We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always interesting.”

The Quaker Tapestry Exhibition Centre
Ranked #7 of 42 things to do in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lancaster
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always interesting.”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

If you are the slightest bit interested in embroidery or in Quaker history, this is a great exhibition. Each embroidered panel illustrates some aspect of Quaker history or belief - educational and very beautiful!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget G, General Manager at The Quaker Tapestry Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hello Lisa
Thank you for posting your review for the Quaker Tapestry. We will be open this year on the 31 March - just before Easter. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
With best wishes
Bridget
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    41
    8
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,220 reviews
578 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,225 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

This is fascinating display of the finest craftsmanship. The Quaker movement is very strong in this part of the country and visitors can learn about its history and practices. There is a nice tea room attached.

Helpful?
1 Thank Howi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What a wonderful experience, wow!!!!!”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Thank you so much. For the wonderful friendly welcome. The tapestry's were really beautiful, informative and inspirational. I came with a friend and we spent a good 2 1/2 hours looking around.

There is something for everyone so for all the men out there, don't think it's just for 'us girls'. There's a lot of social history, including a good train related exhibit.

If you need a break half way round I would heartily recommend the cafe, again a lovely welcome and good food (veggie).

Given the opportunity I would happily make a return visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget G, General Manager at The Quaker Tapestry Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It is sometimes difficult to persuade the 'men' that the they too will find the Quaker Tapestry interesting so your response and comments are very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tapestry exhibition”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I'm no expert at any form of needlework but I could not help but admire the quality of the needlework on the panels on display. They have my admiration!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cliff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget G, General Manager at The Quaker Tapestry Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
This is good to hear - thank you for your response. It is true that you don't need to know anything about embroidery to appreciate the panels. I know that many visitors are not sure of what to expect when they visit the exhibition and many do find that this is certainly much more than just a Tapestry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A magical evening!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We visited on a Sunday evening in June to watch a taster/scenes from an upcoming production about Lady Ann Clifford.The performance was excellent as were the costumes!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Quaker Tapestry Exhibition Centre also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to The Quaker Tapestry Exhibition Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing