality when it's served up to us. The a la carte menu is great - real choice and real imagination in the dishes available. However, for an absolutely first class, 5 star dining experience, go for the Cumbrian tasting menu. It was absolutely magnificent from start to finish. Again, a neat little touch was the unexpected goat's cheese mousse served as an amuse bouche, then on to a selection of local charcuterie on a slate, then a wholesome and tasty hoggett broth (a hoggett is a young sheep apparently!) then the main event: a pork medley cooked to absolute perfection. Topped off with a sumptuous gingerbread and butter pudding with Kendal Mint Cake parfait, this is a meal that would easily cost £100 in high end restaurants. Here, it cost £34. Even with wine it would only be £49. Quality does not often meet value in this way. Again, the waiting staff were excellent throughout and when we moved to the well stocked bar, we continued to be treated like valued guests. The following morning we came down to a busy breakfast room and although we did have to wait about ten minutes, we were treated to another delicious range of local foods to start the day and fuel the drive home. If there were any criticism to be made it would be that there was almost too much choice! Again, a cut above the usual hotel breakfast experience. It seems clear that Castle Green Hotel is taking real note of the feedback it is getting on TA and is acting upon it swiftly. The whole experience here was a complete joy and we will most definitely be back when we return to this part of the world. The management and staff deserve real congratulations all round.

Room Tip: We stayed in 221. All rooms on that side of the corridor have great views and ours had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owenpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
What an amazingly comprehensive review. It makes me want to book a stay at the hotel as it sounds like just what I need!!!!!!!

Being serious for a moment, it is always great to hear such positive feedback but particularly from a ‘Top Reviewer’ with 55 Trip Advisor reviews to their name!

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,014 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
501 reviews
20.7 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
24.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Property: Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing