We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truely fabulous B&B in the most beautiful spot”
Review of Crosthwaite House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crosthwaite House
Ranked #23 of 44 Kendal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I have never written a review about a place I have stayed at before and part of me thinks I shouldn't about Crosthwaite House because I want to keep it as our little secret!!! But Sam and Tiree deserve all the praise I can give them as their B&B is truely fabulous and their hospitality was second to none. From the moment we arrived, my husband and I felt relaxed and comfortable, as did our little Jack Russell Branston, who made friends veryu quickly with the family's black lab. We had a lovely double room with direct access to the garden and every morning woke to the sound of the blackbirds. Breakfast was lovely and certainly set us up for the day - on their website, they talk about starting up Aga Suppers and judging from the quality of the breakfasts, these are going to be great. Thank you to Sam and Tiree for making are stay in the Lyth Valley so lovely - we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipster46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

Thank you so much for posting your review. We really enjoyed you all being here (Branston included!) and were very pleased you tried so many of our breakfast specials :) We really hope to see you again and promise to do our best to organise equally excellent weather for your next visit!

Tiree and Sam xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 100 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2011

We were both welcomed and charmed from the outset by this gem of a B&B set in a lush valley with plum orchards.It is a Georgian looking building that has been recently refurbished with visual flair and imagination by the pleasant young couple who run it.
The beautiful photographs that attracted us on the website are reproduced in the halls
and welcoming looking lounge area where we noticed that home made sloe cordial was left for guests to enjoy. Our room was spotless and comfortable, and our ten year old daughter catered for with a small bed at a reduced price. The shower worked well, and the loo was clean and quiet and there were enough decent towels and soap. The traditional Cumbrian breakfast-there were other options for vegetarians - was particularly good with locally sourced ingredients and I got a refill for my coffee and an offer of more toast. The marmalade tasted home made. My wife said that really it was the best B&B she'd ever stayed in, and I agree: every detail has been considered, and it adds up to complete comfort and relaxation for lucky guests.

Room Tip: Good inexpensive places to eat nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strandskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a thorough review. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us - reading your review has re-energised me after a tiring bank-holiday morning of cleaning all the rooms, so a big thank you for that!

Hope you had a safe journey back home, and that we'll see you all again one day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

I cannot wait to go back to this beautiful B & B. Sam & Tiree (our hosts) were so welcoming, not only helping us to plan a hike but giving advice on the local area and cooking up the most amazing breakfast. Delicious granola followed by a traditional english breakfast or the special of the day (eg scrambled eggs). All rooms were beautiful and each individually decorated with great style. The spacious living room, breakfast room and 3 of the bedrooms look out over the most stunning view of the Cumbrian countryside and the other bedrooms are also light and airy - ours on the top floor even had a door leading down into the garden. Highly recommended - it's Sam & Tiree's first season running this place after taking over from their parents, so I imagine that it will book up fast once people know how great it is. Reserve your room now!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2011

Hello Katie

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. It was really lovely to meet you both and I'm glad you enjoyed your weekend - certainly couldn't have asked for better weather for the wedding! We really enjoyed having you all to stay, it was great fun. Trust you had a safe journey home and hope to see you again

Tiree and Sam x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

I have never reviewed before but Sam and Tiree looked after me (and the whole group of us who had all the rooms booked out for a local wedding) exceptionally well. My room was immaculate and very pretty (I had Farleigh - the single at the front of the house which spectacular views). As I understand it all the individually designed rooms had lovely touches like home made biscuits waiting, digital radios and tvs and we had fresh poseys as well.

The breakfasts were superb (or rather the one I had, overdid the second night so didn't make it down in time) but the welcome they gave us was fantastic. We arranged a small picnic on Saturday lunchtime for a larger group of friends and they put out tables and chairs for us - we were touched at their devoted attention. (It was so pictueresque although that might have been helped by the weather which meant eating outside in April was almost too warm!)

I cannot recommend Crosthwaite House highly enough. And am now looking for an excuse to go back.

Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RozIHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2011

Hello

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review - we are so excited as it is our first one! We're really glad you enjoyed your stay at Crosthwaite House...it was our absolute pleasure to have you all here, it was a great fun weekend and I'm so glad the weather was superb for you all.

Thanks again

Tiree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
6.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,136 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Underbarrow
50 reviews
6.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
10.6 mi away
Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake
6.2 mi away
Eagle & Child Inn
Eagle & Child Inn
#1 of 2 in Staveley
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosthwaite House

Address: Near Kendal, Kendal LA8 8BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range: £35 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful Lyth Valley on the southern edge of the Lake District National Park, we offer a 3 bedroom self catering apartment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crosthwaite House Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing