We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lakeland Gem”
Review of West Barn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Barn B&B
Ranked #26 of 44 Kendal B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Outstanding in every way. Top class locally sourced food, a warm cosy room with a great view and great walks right from the doorstep.
What more could you ask for?
Oh yes and a perfect host. Someone who understands how to make her guests feel comfortable, and for whom nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

There's not much more to say about it really. When we arrived Sue (the owner) had baked the most amazing lemon & ginger cake, and there were homemade cookies in our room. The room was immaculate and very comfortable. When we stayed she was was no longer providing dinner which I must admit was a bit of a shame because her breakfast was second-to-none. All of the ingredients were organic and locally-sourced where possible - the eggs were VERY local from her own hens. The sausages and bacon were some of the best we have ever tasted (and we like our sausages!). However, Sue was able to point us in the direction of her local pub The Punch Bowl which provided us with a good, tasty dinner and she even went to the trouble of booking it for us before we arrived.
Sue was polite and very helpful, and the setting is just idyllic. I would not only recommend West Barn, I would insist upon it. Keep up the amazing work, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chunkywizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just returned from a weekend stay at Sue's fantastic B+B. Such a lovely place and Sue made us feel totally welcome as soon as she met us at the door (in fact, even before that with our chats over the phone and through the informative e-mails she sent).
We stayed in the upstairs room, (accessed by its own private landing), aptly named Goldfinches, from where we could watch these pretty, little birds feeding in the garden. The view from this window is beautifully panoramic, framing the glorious countryside and wildlife perfectly. The room itself is rustically charming and the bed, one of the most comfortable we have slept in. Delicious home-made goodies are replenished daily on Sue's well-stocked tea tray and are very welcome after a busy day out.
The stylish bathroom is situated directly next door to the bedroom and, again, is completely private. The shower is easy to use and powerful. This, complimented by fluffy towels, under-floor heating, lovely toiletries and comfy bathrobes, makes bathing a delight.
The breakfasts are tasty and wholesome with granolas, muesli, yoghurt, home-made preserves and bread and, of course, the full English, complete with golden yolked eggs from Sue's own hens.
All in all, a perfect place to stay, which I would recommend without hesitation. Thank-you so much, Sue, for making mine and Pete's visit so fantastic. We shall definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Relaxed33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I can only agree with all the lovely comments below. This B&B is perfect in every way. Great location, lovely room and a top quality breakfast, beautifully cooked by Sue. Eggs lovingly laid by her 'girls'. Sue is a lovely lady who takes great pride in producing an amazing B&B experience. I can't fault anything and I'm very picky. We'll definitely go back. I loved my visit to see the sheep, lambs and chickens. A 10 out of 10 stay x

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Woody01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just a brief review as I don't normally take the time and effort to do this, but on this occasion I felt the warm welcome and fantastic experience made it compulsory !!!!

We were greeted by Sue, with a lovely warm welcome and it just got better and better from there on. The room was fantastic (we were upstairs in the Goldfinch) with a private bathroom next door. The breakfast was also fantastic and Sue is a lovely warm person, so all in all a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed for three nights at West Barn B and B this Easter. It is in a peaceful rural location, and when we went the surrounding fields were full or gorgeous baby lambs! The B and B has great character and our room (downstairs) was spacious, clean and so comfortable, with lovely organic products in the bathroom. Sue gave us such a warm welcome and we really appreciated all her thoughtful touches - letting us see her newborn lamb on arrival, cake waiting in our room, treating us with hot-cross buns and Easter eggs on Easter Sunday, and fresh eggs to take home when we left. We could not have asked for better breakfasts - high quality, delicious, locally sourced ingredients. We felt really well cared for during our stay and could not recommend West Barn more highly. It is the perfect place from which to explore the Lake District and to return to to relax. Many thanks to Sue.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiliPepper0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I would highly recommend West Barn B&B, John & I both had an amazing time, It was my first time visiting the Lakes and I couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. Upon arrival at West Barn we met the sheep and lambs in the field and went to collect the eggs which we had for breakfast the following morning. The room was cosy and homely, with freshly baked cake on arrival and in the morning we opened our curtains to the view of the cows in the field. Breakfast contained beautifully cooked sausages and bacon from local farmers along with homemade bread and jam. Sue was so friendly and welcoming and even helped us look for local events for that that day. Our whole experience at the Lake District this weekend was perfect. We're both looking forward to seeing updates of the lambs until we visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saralouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,136 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Underbarrow
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
4.9 mi away
Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake
3.8 mi away
Eagle & Child Inn
Eagle & Child Inn
#1 of 2 in Staveley
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Barn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Barn B&B

Address: Barrows Green, Kendal LA8 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Barn is a luxury, environmentally friendly Bed & Breakfast near Kendal in the Lake District. Using quality locally sourced food/organic food and organic products situated in a peaceful, rural, wildlife haven. Nestled at the end of a quiet country lane in a hamlet of 3 properties, surrounded by fields, woodland and wonderful scenery and yet only 3 miles from the vibrant town centre of Kendal. Friendly but discreet, professional service, offering imaginative home cooked dinners and breakfasts with homemade jams and preserves and a level of service normally associated with a 4* hotel.: West Barn is truly a special place to stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Barn B&B Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing