We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer in a Barrel”
Review of Vats Bar

Vats Bar
Ranked #62 of 153 Restaurants in Kendal
Price range: US$6 - US$13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: There's a great choice of eating and drinking at the Brewery - something for every taste. The Brewery has somewhere to eat all day, every day of the week. In the Day: The Warehouse: a relaxed lounge, serving a range of drinks from Farrer's specialty teas to bottles of local Hawkshead ale. It also serves the best latte in town. Eat locally made cakes, homemade scones and soups. In the Evening: The Vats Bar & Grainstore: Our extraordinary bar and restaurant serve a range of superb beers, wines and spirits and serve the famous Brewery Pizzas and our fabulous 'Brewery Tapas'. The Vats and Grainstore are bustling, off-beat, friendly venues and should be part of any night out in the 'Auld Grey Town'.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Beer in a Barrel”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Literally. you can sit in an old barrel which has got a round bench and table in it. Lovely beer, didn't try the food here but theres a great Thai restaurant just across the road.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    39
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Can be a bit risky but great when it's right!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Good food, somewhere a bit different - an interesting venue with atmosphere. Really good when it's not too busy or food gets delayed for some random reason. Definitely worth considering if going to a film or concert at The Brewery Arts Centre — or somewhere nice to sit outside with a drink if the weather's good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 976barbaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Very busy but superb pizza”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were going to a concert at the Brewery Arts centre and decided to eat before hand. We couldn't get into the restaurant as it was packed, but we fancied eating outside anyway, so that worked well, and we could order food from the menu at the bar.

Good job we got there early as there is a lot of space, but not many tables and chairs. They could get loads more in.

Great food choices on the menu, drink was a touch on the expensive side - £9.80 for a red wine and a lager.

We both had a pizza, beautifully cooked with nice toppings. Good vegetarian options which was nice to see.

The only downside was a silly little boy waiter who had a paddy and plopped the food he was carrying on a wall while shouting at another waiter to "sort it out, I'm too busy to do this" (He couldn't find which table it was for). It was silly and made him look very unprofessional.

The other minor point would be to put more people on the bar, there was just two but people waiting to be served were mounting up and getting impatient.

Would definitely consider eating here again if visiting the centre, but would allow plenty of time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soozintheshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah B, Manager at Vats Bar, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for the review. We're delighted that you had such a great time at The Brewery and look forward to seeing you here again. And we're very sorry about the little incident you witnessed, we will review this with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Best bar in town”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Yes the Vats Bar is the best in town, but hey Kendal has a huge selection of sad pubs ... Vats is part of the Brewery Arts Centre and is popular with people going there for live music or a film. Vats always has a great selection of real ales, and they do really good pizzas too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheHikingDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“bar staff hopeless”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

we were meeting friends we had not seen for a while and thought as they could park here this was a good place to meet. It was about 4pm and not many people in the bar but as our previous visits the staff looked disinterested and my husband had to interrupt them. needless to say we didn't stay as planned we went to the wine bar and our custom seemed welcome

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank walkthisway464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vats Bar also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Vats Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing