We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A favourite”

Review of Barnhaven

Cottage from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage from the garden
Ample parking and large garden Living room with wood stove and patio doors
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Cottage from the garden
Ample parking and large garden
Living room with wood stove and patio doors
Living room with patio doors into garden
Patio area
Master bedroom with original beams
Dressing area in master bedroom
Second bedroom
Third room with bunk beds
Kitchen from dining room
View from the kitchen
View across Lyth Valley from bedroom
House from garden
Garden in Spring
Garden from car park
Barnhaven in snow
Welcoming wood burning stove
Winter view from Barnhaven down lane
Daffodils and primroses in Spring
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Mairead M
1 review
“A favourite”
Reviewed 2 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I've now stayed here twice and plan to be back!

It is very well equipped and feels relaxing from arrival. It's a great base for exploring the Lake District but is also ideal for lazy days in and local walks (Scout Scar well worth the trip).

Have enjoyed my stay both with friends and their children, and on my own to recharge the batteries.

Communication and booking process is excellent and and queries are responded to swiftly.

Thoroughly recommended

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark and...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another fab holiday”
Reviewed 25 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Once again we have thoroughly enjoyed our week in Barnhaven-our fourth holiday here. Despite storm Doris we have had plenty of walks and bike riding. This time we found the bird watching hide-a great way to see a huge variety of birds. Many thanks once again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam R
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage in a great location. Perfect base for a relaxing break”
Reviewed 28 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

This is our third visit to Barnhaven. It's a really spacious cottage and there was plenty of space for 5 adults and 2 children. The cottage is exceptionally clean, really well equipped.

It's so quiet, so great for relaxing. The master bed is extremely comfortable and having an en suite is an added bonus. Plenty of games for the kids and DVDs for the family. It has a really big kitchen which everything you could possibly need and a nice separate dining area.

The local pub, the Wheatsheaf is only a 10 minute walk away and is great if you want some food.

A great way to spend a few days away from the city!

I can only think of positives to describe this cottage. Hopefully we will be back for our fourth visit next year

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindajf21...
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely holiday”
Reviewed 1 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We had a very enjoyable short stay at Barnhaven - it's a really nice cottage with surroundings to match. The house is very well equipped, well kept and spacious. The living room is a lovely feature with an impressive fireplace and wood burning stove (wood provided). Brigsteer is a fascinating village with a good pub within walking distance of the cottage. Hopefully our next stay will be longer!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie W
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed 27 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Great cottage very peaceful picturesque
location. Everything you need is provided. Had a lovely stay and would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent, hidden gem for a family or small group”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Just returned from our second stay at Barnhaven. Its a lovely (big) cottage that can easy sleep a family or small group of friends. There is some easy walking out of the door, whilst Ambleside is around 30mins away. The village is quiet, with a very good pub around five minutes walk away.

Very dark skys at night, log fire and big kitchen. What more could you want from a country cottage?

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjhorn
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Excellent, would do it again.”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Comfortable, large and well-furnished, well-equpped. Gorgeous location.
A car is essential, of course, since the village has a good pub but no shops.
Well-situated for the south Lakes.
A minor confusion at the start was quickly and efficiently dealt with by the owners. Much appreciated.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing