We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent arts venue”

Brewery Arts Centre
Ranked #6 of 39 things to do in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Known nationally as a centre for world-class theatre, music, art and events, the Brewery has a 450 capacity music venue, three cinemas, two visual arts galleries, a drama studio, meeting rooms, a recently refurbished Grainstore restaurant, Warehouse Café, the famous Vats Bar, and a fantastic theatre seating 200.
Milnthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent arts venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We visit as much as we can to the theatre, the cinema, the art exhibitions and occasionally to eat. We are rarely disappointed!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    105
    32
    10
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“The Warehouse Cafe In The Centre = A Lovely Place To Relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

The Warehouse cafe is a social enterprise the profits from which go to support the rest of the Brewery centre. The cafe is set out with comfortable leather sofas, has free wifi and has some visual art displayed on its walls. The coffee is lovely and it also does great cakes and paninis. A lovely place to chat with friends, relax with a book or surf the net

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Marketing Team at Brewery Arts Centre, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thanks for the lovely review, and for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawarden, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good food and nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Great, substantial tapas. Nice atmosphere and good beers. Service was excellent, too. Has improved a great deal in the last couple of years. Well worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good experience after an unpromising start”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We had booked ahead for a Christmas meal at the Brewery's restaurant, and understood that we would be having the special Christmas menu. However, when we arrived, we were told that this was only available for parties of 6 or more (we were 4), and that our booking shouldn't have been accepted. This was a disappointment; however, the young man serving us couldn't have been more helpful, taking a significant amount off the bill in compensation, and giving us a free bottle of wine. so we ended up having a really good evening. The selection of tapas was excellent, interesting and sensibly sized, and would have been good value even without the reduction - vegetarian items were particularly good. We would certainly return after this experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank statslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Marketing Team at Brewery Arts Centre, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thanks for the feedback, over the last few weeks we have taken a look at streamlining our booking process to try to avoid any confusion in the future. And we're delighted you had such a lovely evening in our restaurant. We look foreard to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“went to see hobbit 3d”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Good cinema. 3d glasses were good quality. Nice seats but get a little uncomfortable after a while. Not a great selection of snacks.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank moss901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brewery Arts Centre also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Brewery Arts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing