We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is Castle Green Owned By Ryanair?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Is Castle Green Owned By Ryanair?”
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Six months on from our last visit and notalot has changed at the Castle Green:

The restaurant is as excellent as ever.
The staff are still friendly and helpful
The breakfasts are still OK
Getting a decent room is still a lottery (insist on a refurbished one, 260/261 are OK)
Check your bill carefully(the people both in front and behind me at checkout both had the same problem:the staff had not taken the deposit into account)
Check the small print of your internet offer intensely, our unmissable deal was not quite as advertised and it took three quarters of an hour of public arguement before the duty manager did the decent thing (would you spend £50 on food alone on a bar snack? No, and neither would we, but that's what the Castle Green expected us to pay when we turned up, as agreed, late in the evening after the restaurant had closed)
So, staying at the Castle Green is like flying with Ryanair: fine if you keep it simple, but woe betide you if you deviate ever so slightly!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilHardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,083
    495
    140
    46
    16
See reviews for
293
945
36
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Paid another visit to the Castle Green to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. As ever, we were not disappointed by the warmth and efficiency of our welcome, nor the cleanliness of our room. Very surprised to read a review criticising the reception staff who we have always found to be most courteous and helpful.

We enjoyed dinner in the restaurant which was excellent value for money - high quality at reasonable prices.

Unfortunately during the night I became ill with a degenerative neck condition and could not sleep. From experience, I know that getting out of bed is the only answer. Rather than disturb my husband, I dressed and went to sit in reception and read. Bearing in mind that it was the wee small hours, all staff who encountered me enquired as to whether I was well, and needed any help. One member of staff even kindly prepared a pot of really comforting fruit tea and sat with me for a while.

I was touched by their concern and appreciated the trouble they went to ensure that I was as comfortable as I could be ( in the circumstances) In my experience customer service of ths nature is all too rare.

We would recommend this hotel without hesitation. We will most certainly return ......

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micheleandrew85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

My friends & I checked into the hotel @ 530 pm after a long day of travel. Our rooms were ready when we arrived. We were all rather hungry but were told that the restaurant, & pub were booked for dinner and that there were no tables available till 9pm. Seems the pub is a popular place for locals and was full for dinner. With no other options we waited till 9 for dinner @ the pub. The food was very good. One of our better meals while in the UK.

There is a gym @ the hotel along with lots of parking for your car. My advice is if you are staying here book your dinner reservation asap as you may have to wait for hours.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missbhavn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We have stayed here before and wanted to revisit. I was bitterly disappointed. The bed was uncomfortable, the view was excellent. Cleanliness was average. We booked a table in Alexaders for the second night of our stay. The booked it for the wrong time, no apology. We were woken at 3am by some drunken yobs out on the corridor. These people had obviously come through reception into the hotel, why was nothing done until we complained? Will not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BikermouseNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, lancs
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Stayed at the Hotel on the way to the Lakes for the weekend.
Wish we could have stayed here for the full 3 nights.
Everything was wonderful to say the least. There was a couple of weddings going on at the same time as our stay - but you wouldnt have know it.
The hotel was not overrun by drunken wedding guests - they had their own private area.
The leisure centre was top notch - even had my first massage!! The grounds were lovely too.
The food was heavenly... and would love to stay again.
The only down side..... there was only a shower in the en suite. But it was a good powerful one.
10 out of 10.
look forward to coming back soon

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookiemonster68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitley bay
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Staff were very friendly and efficient both in the hotel and the Alexandra Pub situated in the grounds. The food in the restaurant was so good on the Friday evening we were looking forward to another exceptional dining experience on the Saturday, unfortunately this was not to be, when we asked to book a table we were informed the restaurant was fully booked for a wedding party. We find this unacceptable if you are a paying guest and then find you have to make alternative arrangements to eat, especially if your main aim is to relax from the every day grind. We dined in the Alexandra pub, the food was adequate, but not to the excellence of the restaurant, and if the rain had started earlier than it did we would have been soaked through by the time we got back into the hotel. We would go back but would check to see if the restaurant would be available on the nights we wish to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvmcmillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2009

The hotel is in a good location and set within nice grounds but if you are travelling for lesiure be aware that it is very much a business hotel. Our room was comfortable but the bed was small for 2 people and the general cleanliness was not great, especially in the bathroom. In the bathroom there was also some loose fittings and the room was dark and small. We ate out both nights of our stay so only encountered a few members of staff but the reception staff were bordering on the rude and very sarcastic when we asked a few basic questions e.g. best way to walk into town etc. (as we didnt get a proper answer to that question we asked at the bar and I have to say that the lady there was very helpful).

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creme1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,014 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
5.5 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
501 reviews
20.7 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Property: Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing