We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Levens Hall

Levens Hall
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Levens Hall is an Elizabethan historic house and garden, located at the entrance to the Lake District in the county of Cumbria.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Levens Hall is a lovely little place with beautiful gardens and a little train ride for children which was cute. The cafe is nice, very limited in what it offers but supplies all the basics which is all that's necessary and the seating in a little garden/courtyard makes it a lovely spot to have coffee.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Livgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    95
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Nice gardens and house; worth a visit...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Very nice gardens and well kept. The gardens are fantastic and a pleasure to walk around on a nice day, (weather permitting)! The house is also worth a visit, but to be honest the price is a bit steep. Also a shame the billard room was not accessible. Another annoying thing is that you can't take photos in the house!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SLeeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Levens is renowned for its topiary and its delphiniums, and both lived up to their reputation! The gardens are magical, and you could easily spend most of the day wandering in them. The house itself is also interesting, while there is also a pleasant café with garden seating and a well-stocked gift shop.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Northbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very interesting place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Being a professional gardener I was very interested in this garden. I could appreciate how much work goes into maintaining such a wonderful place.
Croquet was being played on the lawns and set the scene for a quintessential English Garden.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jeancollom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimate, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Started off this visit with elevenses in the cafe then off for a walk around the great gardens. It came on to rain so we adjourned back to the cafe for an excellent lunch. We then had an absolutely fascinating tour around the house itself - so full of history !!! Then it was back to the cafe for afternoon tea ! Did we enjoy ourselves - you bet we did!! It really started with the really friendly Guy at the gate and everybody else was sooo friendly. Cafe any good?? - We ate there three times that day and we've never done that before,,,, Don't hesitate, just go and have a good day out - rain or shine. Good little touristy shop too!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnTheWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Levens Hall also viewed

 
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Levens Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing