We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste excellence”
Review of Castle Dairy

Castle Dairy
Ranked #15 of 155 Restaurants in Kendal
Price range: US$12 - US$101
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Castle Dairy Restaurant and Art Gallery offers a unique dining experience in Kendal’s oldest inhabited building. Staffed by Kendal College apprentices and watched over by chef Chris O’Callaghan, the restaurant provides exceptional food, surrounded by local art work, in a truly unusual setting.
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This was a delightful experience. The building is atmospheric, fascinating history. Service is friendly and warm. We decided to try the taster menu which was not disappointing. Each course had its own delicious mixture of flavours which complimented each other. Every course was beautifully presented, a picture on a canvas. The portions were perfect to enable you to enjoy all 8 courses. Adam really looked after us and took us to meet the chefs later. Brilliant. We will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anick1tc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YellowEyes, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dairy, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We are genuinely delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Castle Dairy restaurant and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Castle Dairy
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 170 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have been many time and have always had a great meal.
All the staff are really nice and friendly, you are never rushed at any time during the meal which
give you time to enjoy your meal at all times.
We had our wedding here in December 2012 and they made our day so special.
Menu's are changed regular basis so each visit is different. Well done to all the staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AdeleCheeseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YellowEyes, Public Relations Manager at Castle Dairy, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are happy that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Castle Dairy restaurant and it is a pleasure to allow our guests to have a 'nosey around' and meet our chefs.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Thank to all the staff who made our meal so special and for allowing me to have a nosey around !!!
The food was exquisite and the atmosphere was so relaxed. In all a perfect night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Seahouses13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We booked a table on Friday evening having heard good things about the restaurant. We'd were met at the door and offered drinks while we waited for our friends. Nice menu choices and we all enjoyed our starters. Main course arrived and two of our party's food was barely warm. We looked around for someone to ask to sort this out but no one was around,so we reluctantly carried on and ate our "warm"food. No one even asked us during our meal if we were enjoying it which would have given us the chance to say. Even when our main courses were being cleared we were never asked if we had enjoyed it. We declined desserts and left quite disgruntled. After having been recommended, we left feeling dissapointed and will not return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank bess1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Very high standard of food and surroundings and a great credit to Kendal College for launching such an innovative project which will undoubtedly benefit many young people and hospitality businesses in the area.

Portions are not huge by any means, but are exquisitely crafted.

Very well-done, all !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jdboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Dairy also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Castle Dairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing