We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel by Miles.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Accrington, lancs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Hotel by Miles.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

Stayed at the Hotel on the way to the Lakes for the weekend.
Wish we could have stayed here for the full 3 nights.
Everything was wonderful to say the least. There was a couple of weddings going on at the same time as our stay - but you wouldnt have know it.
The hotel was not overrun by drunken wedding guests - they had their own private area.
The leisure centre was top notch - even had my first massage!! The grounds were lovely too.
The food was heavenly... and would love to stay again.
The only down side..... there was only a shower in the en suite. But it was a good powerful one.
10 out of 10.
look forward to coming back soon

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cookiemonster68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,033
    467
    130
    43
    14
See reviews for
279
899
35
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
whitley bay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

Staff were very friendly and efficient both in the hotel and the Alexandra Pub situated in the grounds. The food in the restaurant was so good on the Friday evening we were looking forward to another exceptional dining experience on the Saturday, unfortunately this was not to be, when we asked to book a table we were informed the restaurant was fully booked for a wedding party. We find this unacceptable if you are a paying guest and then find you have to make alternative arrangements to eat, especially if your main aim is to relax from the every day grind. We dined in the Alexandra pub, the food was adequate, but not to the excellence of the restaurant, and if the rain had started earlier than it did we would have been soaked through by the time we got back into the hotel. We would go back but would check to see if the restaurant would be available on the nights we wish to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jvmcmillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2009

The hotel is in a good location and set within nice grounds but if you are travelling for lesiure be aware that it is very much a business hotel. Our room was comfortable but the bed was small for 2 people and the general cleanliness was not great, especially in the bathroom. In the bathroom there was also some loose fittings and the room was dark and small. We ate out both nights of our stay so only encountered a few members of staff but the reception staff were bordering on the rude and very sarcastic when we asked a few basic questions e.g. best way to walk into town etc. (as we didnt get a proper answer to that question we asked at the bar and I have to say that the lady there was very helpful).

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Creme1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2009

Just returned from their Sunday night special offer of dinner bed and breakfast for £100. Quite a large hotel with a slightly corporate feel. However could not fault it. Plenty of helpful staff. Food good, clean and comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank cookie5825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

we stayed at the castle green for 1 night taking advantage of their ' spice up your sunday ' offer. The hotel has recently undergone some major renovation and the room was excellent, very clean with a new bathroom ect.

We have stayed at the castle green hotel before and have always enjoyed the restaurant ( we have eaten here several times ) this time was no exception, however, if you have been before you may be disappointed to learn that they have reduced their table d'hote menu to 3 items per course. You can however pay a supplement if you prefer something from the al a carte menu - a little confusing as the extra charges are not marked on the menu.

All in all a great stay with great facilities, loved the new colour scheme

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vegasbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2009

Stayed here at the lastminute and so glad changed to this hotel. The facilties and room were great, well worth the price paid. it was a good location to stay and explore the lake district and the pub on the grounds was ideal as it made you feel like you had gone outside to somewhere else but you were only a short stroll back into the main hotel. the food was excellent as well. In all very placed and would def recommend to others and will stay there again

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cabbie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
127 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

Room & food were excellent, had a nice dip in the indoor pool. Staff were all extremely friendly. Would recommend without reservation.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenmeryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
5.5 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Property: Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing