We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous find!”

Brewery Arts Centre
Ranked #6 of 46 things to do in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Known nationally as a centre for world-class theatre, music, art and events, the Brewery has a 450 capacity music venue, three cinemas, two visual arts galleries, a drama studio, meeting rooms, a recently refurbished Grainstore restaurant, Warehouse Café, the famous Vats Bar, and a fantastic theatre seating 200.
Reviewed 21 April 2014

As you approach the Arts Centre, the grounds are beautifully landscaped, with plenty of space to enjoy them; the bar is spacious and welcoming, with a good range of interesting beers. We watched a film in the cinema, which was comfortable and clean. Friendly and helpful staff; a real gem!

Thank JanB1164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Marketing team at Brewery Arts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thanks for the visit and for the review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit - hope to see you again some time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pizza"
in 79 reviews
"great venue"
in 15 reviews
"grainstore restaurant"
in 6 reviews
"low ceiling"
in 4 reviews
"booked a table"
in 4 reviews
"film festival"
in 5 reviews
"outdoor seating"
in 4 reviews
"lovely food"
in 5 reviews
"coffee shop"
in 4 reviews
"cakes"
in 5 reviews
"lake district"
in 5 reviews
"theatre"
in 57 reviews
"vats"
in 19 reviews
"comedy"
in 15 reviews
"malt"
in 18 reviews
"brewery"
in 57 reviews
"gig"
in 17 reviews
Filter

200 - 204 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Visited the Brewery last night to see John Bramwell in concert. First time at the Arts Centre and what a wonderful venue for a gig!! Excellent facilities and staff. Thanks for a great night, hope to be back soon.

Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

18 months ago I moved to Kendal and now live just round the corner from BAC. It's a fantastic local venue and I've seen some great bands there already, considering how small the venue is. Last year I saw Buzzcocks, The Damned, Dreadzone, Culture, and the utterly shockingly brilliant Acid Mothers Temple. BUT ... worryingly the BAC line-up for 2014 is rubbish by comparison, hardly any known names, and way too much folky-diddly stuff. I hope they'll get their act together and book some more good music soon. I also approached them with an idea to stage a DJ / Dance / Live Acts night there, and to help finance it, because Kendal doesn't have anything like that ... but I was curtly turned down with an arrogant "oh we only have live music here" ... shame, they do not know what they're missing, as I stage such things professionally. Anyway I should also mention that BAC has two cinemas and show a good selection of new films, including 3D (though you might want to take industrial-strength cleaner along to clean the glasses provided.

Thank TheHikingDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah B, Manager at Brewery Arts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post a review up of The Brewery. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the line up of bands from last year. We try and put on a wide range of music to suit the many differing tastes our our audience. We will have more music coming up that you may be interested in - The Beat has just been booked for September. http://www.breweryarts.co.uk/music/listing/THE-BEAT1, keep checking the website as we tend to put up one or two new acts a week.

We do have a DANCE night this Saturday (10th May) - VOODOO Robot, which looks like it is going to be a great night.

Thanks for the tip off about the cinema 3D glasses - we have followed this up, if you have more problems with dirty glasses please let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Excellent service, excellent food! We were welcomed with open arms and waited on attentively! The food was amazing and there was so much choice! Well done!

Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Marketing team at Brewery Arts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Hi Emma, we're really pleased you enjoyed your visit. Our chef Ged and the kitchen team were delighted to hear that you'd enjoyed it so much. We regularly update the menu - so there's always something new to try. For latest info on Food & Drink at the Brewery follow us on Twitter @CumbriaFoodies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Great venue, been to a couple of gigs there. Nice bar and the hall is a reasonable size.
Cinema area is also good witha great screen and comfy seats.

Thank Twiggysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brewery Arts Centre also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Brewery Arts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing