We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven”
Review of Crosthwaite House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crosthwaite House
Ranked #21 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
cheshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

In response to a recent negative review of Crosthwaite House.

Comments completely inappropriate. The reviewers did not even stay there.
Crosthwaite House is beautiful and I would recommend wholeheartedly
Come on TripAdvisor why are you allowing comments to be shared publicly when the reviewers have no experience of the place

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiemc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and for leaving us a review, we really appreciate your support. Tiree and Sam x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
39
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My partner and I stayed at Crosthwaite House over a year ago and we haven't stopped thinking about going back to stay at this wonderful bed and breakfast since. The house is set in the most beautiful countryside and was easy to find after a long journey. You feel welcome from the moment you step through the door, from the tray bakes in the hallway, the welcome from the family, to the lovely rooms and attention to detail. You feel at home and apart of something special here. Our room was comfortable with a gorgeous view and the breakfasts were incredible, I've never stayed anywhere where the food has been so good.
Thank you for our stay, we can not wait to book up and come and stay again later in the year.
Rachael and Steve

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clisby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you so much for leaving us a review following your stay last year, we really appreciate it and it's so nice to hear that you still have fond memories of your time here. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back to Crosthwaite House, we've got lots of new traybakes on the go! x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Amazing. We stayed for two nights and Sam and Tiree were lovely hosts. Breakfast was amazing and I shall attempt the tomato recipe! Sam met us at the door, despite arriving at 11.45pm and was extremely friendly, welcoming and encouraging of our stay. We shall recommend Crosthwaite house to anyone and everyone and hope to visit again in the future!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaStCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks so much for leaving us such a nice review :) Good luck with the tomatoes - we make up a bottle of the dressing with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt, pepper, brown sugar, garlic and fresh rosemary and basil, then drizzle it over the halved tomatoes before baking them for an hour or so :) x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed for two nights, as was attending a wedding nearby.

From the off this was a superb stay. Great location, about 15 mins drive from Bowness.


Everything about the stay was fantastic. The décor of the place is bright and air yet homely cosy vibe. There a lot of cool retro trinkets and ornaments dotted about. Gives the place a real charm and unique character. Plenty of sweets, biscuits and indeed Damson Gin were left around for guests to enjoy. There’s an ample selection of books magazines and dvds as well to borrow.

Breakfast was such good quality, great coffee, amazing home made granola and fruit cups and the full Cumbrian breakfast was first class.


The hosts are both very friendly and welcoming people which is absolutely crucial in a small hotel. Speaking from experience it can make or break a place! I get the impression that nothing is too much trouble for Sam. We had an extra guest who was stuck for somewhere to stay at short notice, so my room was converted from a king to a twin with no fuss whatsoever. Beds were comfy, radios and tvs in each room, teamaking facilities, massive white towels were great too.

I’ll definitely be recommending Crossthwaite House to friends and family and hope to return at some point myself. Really can’t stress enough how much I liked the place and enjoyed my stay.

Absolutely brilliant.

Room Tip: Had room 5. Lovely room but doesn't have a view of the valley. Didn't bother me too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks so much for leaving us such a glowing review :) We're really pleased you enjoyed your weekend at Crosthwaite House, hope to see you again! Tiree and Sam xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Painswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stopped here on our way to the Highlands following reviews and were very impressed. Our family of five had a lovely welcome to this big & airy house and all three rooms had great views over the fields to the front. Rooms are well appointed, comfortable, clean, with individual quirky vintage elements and great en suite facilities. We went to the nearby Punch Bowl for dinner (see sep review) which is just a few minutes walk way (torch provided by front door if needed), Breakfast was fantastic with excellent choice and something for everyone - all beautifully presented in a lovely dining room over looking the fields and hills in front. At just a few minute off the M6 this was perfect for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you had a great time in the Highlands! Best wishes and thanks again, Tiree and Sam x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Having stayed in many B&Bs I would like to say how delightful a place Crosthwaite Guest House is. It is friendly and relaxed, I had a cosy single room with a view and the most imaginative and beautifully presented and served breakfasts I can remember, rivalling any top 5* establishment's food. All in a lovely peaceful south Lakeland setting.

Don't tell too many people, I want to be able to go back.

Room Tip: Any that I had sight of. I had the only single room, south facing. All are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMWIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you so much for leaving us a review. We're all glowing with pride at you giving our breakfasts 5 stars :) made our day! Really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Sam and Tiree x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We thoroughly enjojoyed our stay at crosthwaite house in March, We had stayed there before a couple of times many years ago. Now the next generation have stepped up to run the place and they do it very well. There is a really nice nice feal to the place with many home crafted touches. Clean well presented rooms and a tasty breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrop32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thanks so much for leacing us a review, it was lovely to have so many generations of one family filling the house! Glad you had a great time, best wishes, Sam and Tiree x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,086 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
1.0 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
Lyth Valley Country Inn
#3 of 14 in Kendal
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kendal
1,003 reviews
2.4 mi away
Brown Horse Inn
Brown Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Winster
475 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tranthwaite Hall
Tranthwaite Hall
#33 of 42 in Kendal
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosthwaite House

Property: Crosthwaite House
Address: Near Kendal, Kendal LA8 8BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful Lyth Valley on the southern edge of the Lake District National Park, we offer a 3 bedroom self catering apartment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crosthwaite House Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing