We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great Xmas pressy weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2010

My daughters are both travel agents and as such very hard to please when it comes to breaks away! My husband and I get a weekend away for our Xmas pressy and to date we have always have a great time. Our weekend stay at the Castle Green in Kendal stands out though. We were Lake District ' virgins ' when we set off. The hotel was set in stunning gardens and the room was lovely. My Spa treatments the afternoon of arrival was great and my husband's golf game at a discount ( because we were guests) at the local golf course went down well. I know they say it always rains in the lake district but we were lucky and the Sun shone. The hotel has an amazing restaurant which we sampled on our first night and the second night we dined in the pub which is in the grounds of the hotel. Both were excellent. Kendal is stunning and we enjoyed all the usual tourist jaunts. It was a fabulous break and one my husband and I would love to repeat. So at the risk of sounding like an advert get yourself off to Cooperative Travel in Malton or where ever you live because they know a great weekend break when they see one!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizduncan1, Sales Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2010

Thank you for your review, your daughters obviously have great taste!

Hope you don't wait until next Christmas to visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,829)
There are newer reviews for Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,711 - 1,717 of 1,829 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2010

We recently stayed here for 2 nights using Tesco deals vouchers. On arrival we were very impressed with the grounds and gardens which are immaculate. We were a little early to check in so had a drink and a sandwich in the Alexanders Pub and were so impressed we booked a table for our evening meal. Check in was swift and the staff friendly and very efficient. The room we got was lovely although it looked out over the back of the hotel it didn't spoil our stay at all. We made full use of the swimming pool, steam room and gym, all were spotlessly clean and again the staff were lovely. The view from the breakfast room is amazing and the breakfast itself very very good. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant as we preferred the coziness of the Alexanders pub but will maybe try it next time as we will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freckles-x-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizduncan1, Sales Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2010

We pride ourselves on our breakfast so glad you enjoyed it with the extra benefit of a window table - we've got a nuthatch nesting in the Oak tree opposite the restaurant windows so those tables are in even more demand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

This was my third stay at Castle Green and I certainly hope it won't be my last !
All the staff are warm and friendly, whilst remaining professional and diligent in their duties, nothing is too much trouble for them.
My room was on the 2nd floor with a balcony and fabulous views of the hotel gardens. Very comfortable and clean, no worries about walking on the carpet barefoot. Good choice of beverages kept well stocked. Bed linen pristine. First class standard of cleanliness.
The hotel has a dining room and a pub in the grounds. Breakfast is self service and the choices provided are impressive, sausage, bacon, eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes, hash browns, toast, a variety of cereals, pastries, a variety of fruits, fruit juices, tea, coffee. All the food is good quality, well cooked and presented. You eat what you want and as much as you want. The pub has the same standard of food, service and value for money.
I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat !

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limeade57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizduncan1, Sales Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2010

Thank you for your comments - don't need to say anything else, you're obviously a Castle Green convert!

See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

The hotel is set in lovely grounds and has excellent views from the restaurant. All the staff we encountered at check-in, in the restaurant and leisure suite were very friendly and helpful. We had a dinner in the restaurant which really exceeded our expectations in both quality and presentation. The buffet breakfast was also excellent with a good choice and eggs cooked to order. Unfortunately we were not told that the restaurant would be closed on the second evening due to an event and insufficient other guests. The food at Alexanders - the pub on site was very disappointing in comparison with the restaurant.
The staff were well tested the next morning with the numbers of diners at breakfast but the well organised staff should be commended for the way they ensured each guest had an experience we enjoyed on the first morning with far fewer diners. We had asked for a quiet room and had no noise issues and all the public facilities were clean and new. When the restaurant is open it is truely a fine dining experience.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twolancastrians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizduncan1, Sales Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2010

Many thanks for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed the restaurant and sorry you were disppointed with the food at the Pub. Despite the Pub offering a different style of cuisine we endeavour to ensure that the guest experience both in standard of service and food should be the same and I've passed on your comments to our Head Chef.

I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again for another gastronomic experience in the Restaurant - try our Spice up your Sunday night on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

I stayed at the Castle Green with my wife and young baby in early April. Our stay was pretty enjoyable, the hotel had good facilities with a nice spa and swimming pool. These facilities were all conveniently situated on site. The restaurant was nice and the food was good. There was also a bar there Alexanders which we had a drink in but didn't eat there, the menu seemed pretty varied. The best thing about the hotel was the staff and they were extremely pleasent with my one year old son. Something which is particularly important to me personally. I would happily recommend Castle Green to others, the only negatives I would say is that it does come across a bit business focussed and we did have an issue with the security of our room, window not locking shut etc, but this was resolved immediately.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizduncan1, Sales Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2010

Glad you had a good stay at the hotel and thanks for taking the time to post your comments.

Our best asset is our staff - over 30% of us have been working here for over 5 years or more so you'll always see a friendly, familiar face on each visit.

Apologies for the issue with the window, but glad we responded quickly to your request.

Look forward to seeing you and the little one in the near future.

Regards
Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We got excited by the setting and the grounds of Castle Green but that is where it ended. We waited over 10 minutes to check in because 2 pensioners were debating on what time to eat their dinner then the pushy receptionist tried to convince us to book dinner in their restaurant. Upon arriving in the room we found some water on the floor in the bathroom, turns out the sink was leaking. Having enjoyed our evening in Kendal we returned to our room to find even more water on the floor in the bathroom, had a decent nights sleep even though the matress felt like 2 matresses stuck together. Check out time was clearly states as 11am however we were knocked on 4 times between 9 and 10.30 by the cleaners. And the noise of children running up and down the corridors screaming and shouting was not the best. The staff and the owners of this hotel need to realise they are a BEST WESTERN and not the DORCHESTER or any other high quality hotel, all in all £124 for 1 night with NO meals included was shocking. I have stayed in the Lake District many times but will DEFINATELY NOT be going back to Castle Green

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goodison1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizduncan1, Sales Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2010

Thank you for your comments.

Please accept our apologies for the delay in checking in and feeling 'oversold' dinner in the restaurant. On busy nights we ask for dinner reservations on arrival to avoid disappointment later on in the evening - I have mentioned your experience to our Reception Manager.

I've not had any reports of a leaky sink from our maintenance team - all our sinks are incased in vanity units so rarely leak onto the floor - if you could contact me with the room number I can look into that.

We have made considerable investment over the past 2 years in our bedrooms and public areas, and believe our pricing compared to our competitiors in the Lake District is fair given our facilities - I'm sorry you feel you didn't receive value for money for your stay.

Regards
Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights bed and breakfast (using our Tesco Deal Vouchers). We stayed in a recently refurbished room (ask when you book). The room was clean and all the staff we came into contact with were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was really nice with 'proper sausages' and plenty choice. Apart from breakfast we ate elsewhere as we thought a little pricey but suppose it keeps the rif raf out!! We ate in Kendal centre at Table Table (Premier Inn) and Pizza Express (using our Tesco Deal Vouchers again). The hotel reception staff phoned a taxi for us, £4.00 each way. We could have a drink and it took the stress out of finding somewhere to park. One way systems in place. Every car park full . Lots of Zoned areas and Parking Permit Holders only So Beware!! Other than the parking situation in Kendal centre we had a really relaxing time in a quality hotel. Can't wait to go again.

Halifax, West Yorkshire

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HondaCivicHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizduncan1, Sales Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2010

Thanks for your comments.

Sorry that you felt our meals were a bit pricey compared to other alternatives in town. We endeavour to offer dishes to suit all our guests so I will certainly take those comments to my Food & Beverage manager.

Glad you took a taxi into town though - I've lived here all my life and still have to think how you get around the one way system!!

Regards
Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,055 reviews
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
7.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
442 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: £84 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing