We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing short of excellent!!”
Review of Crosthwaite House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crosthwaite House
Ranked #23 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed for two nights, as was attending a wedding nearby.

From the off this was a superb stay. Great location, about 15 mins drive from Bowness.


Everything about the stay was fantastic. The décor of the place is bright and air yet homely cosy vibe. There a lot of cool retro trinkets and ornaments dotted about. Gives the place a real charm and unique character. Plenty of sweets, biscuits and indeed Damson Gin were left around for guests to enjoy. There’s an ample selection of books magazines and dvds as well to borrow.

Breakfast was such good quality, great coffee, amazing home made granola and fruit cups and the full Cumbrian breakfast was first class.


The hosts are both very friendly and welcoming people which is absolutely crucial in a small hotel. Speaking from experience it can make or break a place! I get the impression that nothing is too much trouble for Sam. We had an extra guest who was stuck for somewhere to stay at short notice, so my room was converted from a king to a twin with no fuss whatsoever. Beds were comfy, radios and tvs in each room, teamaking facilities, massive white towels were great too.

I’ll definitely be recommending Crossthwaite House to friends and family and hope to return at some point myself. Really can’t stress enough how much I liked the place and enjoyed my stay.

Absolutely brilliant.

Room Tip: Had room 5. Lovely room but doesn't have a view of the valley. Didn't bother me too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thanks so much for leaving us such a glowing review :) We're really pleased you enjoyed your weekend at Crosthwaite House, hope to see you again! Tiree and Sam xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stopped here on our way to the Highlands following reviews and were very impressed. Our family of five had a lovely welcome to this big & airy house and all three rooms had great views over the fields to the front. Rooms are well appointed, comfortable, clean, with individual quirky vintage elements and great en suite facilities. We went to the nearby Punch Bowl for dinner (see sep review) which is just a few minutes walk way (torch provided by front door if needed), Breakfast was fantastic with excellent choice and something for everyone - all beautifully presented in a lovely dining room over looking the fields and hills in front. At just a few minute off the M6 this was perfect for us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicity B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you had a great time in the Highlands! Best wishes and thanks again, Tiree and Sam x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Having stayed in many B&Bs I would like to say how delightful a place Crosthwaite Guest House is. It is friendly and relaxed, I had a cosy single room with a view and the most imaginative and beautifully presented and served breakfasts I can remember, rivalling any top 5* establishment's food. All in a lovely peaceful south Lakeland setting.

Don't tell too many people, I want to be able to go back.

Room Tip: Any that I had sight of. I had the only single room, south facing. All are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMWIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you so much for leaving us a review. We're all glowing with pride at you giving our breakfasts 5 stars :) made our day! Really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Sam and Tiree x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We thoroughly enjojoyed our stay at crosthwaite house in March, We had stayed there before a couple of times many years ago. Now the next generation have stepped up to run the place and they do it very well. There is a really nice nice feal to the place with many home crafted touches. Clean well presented rooms and a tasty breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrop32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thanks so much for leacing us a review, it was lovely to have so many generations of one family filling the house! Glad you had a great time, best wishes, Sam and Tiree x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Sorry to have taken ages to write this! Time has flown since we stayed with you in August last year but we haven't forgotten the lovely few days we had with you. We thoroughly enjoyed the view from our room and the friendly welcome, wonderful breakfasts, cakes in the hall and Damson gin in the lounge were great! We hope to stay with you again in June so will be in touch soon. Thank you both again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marriedcouple81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to come back to leave us a review - much appreciated! Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We picked this B&B because the tripadvisor reviews were so good, and we weren't disappointed.
Hadn't been to this part of the Lakes before but it suited us perfectly - lots of low level walking from the door or a short drive away (we weren't looking to tackle any of the higher peaks this time) and close to several good pubs.
The B&B has lovely views over a beautiful valley. Very peaceful location. Our hosts were great, very friendly and helpful. Lots of good walking route tips.
Breakfasts were excellent.
Our room was spacious and very clean. Modern and stylish without being fussy.
We enjoyed sitting by the fire in the living room in the evening.
Good value.
We have recommended the B&B to family and friends and would certainly consider another break there in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in Westmorland which was very spacious while still feeling cosy. It doesn't have the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusyBee272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you so much for leaving us such a lovely and detailed review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Crosthwaite. It's a magical little village, we're very lucky to live here :)

We hope to see you again, best wishes,

Sam and Tiree x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

My second time staying at crosthwaite house and it is still simply a fantastic retreat. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in this area and enjoyed showing it off to my friend who hadn't been before.

The owners, Sam and Tiree were once again superb and welcoming hosts; it still ceases to amaze me just how effortless they make running it look.

To sum it up, gorgeous rooms, amazing breakfasts and treats, great, friendly hosts and now two very cute cats!

Thanks again for a brilliant stay. ❤️

Sian charlton

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxsiany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Thank you so much for leaving us another review - I didn't even know you could leave more than one! Really glad you enjoyed your stay with us again, and we look forward to maybe seeing you in the future

Best wishes

Tiree and Sam xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
7.2 mi away
Millers Beck
Millers Beck
#7 of 42 in Kendal
129 reviews
10.6 mi away
Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake
6.9 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
6.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,087 reviews
6.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosthwaite House

Address: Near Kendal, Kendal LA8 8BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range: £35 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful Lyth Valley on the southern edge of the Lake District National Park, we offer a 3 bedroom self catering apartment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crosthwaite House Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing