We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Dairy

Castle Dairy
Ranked #17 of 146 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$69
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have been many time and have always had a great meal.
All the staff are really nice and friendly, you are never rushed at any time during the meal which
give you time to enjoy your meal at all times.
We had our wedding here in December 2012 and they made our day so special.
Menu's are changed regular basis so each visit is different. Well done to all the staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AdeleCheeseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YellowEyes, Public Relations Manager at Castle Dairy, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are happy that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Castle Dairy restaurant and it is a pleasure to allow our guests to have a 'nosey around' and meet our chefs.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    44
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Thank to all the staff who made our meal so special and for allowing me to have a nosey around !!!
The food was exquisite and the atmosphere was so relaxed. In all a perfect night.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seahouses13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We booked a table on Friday evening having heard good things about the restaurant. We'd were met at the door and offered drinks while we waited for our friends. Nice menu choices and we all enjoyed our starters. Main course arrived and two of our party's food was barely warm. We looked around for someone to ask to sort this out but no one was around,so we reluctantly carried on and ate our "warm"food. No one even asked us during our meal if we were enjoying it which would have given us the chance to say. Even when our main courses were being cleared we were never asked if we had enjoyed it. We declined desserts and left quite disgruntled. After having been recommended, we left feeling dissapointed and will not return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bess1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
208 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Really excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Very high standard of food and surroundings and a great credit to Kendal College for launching such an innovative project which will undoubtedly benefit many young people and hospitality businesses in the area.

Portions are not huge by any means, but are exquisitely crafted.

Very well-done, all !

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jdboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best food ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

A great welcome and excellent professional staff managing the restaurant. A wonderful evening in a brilliant restaurant with the most amazing food, great attention to detail and supreme flavours. A very clever chef and team. Better than many michelin restaurants we have been to in the past. Thank you all.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank clarabelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Dairy also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Castle Dairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing