We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great use of a big old building”

The Quaker Tapestry Exhibition Centre
Ranked #7 of 46 things to do in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Quaker tapestry is a collective effort by many congregations and groups of people over the last 25 years or so. Its permanent home is in the Friends meetinghouse in Kendal. It offers insights into many little-known aspects of social history and the efforts of some to make the world a better place.

1  Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget G, General Manager at The Quaker Tapestry Exhibition Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thanks for your review Margaret
This lovely old building is very cherished, as is the Tapestry... I am glad you were able to visit. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"meeting house"
in 4 reviews
"audio guide"
in 3 reviews
"leave plenty of time"
in 2 reviews
"barclays bank"
in 2 reviews
"introductory video"
in 2 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 11 reviews
"great little cafe"
in 2 reviews
"volunteer staff"
in 2 reviews
"excellent tea room"
in 2 reviews
"an interesting place to visit"
in 2 reviews
"small space"
in 2 reviews
"on display"
in 5 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 5 reviews
"excellent cafe"
in 2 reviews
"visiting kendal"
in 2 reviews
"coffee shop"
in 2 reviews
"lake district"
in 4 reviews
Filter

104 - 108 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

If you are the slightest bit interested in embroidery or in Quaker history, this is a great exhibition. Each embroidered panel illustrates some aspect of Quaker history or belief - educational and very beautiful!

Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget G, General Manager at The Quaker Tapestry Exhibition Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Hello Lisa
Thank you for posting your review for the Quaker Tapestry. We will be open this year on the 31 March - just before Easter. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
With best wishes
Bridget

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

This is fascinating display of the finest craftsmanship. The Quaker movement is very strong in this part of the country and visitors can learn about its history and practices. There is a nice tea room attached.

1  Thank Howi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Thank you so much. For the wonderful friendly welcome. The tapestry's were really beautiful, informative and inspirational. I came with a friend and we spent a good 2 1/2 hours looking around.

There is something for everyone so for all the men out there, don't think it's just for 'us girls'. There's a lot of social history, including a good train related exhibit.

If you need a break half way round I would heartily recommend the cafe, again a lovely welcome and good food (veggie).

Given the opportunity I would happily make a return visit.

1  Thank Gina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget G, General Manager at The Quaker Tapestry Exhibition Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. It is sometimes difficult to persuade the 'men' that the they too will find the Quaker Tapestry interesting so your response and comments are very welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I'm no expert at any form of needlework but I could not help but admire the quality of the needlework on the panels on display. They have my admiration!

Thank Cliff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget G, General Manager at The Quaker Tapestry Exhibition Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

This is good to hear - thank you for your response. It is true that you don't need to know anything about embroidery to appreciate the panels. I know that many visitors are not sure of what to expect when they visit the exhibition and many do find that this is certainly much more than just a Tapestry!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Quaker Tapestry Exhibition Centre also viewed

 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to The Quaker Tapestry Exhibition Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing