We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dining at its finest! by Helen Evans”
Review of Castle Dairy

Castle Dairy
Ranked #10 of 150 Restaurants in Kendal
Price range: US$12 - US$97
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Castle Dairy Restaurant and Art Gallery offers a unique dining experience in Kendal’s oldest inhabited building. Staffed by Kendal College apprentices and watched over by chef Chris O’Callaghan, the restaurant provides exceptional food, surrounded by local art work, in a truly unusual setting.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fine Dining at its finest! by Helen Evans”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Friends and I ate at the Castle Dairy on Saturday evening. This was my first experience of a restaurant I had heard so much about. The environment was beautiful from the moment we walked through the door - oak panelling, grandfather clocks and antiques galore! The quality of service and food went on to match the decor - outstanding. The food included:

Deep Fried Polenta & Wild Mushroom Balls, Parmesan Cream, Chervil, Cep Cappuccino

Seared Venison Loin, Braised venison Pie, Red Wine Glazed Salsify, Buttered Kale, Caramel Poached Apple, Venison Jus

Chocolate Orange Delice, White Chocolate Crumble, Orange Mousse, Cacao Nib Ice Cream

I couldn't fault this meal nor the level of service that accompanied it - highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hbomb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    44
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“atmosphere + +”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My wife was in a wheel chair when we arrived and Adam was at the door to welcome us and get us settled. Dank Wednesday lunchtime and the atmosphere was easy and buzzing plus a real wood fire. Easy parking at the back of the restaurant and disabled loos available but more to arrive soon after further development .
Interesting menu with novel twists to the food. Small details were missing from the description of each dish to explain what would arrive.
Enjoyed our food except there was a longish wait for the second course to arrive.
Cost £70 for two courses, two beers, two tonics + gratuity but was just about worth it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlbionLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Castle Dairy”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Went to the Castle Dairy Saturday night, the best food I have ever tasted. Could not fault the service. 1st class food 1st class service 1st class surroundings.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Seagulls71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful food, beautiful building.”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My wife and I ate at the castle dairy for our anniversary. We are both struggling to remember having a better meal. The service was very good. The food was exceptional, the wood pigeon starter especially was excellent (even more impressed after viewing the kitchen which is cramped to say the least) and the building is a lovely place to be.
Good luck with the renovations and we look forwards to coming back.
Thank you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philippotomus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Castle Dairy by Matt Lowry Carlisle”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Having tried out many of the restaurants in Carlisle and the surrounding villages my friend suggested going further afield. At first I thought the long trip to Kendal from Carlisle would be not worth the hassle. I WAS WRONG - Amazing food, top notch service and all in a historic and interesting building, A must for anyone who is sick of the usual chain style restaurants. Id recommend this place to anyone and it was well worth the trip. 5*

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt-Lowry-Carlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Dairy also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Castle Dairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing