We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely coffee, cake and lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charlie's Cafe Bar

Charlie's Cafe Bar
Ranked #31 of 146 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Set in a historic grade II listed building, Prince Charlie's House, we offer an excellent menu choice from all day breakfasts, local beefburgers, specials of the day, soup, sandwiches and a fantastic range of biscuits, tray bakes and sweets made on the premises. We have a lovely secret garden with an awning for you to enjoy all year round. High chairs are available, baby changing facilities and children's menu with colouring sacks to keep young ones entertained. Well behaved pets welcome.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely coffee, cake and lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Came in for coffee, but the food looked so temping that we ended up having lunch. A lovely rambling old house and a garden in the back. A good selection of lunch dishes (including salads, burgers, hot sandwiches and more substantial dishes) plus some delicious cakes. The food and drinks were excellent and the prices reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TPTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    31
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Coffee break on a very wet afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We had a good experience .Very busy , good food .Thought the coffee was little strong ,but drinkable , may just be me !Look forward to visiting again

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandolin1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton-in-Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great selection and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We called in for a coffee and a cake and were totally spoiled for choice. Both the coffee and confectionary were excellent. We will certainly try lunch there in the near future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank denise w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Great for mums and babies!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Charlies is a lovley spot in Kendal, where eating outside and in are equally enjoyable. There are activity bags to keep the kids entertained whilst you eat you meals.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tulip1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kendal, uk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“great cafe bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Charlies is a fab cafe, we go as often as we can as they have a diverse menu to suit all tastes, all day breakfast is always a winner! everything is freshly cooked using local ingredients, the staff are very friendly and attentive, children are well catered for in the menu as well as having colouring books and pencils, lovely bright, clean decor in a very interesting old building.
All in all, easily one of the best places to eat in kendal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank juby5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charlie's Cafe Bar also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Charlie's Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing